We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar el Ma
Nearby Hotels
$209
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$187
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dar Hafsa(Fes)(Great Value!)
$44
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,306
$204
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Layalina Fez(Fes)
$85
$82
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$380
$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
145
18
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
18
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstypical moroccan housedelicious breakfastdarmedinamorocco
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 166 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights in April 2009 (Just taken me a while to write a review, although i promised myself i would one day, and here it is!) - this is one of the nicest places I have stayed anywhere in the world simply for its peace and tranquility, beautiful restoration and the price - although i wasn't much of a fan of Fez itself, i would consider returning just to stay here!

We definitely lucked out, although i'm sure the owners are lovely, and they definitely need a huge pat on the back for the beautiful restoration they've done, we managed to have this place almost to ourselves as they were away. With only two rooms, there was only one other guest staying - and he was out most of the time - so we cooked for ourselves as they have a wonderful kitchen (and the other guest when he was about) and instantly felt relaxed and at home.

The roof terrace too is an absolute delight - just completely chilled out and the perfect place to read a good book. They also have a stereo system downstairs just waiting for your iPod..

The only down side, which is only a note of caution not a reason not to visit, was the local 'helper' they had on hand - i forget his name - but he seemed slightly on the dodgy side, especially as the owners were away he had free reign; we'd heard a story on our arrival from the guests who were leaving that he'd promised them food as they'd arrived late and taken them to a friends restaurant - which was 10 times the price of anywhere else. just a note that if he says do this or that, maybe say no or ask questions first.

overall though, this place is just perfect, and if you get the place to yourself or happen to find great guests in the other room you won't be disappointed - definitely worth a visit.

I look forward to one day returning.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacksong83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

This charming home offers the experience of staying in Fes with maximum independence. There are two comfortable guest rooms that share shower, toilet, library, terrace, and wifi facilities (no a/c). It's intimate, tiled, hallways, certainly carry the sounds that are generated within! We were grateful to be met and escorted into the medina, but after we had our key we were left very much at our own disposal - thank goodness our dar-mates had brought a map!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chin1ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Amazing riad located in the heart of the Medina. I would highly recommend it to anyone, it is the best value for a hotel I have ever had. The whole riad only has two massive rooms, so you get a huge amount of privacy. The rooftop terrace is beautiful and features panoramic views of the city. The British couple that owns the riad is very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deconsta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

beautiful dar, combining antique moroccan decor with a simple and elegant modernist touch. three stories, including two bedrooms, a kitchen, a computer, lounge space, a rooftop with a grill and seating - everything you could possibly need to enjoy your stay in Fez. the service was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast prepared every morning was quite nice. highly recommended, especially for the great value!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlazere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Email contact ahead of time with Joe was great, he set up collection from the Airport and then from the taxi drop-off to the house. Boy that was necessary!

Dar El Ma is in amongst the medieval twisty-turny old town and the first time you walk there it feels like you're disappearing into ancient history. You kind of are, and that's why I loved the place.
Next door is the local baker who still cooks the neighbourhood bread like he has for centuries, and across the alley is the public bath from the old days when no-one had running water in their homes. They're both still in operation, and I took full advantage - bread direct from the oven for a snack, and then a steam room and massage in the baths.

The house itself has been really nicely put back together by the owners Joe and Claire (check out the sweet photo album of them in amongst the workmen whilst the place was being restored) and the two double rooms are great - airy, cool and huge. They both have wooden shutters overlooking the courtyard and the whole thing is authentic as hell.
If you've ever experienced the local toilet facilities you'll be please to hear they've added on European-quality plumbing and even a wet-room. So the building is pretty much the best of both worlds. Oh yeah, and there's a two-level roof terrace looking out over the Medina. I spent many several happy hours up there at sunset reading my novel and looking up every now and again to watch the changing colours of the city and distant mountains. Did I mention I loved this place?

The maid turns up in the morning with local breakfast (including bread direct from the baker of course) which is damned tasty. She keeps the place clean and tidy, and the local manager is available if you need him (Aaa-dil!) to sort stuff, get tajine delivered late at night, whatever. He's definitely a man-who-can. But there's no-one onsite permanently, and the people who were coming after me had booked the whole place out. Man, I was jealous. There's locks on the doors though, if like me you're travelling alone.

So, yes. I thought it was a perfect slice of Morrocan luxury, but not cold polished anonymous luxury. It all feels personal and friendly, like someone's own place that's been thrown open to paying guests. Me? I'm going back. I loved the place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niceguydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews