We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar el Ma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar el Ma
Ranked #47 of 206 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Astoria, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a wonderful stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Dar Elma was one of the most beautiful places that we stayed during our trip. Houda and Aziz were extremely kind and caring. They couldn't have been nicer to my mother and me. The riad is located in the heart of Medina and not far from the Blue Gate. The room was beautifully decorated and huge for two people. The bathrooms were clean and big. There are only two rooms in the house, so sharing was no problem at all. The kitchen is well equipped with refrigerator, stove, and pots and pans. The breakfast on the roof is fantastic with the spectacular view of the Fez medina. Everything was just perfect and we had the best stay at this jewel in Fez.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahyoung K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
85
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Dar El Mar is truly a most precious jewel perfectly located in the ancient Fes medina. This riad has recently been marvelously restored to (or exceeding) its original grandeur! From the moment we entered the ancient cedar door we knew we were in a magical place! The Dar El Ma center court was filled with late afternoon sunlight and intricate patterns dancing across the sparkling white walls. Although our expectations were high, they fell far short of this warm, beautiful, spacious home remodeled with love and tended with care.

Immaculately clean! The first floor bath was a great convenience, the various nooks and crannies were fun to explore, and we all slept soundly in the comfortable beds. The washer and dryer were an unexpected but a welcome surprise. The roof top terrace gives wonderful views over the medina and surrounding countryside, Breakfast was delicious but the pièce de résistance was the meal Huoda prepared our last evening. Relaxing in the grandeur of this special home enjoying perfectly prepared Moroccan food beautifully served is a memory we all treasure.

Dar El Mar is in the best location ever – close enough to the main square for convenience but far enough to escape the noise. A very short walk in either direction places you squarely on the main medina streets. We felt very safe walking the medina streets even late in the evening and I cannot imagine being in Fes and not staying in the Medina. (Fes is nothing like Tangier – you have no need for a guide in Fes.) Because we rented both rooms, we had the riad to ourselves—this is an absolute must for anyone requiring two rooms; actually, I would say it is a must for anyone going to Fes!

Our stay at Dar El Mar was the absolute highlight of our fabulous 10 day vacation in Morocco and Spain! My 14 year old daughter is already planning our return and, while we wait, we are enjoying the Moroccan salad that Houda taught my 16 year old to make.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHVienna_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We are so glad that we found Dar el Ma. The owner and local host made sure our arrival was hassle-free. First getting into the Medina is completely disorienting. Follow their advice of taking a petit taxi to parking lot Ain Azletten, and then let the shop keeper/manager there take you to the Riad.  There are only two guest rooms at the Riad. But the place feels like home. It was clean, and the hot water for shower was fast and furious. After a light breakfast our host/ guide showed us the way to everything. Mohammed is a thirty-something medina local who knows the alleys like the back of his hand. Houda, our young housekeeper/cook is so attentive and met our needs at every turn. We so appreciate the Riad from the moment we booked it to the second we departed. It was the best part of our visit to the ancient medina.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chirpingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Very nice, private riad in the middle of the Fes medina where you could come and go as you pleased.
We really enjoyed our stay in Dar El Ma.
Saeed met us at the entrance to the Medina and guided us to Dar El Ma. My husband was quite ill and i was worried about going out into the medina at night to buy water for us. Saeed was more than helpful and went out and got the water for us which we really appreciated.
The room was spacious and comfortable. The shared bathroom facilities were great and as there are only 2 rooms in the Riad, there was no problems sharing the bathroom.
The rooftop area and the downstairs courtyard were great places to relax in.
Our yummy breakfasts were cooked by Houda everymorning. Houda was very helpful, her English was excellent and she was nice to chat to.
There is a photo album in the Riad showing the restoration of it which was fascinating.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradandbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

A trail of taxi's and luggage-carriers led us to the hart of the medina. For us it had been the finish of a 12 day stay in Morocco; but we were still impressed with the medieval alleys in Fes and our accomodation!
Our arrival had been well prepared by the riad-people and we were taken for a cup of tea before showing us the lovely restored bedroom. The whole riad was restored in a very tastefull and nice way. Alle the orginal details have been brought back by the British owners.
Since the owners live oversea, you are in the hands of local people who try to make you feel at home. And they do! In the morning Houda makes a lovely breakfast. Muhammed showed us round a few things in the medina. Since there are only two rooms you share the bathroom and toilet with a maximum of two other people. We didn't find this a problem at all.
One of the most beautifull assets of the riad is the roof-balcony, it has been perfectly been restored and there have been created some shade-seats with a beautifull view of the medina. Relaxing here is a must after walking through the narrow crowded streets of Fes.
Was there anything wrong with our stay here? Almost nothing, only the friendly-ment pushy-ness of host Muhammed made us feel somewhat uncomfortable at times.
We would recommend the place to anybody, perfectly to book both rooms (when you travel with a group of 4 and up) must be splendid.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diluci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

You never will find this hotel on your own! It is a very nice small hotel and you will feel at home. Book it and find out yourself!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariannetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

Beautiful and very clean riad in the heart of the Fes medina. It is walking distance to everything you would want to see. The girl who runs the place (Houda) is absolutely lovely and speaks English very well. She made a lovely breakfast and let me do laundry which we desperately needed.
The value is quite good for Fes, which has some pricey riads. The room was luxurious and very comfortable with a heater (very important when it comes to winter in Morocco as the houses are stone and very cold). Towels were provided, which was not our experience at other locations in Morocco.
The shower had plentiful hot water and was its own large room. There are two rooms in the riad and they share a common shower and WC. We did not have any trouble with overlapping use of the washroom or shower. There is great free wifi and a computer for guest use.

My two complaints are as follows:
1) when we arrived we were instructed to call a man named Adil who is the property manager. His people met us at the entrance to the medina and 3 of them took my knapsack and one of them pushed it in a wheelbarrow to the riad (5 min away). My knapsack was around 10 kilos and I insisted I could carry it easily but they wouldn't stop. When we arrived they told me I had to pay them 50 dirham each! That is the equivalent of $20! I could have carried it myself easily and I was very put off by their demands. I gave them 20 dirham to split as they saw fit, the equivalent of what I would have given a bellhop at a fancy hotel.
2) On our second night we kept hearing a loud grinding noise every hour or so all night long. It sounded like someone was drilling throughout the night. We mentioned it to Houda who told us there are laws about when people may do construction and these people were probably doing something illegal. It kept us up intermittently all night.

Overall a great riad that I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squishymichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarManager, Owner at Dar el Ma, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Glad you like your stay at Dar El Ma.

Sorry for the carossa mix up, Adil should have been there to make sure you were not pressured into taking one if you didn't need one.

BTW 50 dirhams is actually only $6 not $20, it should have been around half this (20-25 dirhams)

We are sorry for this unfortunate start and will make sure it doesn't happen again.

Regards

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.0 mi away
Riyad Al Atik
Riyad Al Atik
#33 of 206 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Drissi
Dar Drissi
#48 of 206 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Sienna
Dar Sienna
#17 of 206 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison Maure ( Riad in Fes )
0.2 mi away
Riad Jean Claude
Riad Jean Claude
#41 of 206 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Ma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Ma

Property: Dar el Ma
Address: 27 Zqaq El Mae, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored dar in the heart of the bustling medina of Fes. Find peace from your haggling in this spacious accommodation, stretch out under the sun on the roof terrace or catch up with work in the office with free wifi internet. Breakfast included, and many other services available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dar el Ma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing