We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent respite in the heart of Fez :)”
Review of Riad Fez Yamanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Fez Yamanda
Ranked #44 of 221 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This place was a peaceful, beautiful oasis in the heart of the medina in Fez. The room was spacious and clean, with all the modern amenities and wifi. The reception and communal areas are beautifully decorated and fabulous. The service was great, and hotel staff very attentive. We really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 117 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

This road is beautiful and is located perfectly on the edge of the medina. You can quickly be in the center of the medina rush and then come back to the peace and tranquility of the Yamanda.

I cannot say enough great things about the staff. I arrived at 1am and Mohamed took care of everything for me. Abdul, Hicham and the kitchen staff were great and I felt very at home with them and consider them friends.

I stayed at Yamanda for 11 days for the Fez festival of sacred music and the location of Yamanda was perfect!

I will be back next year.

Room Tip: Stay on the top terrace... you'll get good exercise walking up. Totally worth the view. AC is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dampoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This an elegant riad at a reasonable price. You can even book it on Hotels.com! The location is ideal (as a solo woman traveler I wanted my riad to be convenient to major streets) just off of Talaa Seghira. Easy walking to all the sights of the medina--plus at 360 degree view of the entire city from the rooftop terrace!

The staff is warm and helpful. Abdul, the manager, speaks at least four languages so the arrival is easy. Since I was staying five nights, Abdul upgraded me to a suite so I felt like the princess of Yamanda. Breakfast was a generous Moroccan meal of fresh squeesed orange juice, three kinds of breads, multiple jams, honey, goat cheese, even olives, plus coffee and tea.

Some of the guidebooks say that the best meals are to be eaten in the riads, but I found the dinner one night to be OK but nothing great. More interesting to eat out in the souks, but much more relaxiing to eat at Yamanda.

Good, strong signal, free wi-fi. Good A/C available but I didn't need it.

I strongly recommend arranging for a pickup at the airport or train station in order to find the riad easily. Once you are there, Abdul will provide a map and an overview of all the sights to see. Then it is easy to walk out the front door and explore.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: This may be true in any riad, since the rooms face inside to the courtyard. Sounds reverberate--if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feistygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Riad Fez Yamanda was the perfect place to stay. Aside from the beautiful rooms, it was relatively easy to find, and the location was great. The staff was absolutely wonderful and even gave us a bigger room for no extra cost. Breakfast was delicious! There was plenty of hot shower water, and the beds were very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this riad to anyone visiting Fes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whensmynexttrip_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My friend and i stayed here two nights and loved it! It was relatively easy to find since there were signs directing us where to go. The riad is beautiful and the room was large and very comfortable. The staff was so great - very kind, welcoming and helpful. Definitely stay here if you are visiting Fes!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My brother and I were visiting Morocco and added Fez after our tour. He had booked us in at the Riad Fez Yamanda and it was lovely. We were greeted with the ritual of mint tea and then shown to the upgraded room. We had the whole Riad to ourselves both nights. The first night we had a glass of wine (BYOB, but they had a corkscrew and glasses) on their rooftop terrace and watched the sun set over the Medina. The Riad is located just a couple of twists in from one of the gates into the Medina, so easy to get to. We also had their dinner and it was lovely. The courtyard was the perfect dining spot. We also enjoyed their breakfasts. All in all, the perfect spot to visit the Medina.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebS60616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Riad is amazing! The interior has been painstakingly restored and maintained with all the charm of the original home. The rooms were large and airy with beautiful views to the interior courtyard of the riad. We enjoyed the sunsets on the terrace with an unobstructed view of the entire valley. We had a delicious, traditional tagine meal prepared by the kitchen and enjoyed the daily breakfasts of fresh fruit, breads and cheese. They entire staff was exceptional and any inquiry or request was handled immediately and with genuine care. We had reserved a smaller room and were surprised with a nice upgraded suite as it was available for our nights. I wouuld highly recommend this place to anyone who asked based on the price, location and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSoehlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 100 in Fes
981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
564 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#56 of 100 in Fes
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 100 in Fes
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Verus
Riad Verus
#32 of 221 in Fes
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Fez Yamanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Fez Yamanda

Address: 1 3 Derb Ben Doud Zerbtana, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: $62 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Fez Yamanda 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for modern standards of comfort in a sumptuous traditional residency, Riad Fez Yamanda is the place for you.Built in the late 19th century, the Riad has been rehabilitated into guest house in 2007 after being restored by talented artists and craftsmen. Today eight rooms on behalf of thinkers and celebrities that have contributed with their knowledge to Fez, have been carefully designed to ensure you a memorable stay.Located in the heart of the first historic and cultural capital of Morocco, today World Heritage by UNESCO, Riad Fez Yamanda is easily accessible from Place Batha and Bab Boujloud (Blue Gate), popular for its proximity to shops, restaurants and transport, while being within walking to the main historical and cultural attractions.Riad Fez Yamanda preserves its architecture that inherits from a history over 1200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Prestigia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Fez Yamanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing