We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retired Couple”
Review of Dar el Ma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar el Ma
Ranked #62 of 217 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely,peaceful place to stay right in the heart of Old Town Fez, perfect for exploring the Medina.
Delightfully restored Riad with lovely rooftop views .Houda couldn't be more helpful, and we have no hesitation in adding our reccomendation.We would hope to visit again. Edwin and Gill.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edsinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 165 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

we loved our stay at Dar el Ma. the place is truly beautiful, very quiet, incredibly clean, all the comforts you could call for. great communication with Joe and Claire who were incredibly helpful. Houda's breakfasts were amazing! the terrace is also incredible. very conveniently located. really enjoyed every aspect of our stay in Dar el Ma. I would recommend this to everyone. we stayed in 4 different riads in Morocco and this was by far the best one!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by how nice this place was, it was very difficult to find though and we had to leave early so didn't get to enjoy it that much. The rooms were nice though and it had a great moroccon feel to it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Dar El Ma 3 years ago, Oct 2009, for two nights. The place was wonderful, located between the two most busy streets of the market, the house is big, comfortable and calm. The hostel has few rooms, what makes it more enjoyable. The people is nice and helpful.
The best two experiences were; sharing the BBQ with the another couple and listening to the "call to prayers" at nightfall from the roof of the house.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is lovely - a quiet oasis in the heart of Fez over 5 levels, all beautifully tiled and decorated. The terrace has wonderful views and Houda, the lady who visits each day and brings breakfast, is an angel. We shared with others for 2 nights and had the place to ourselves on the 3rd. The place is big enough to have pleasant encounters if there are other guests but it's also easy to retreat. There was a little issue with some water coming in one night when there was torrential rain. While this was unfortunate, it was well handled by staff and I have no hesitation in recommending Dar El Mar as it was recommended to me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAmKyrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

It's funny to look back on trips to exciting destinations like Morocco and try to remember the hotels or guesthouses that you stayed in. Some seem to shape your entire memory of a trip while there are others that you simply cannot recall. Dar El Ma is unforgettable. Quietly hidden from the bustle of the winding alleyways of the Medina, staying at Dar El Ma felt like finding a place off the beaten tourist path, beyond the guidebook distractions that often consume a traveler and closer to the heart of Fes. The traditional Moroccan architecture and decorations, the clean and comfortable rooms, and breakfast with a view each morning from the rooftop porch all added to the experience. We especially enjoyed making friends with Houda and learning about the history and contemporary culture of Fes as well as tips on where to explore in the Medina. Thanks again for making our trip to Fes and Morocco an unforgettable experience.

Patrick and Katrina

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickGault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is an UNBELIEVABLE place. Comfortable, clean, safe, incredibly beautiful, with delicious food to boot! Staying at Dar El Ma was one of the best decisions we made in our Moroccan travels. Thank you for having us!--Julia & Ben, Atlanta GA

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#6 of 100 in Fes
547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
1.9 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#58 of 100 in Fes
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#5 of 100 in Fes
958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
3.4 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#55 of 100 in Fes
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Ma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Ma

Address: 27 Zqaq El Mae, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored dar in the heart of the bustling medina of Fes. Find peace from your haggling in this spacious accommodation, stretch out under the sun on the roof terrace or catch up with work in the office with free wifi internet. Breakfast included, and many other services available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing