We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't want to leave...”
Review of Riad Laayoun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Laayoun
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I didn't want to leave...”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I loved this place from the moment I walked in, tired and dirty, and Simo offered me some tea and pastries. Rewinding for a moment, my train station pickup went off without a hitch (unlike those of other friends staying elsewhere). Simo is delightful, super-friendly, and just willing to do anything to make your stay memorable. He's funny and warm and although he is the manager and not the owner, he cares deeply about this renovated riad in the heart of Fez. Location is ideal, right near the Place R'Cif, where the little taxis stop.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Scribetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    57
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
94
266
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caen, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We spent 4 nights with a friend in this unbelievable place, in the heart of Medina (the old fortified city). We pushed the door and were astonished by the "riad", a monumental house so finely decorated. The rooms are huge with all confort needed, bathroom, coffee table... and not to speak about the delighting terrace !

Moreover, let's talk about Simo, the housekeeper and Rachida the lady-cook, both are so kind and dispense advice to visit Fes in the best conditions.

Pleasure and change of scenery are guaranteed !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Wonderful riad in Fes medina. Located near the place r'cif with easy access to the food market there as well as an easy walk to the grand mosque, covered market, and the rest of the medina. The terrace is wonderful and the breakfast especially delicious, with freshly baked bread and delicious cheese, honey, etc. The riad has been beautifully restored and the decoration is classic. There is even a little library alcove with a selection of books in English and French. Be warned that sound carries in the riad though, so don't expect to make lots of noise. The management is very helpful and gave us a map with many good tips for exploring the medina. The contrast between the tranquil interior of the riad, the bright terrace roof, and the bustle of the medina was the perfect introduction to Fes!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank evvyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
français à Barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

After five years without visiting Fez, we has to spend three unscheduled days in Fez because of the cancellation of our flight. We called again the Riad Layoun and the return was just spectacular ! Simo at the reception is just a lovely guy, always nice, always reday to help. Rachida, still cooking the best couscous and tagine in the world and the place, the place… Great improvements, Wifi everywhere, luxuriant vegetation, all nicely decorated. Just a pleasure to be again and again. A couple from Switzerland came with us for just one night and they also were totally delighted discovering Riad Layoun.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolabarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in February in the Cinnamon room. The riad (I will continue to call it riad but technically it is actually a dar) was easy to find in the medina because its close to Place R'cif and the owners have really made efforts to put up lots of informative signs to find the place. The riad has only four guestrooms, but each is huge. The riad is really pretty, decorated well with the correct arabic ambience but also some really nice paintings, candles, lights, etc. The riad staff were exceptionally caring and helpful. And the hosts served us dinner which was actually the best food we have had in all of our two-week stay in Marocco. Breakfast was ok but a bit on the boring side (fresh juice, pancakes and choice of jam and cheese). I would like to point out that some might find a bit uncomfortable the room arrangement as the toilet in our room was actually in the same room (on the second floor) with no separating walls.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olga_lus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

AMAZING STAY. BEST PART OF FEZ WAS STAYING AT THIS RIAD. Beautiful building with beautiful rooms and a beautiful roof deck.
Jean-Claude and Simo were amazing, sweet and helpful.
I would love to come back and visit again.

Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

One of the best Riad in Morocco. The building is restored with great taste, very clean, beautiful and well located. The staff is great, very cordial and helpful. The cuisine is excellent. The owner Jean Claude is a real gentleman, easy to reach, always involved in the daily activities of the hotel and willing to help. He makes feel at home. We left the Riad feeling that we have a friend in Fes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpedro2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 99 in Fes
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laayoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laayoun

Property: Riad Laayoun
Address: 47 Derb Thakharbicht Rcham Laayoun | Fes-Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A marvelous old house located in the heart of the medina close to the world's oldest university and the souks, built nearly 4 centuries ago. We offer to you 3 suites and 2 rooms with all the modern confort. Riad Laayoun is a marvelous place for your stay in the most beautiful medina of Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Laayoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing