We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and price but dirty.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cascade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cascade
Ranked #74 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great location and price but dirty.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

At the end of my 2 week trip to morocco I finished with 4 nights in Fes. We checked into hotel cascade for the first night.

The hotel was cheap ~80MAD per person and the location was fantastic. Furthermore the staff were all very friendly and the showers were hot. We felt though that the hotel was lacking a good atmosphere and tried to find another option. As we couldn't find anywhere else for our budget that we liked, we returned to cascade for the remainder of our stay.

I would recommend to anyone that is travelling on a budget but not for those who enjoy the finer things in life (such as toilet seats).

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaijaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
5
21
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Three of us traveled Morocco and Fes was our last stop before heading home. My husband and I have stayed in this hotel several times over the years. Our first visit was about twelve years ago -- it has improved in leaps since then. You can't beat the location -- inside the medina with cafes all 'round. For our more "fancy" friend, on our last visit, this was almost a breaking point for him. I offered to take him and his baggage to a nearby nicer hotel if he needed it, but he declined and in the end, staying here has become one of his favorite memories of the trip. The door lock was faulty enough in appearance that anyone could have put a shoulder to the door and busted in. Fortunately, the only way in is past the ever-present person watching TV in the stairwell. The room was clean, as were the sheets. The noise from the street was ever-present but I loved it -- made me feel like we were in the heart of a living community. Over the years this has become more of a backpacker hotel, which is fine with us. Bathrooms on the hall, the toilets have SEATS, the shower was warm and cramped, but at least there was one. The sinks are communal and also in the hall. We did NOT get our room broken into, in spite of the misgivings of our friend. The terrace was a new addition since our last visit, too, but I confess we did not spend much time there as the cafes on the "street" have so much more flavor and things to see of Morocco, instead of other travellers. The rooftop is definitely worth spending the sunset time on -- wait for the call to prayer and watch the birds come out to swarm around. We will certainly check it out again, and stay for a fourth time.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with windows overlooking the medina street if you are able. Otherwise the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights in April with two friends. The room was basic but clean (for morocco budget traveler standards). Communal Toilets always were stinky but once again, quite usual for morocco. Showers were basic and you were lucky if you got hot water.
The plus side, the terrace is lovely to hang out on and the small kitchen whipped up some delicious meals. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipilaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Hotel Cascade was a good value for its price--a great location, amazingly hot showers consistently available, fairly clean rooms. It was a bit cold at night, but the hotel provided what extra blankets they could, given that they were almost completely booked. I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you're concerned about cold--opt for a room with an inner window (window does not face the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Good location and cheap prices are plusses, but otherwise, this hotel needs a lot of help. The manager(s) should be in the soccer-watching business, not the hospitality business. The hotel could be great if some pride was put into it. The rooms are dirty cells with band-aid colored walls and sheets with someone else's pubic hairs. I was treated well but the manager yelled at a Japanese guest just to vent his racism. It made me very uncomfortable and sad to witness such treatment. From the rooftop terrace you can get good views of Fez if you don't look down on the other trash-piled rooftops.

Room Tip: To get a decent room, try other nearby hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fes hotels

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

basic acommodation for travellers. great rooftop and surprising excellent food - thanks rochdi!

SITUATION: perfect! just in front of peacefull restaurants and coffees.

ROOMS: basic, toilets and shower on the floor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Cascade is a small, thin, 2 floors and tarrace hotel in good location - close to Bab Bulejud (Blue Gate). Take petit taxi to this gate and you will find it just after crossing the gate.

Rooms are small, mostly with windows on patio and equiped only in basics but for bagpackers it's enough.

On the terrace is a fine cafe where you may eat and drink some locals and .. if you want to you can sleep there for 1/4 price of the room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KubaaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Patio de Fes
Le Patio de Fes
#67 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Batha
Hotel Batha
#76 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#65 of 99 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#84 of 99 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jnane Sbile
Hotel Jnane Sbile
#72 of 99 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cascade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cascade

Property: Hotel Cascade
Address: 26 Rue Serrajine, Bab Boujloud Square, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cascade situated in the entrance of the old-Medina right next to Bab Boujloud gate. Staff are available 24 hours a day and can organize excursions for an extra charge. Additional facilities available include a currency exchange. Located in a traditional, safe neighbourhood :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cascade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing