We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Dar in a wonderful location for a truely unique Fes experience”
Review of Dar Attajalli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Attajalli
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Dar Attajalli is one of the most beautiful and unique places I have ever stayed. It is located in the heart of the medina, just off one of the main shopping roads, Terrafine, so an ideal location for sightseeing. Fes medina is a pedestrian only district, so the taxi driver drops you off a 5 minute walk from the Dar. You can request for a member of staff to meet you at the car park and escort you to the Dar, however, armed with a map, we decided to do it alone. The medina is a confusing labyrinth, with road signs sometimes only in Arabic, and unfortunately, a few of the locals target lost tourists to make a quick £. However, when we realised we'd walked too far, we simply called the owner of Dar Attajalli, Kleo, who knew immediately where we were and guided us by phone to her Dar.

Kleo is the most welcoming host and helped us with every question / recommendation we required. The medina to a first timer is a bit of a culture shock, and can be quite intimidating at first, but Kleo gives you a great introduction with tips on places to eat / visit. Soon enough, you become familiar with the area, and suddenly get less hassle!
Kleo was even gracious enough to invite us to a local jazz night, along with some of her friends, which turned out to be a fantastic evening.

The Dar itself, has been restored immaculately. Kleo told us the long restoration process she went through, and you can tell her heart and soul went into it. We stayed in the Purple Suite, which is a stunning room, with plenty of space and a beautiful shower room.

Again, to reiterate the previous comments, breakfast is amazing. I've never quite had something so beautifully presented. It also means you get to try the local delights.

I would highly recommend Dar Attajalli to anyone wanted an authentic, local Fes Medina experience. You simply wouldn't get this experience if you stayed in a larger hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avid_traveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 275 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2010

Hotel: Dar Attajali is a quiet and intimate renovated traditional Moroccan house, with its four elegantly decorated rooms situated around a central courtyard. An organic and tasty breakfast is served on the terrace. Delicious.

Service: The staff is friendly, accommodating and gracious in introducing guests to the hotel, and the Medina's attractions, events and restaurants. Spectacular hospitality and ambiance.

Location: Located in the heart of Fes' old Medina, Dar Attajali is a stone's throw from souqs and bustling markets of the old city, with access to internet cafes, restaurants and sites within 5 minutes of walking.

Overall: Highly satisfied. Good value for the room rates.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blakewpeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

I know Fes quite well and I can greatly reccomend Dar Attajalli to everyone! What a wonderful place! In the heart of the famous lively medina of Fes, this small Hotel is like a peaceful oasis and a welcoming place to rest after a busy sight seeing tour. My friend and I stayed in the tasteful purple room and greatly enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast on the terrace overlooking the medina. The house has been restored in the classical traditional Moroccan stile, and with the great taste and sense for details of the owner. It is a small hotel with a first class service and cleanliness not often seen in Morocco. We enjoyed the stay so much, we wished we would not have to leave. Thank you Dar Attajalli!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosaFrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Dar Attajalli is really a wonderfull place to stay while visiting Fes. It is ideally situated in the middel of the medina - no panic it's very easy to find your way to it. Anyway the staff is waiting for you and will join you at your arrival point and guide you to the Dar( great they even take care of your luggage so you can immediately start to look at all the beautifull things catching your eye. Welcom tea on the nice terrasse( lots of nice plants and beautifull roses) overlooking the medina, graet place to relax and enjoy the sun.
The Dar is gorgeously decorated in typical maroccan style with a lot of tast by the owner, the rooms are very spaceous,each room is different, feals like home. The owner, a very nice person indeed, will give you all the information you need(restaurants, where is what, ...etc whatever you need she is ready to help....and the breakfast is just yammi ;-))

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quaky152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We loved our stay at Dar Attajalli in July. The host and staff were really helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were amazing as many others have commented. The only thing was the lack of aircon or a fan in the bedroom, as it was about 40 degrees in July. A fan would have been perfect as it was too hot, but this aside it was a fantastic stay and I would highly recommend as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We stayed in Fes for two nights at this riad. We ate two breakfasts and dinners here as they were included in our tour. We didn't know it beforehand but all meals were vegetarian. I don't happen to be vegetarian but they were all really interesting and flavorful. I believe you have to book the meals with the riad in advance.

We were on the ground level opposite the sitting area. The room was beautiful and large. It was a twin room. The only minor problem was the weird bathroom set-up. There was no bathroom door. Only a curtain. And the shower pretty much soaked the entire room. Not a big deal but good to know. We tried the local soap and shampoo. The soap was a winner but the shampoo didn't work so well. Everything was spotless and I am really big on cleanliness. This places was tops for that.

Also being on the ground floor we could hear people come in. There were some noisy folks who arrived one night. Best to have earplugs. The beds were pretty hard but we found this was common in Morocco. There was a space heater but we didn't end up using it.

The roof terrace was terrific. We enjoyed our meals and chatting with employee Said. Most staff spoke French but Said spoke English very well. The owner was on site. She spoke English well. There was a laptop computer in the common area but the connection was very very very slow.

I would recommend this riad to others. It had great style and was renovated to be in the traditional style which was impressive. It was right off the big road in the medina. The meals were wonderful. The service was very good.

I think this is really what we envisioned staying in a riad to be. It was definitely a more personal level of service than a hotel and we really loved the traditional style layout.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallulahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed in Mosaic Room for 3 evenings and love the hotel and services. Amazed by the restoration and cleaniness of the hotel. It is a good hideaway paradise from the buzzling medina. It situates in the medina and easy to find. They serve fresh, organic breakfast with local delicatecy and pastries (one of our favourites in the trip!). The terrace is beautiful and overlooking the medina, nice to have a coffee/mint tea break and also for the evening. The room is absolutely great with the high ceiling and not 'over-the-top' decoration. Slept perfect after a long day of walk. Reasonable price with great hospitality. We really enjoyed our stay and it is a good choice!! Thanks to Kleo!!

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank CarolynLeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#32 of 100 in Fes
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#22 of 100 in Fes
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#43 of 100 in Fes
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Laayoun
Riad Laayoun
#13 of 100 in Fes
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#17 of 100 in Fes
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Attajalli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Attajalli

Address: 2, Derb Qettana | Zqaq Roummane, Fes 30200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $76 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Attajalli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Attajalli is a small palace and architectural jewel offering 5 tastefully furnished and exquisitely decorated suites and rooms with beautiful en suite bathrooms. Let yourself enchant in this oasis of tranquility by the gentle ripple of the courtyard fountain, the scent of cedar wood and the unique view over the magical medina from the ample roof terrace. Situated only 5 minutes from guarded parking, some steps away are the historical sights and lively bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Dar Attajalli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing