We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Moroccain Dream”
Review of Dar Attajalli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Attajalli
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“A real Moroccain Dream”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A small dar with lots of attention to details, beautiful rooms, fresh food for breakfast and also if you ask for lunch or dinner. A really quiet place, although it is located in the middle of the Medina of Fes. Friendly stuff taking care of all your needs and wishes. This was already my second visit and I would go there again, for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    23
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
38
121
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hotel is located in the heart of medina, hostess is a lovely lady, she takes care of everything, assists to organize tours with professional guids, food is delicious, breakfast and dinner is served on the terrace of the hotel from which there is a breathtaking view.
Hotel is the hidden gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariamdimatteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Dar Attajalli in May 2012. We took a taxi to the medina, and were met at a parking lot by a gentleman with a cart for our bags. He took us on a winding ~15 minute walk to the riad, which is surprisingly not too dificult to find again once you figure out the two main streets of Fez. Our room was on the second floor, and was spacious, with traditional moroccan plaster walls and wrought iron windows into both the interior of the riad and onto the alley. In the evenings, we sat on the rooftop terrace and drank wine that we bought - and watched the sun set over the Merenid tombs, which are much closer than they look. The only complaint is that the ceiling of our room was quite short, which was fine for me, but my partner is 6'3" and ended up with multiple concussions in the middle of the night, from both the beams in the room, and the doorways. I don't know if all of the rooms' ceilings are this low, but we should have requested to move to a room with a higher ceiling. Breakfast was delicious, made while we were sitting there, and consisted of delicious traditional moroccan pastries and fresh fruit, as well as an almond/walnut flour (?) and brown sugar spread, which I would kill to have the recipe for. Thanks Kleo for a great time in Fes, and for welcoming us to your beautiful riad.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a tall person, please tell Kleo in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in late June, early July. Our room in the Dar Attajalli was cool and comfortable, and it was a great pleasure to sit out on the beautiful roof terrace in the morning for breakfast and in the evening. We endorse everything previous reviewers have said about the beauty of the Dar Attajalli and its wonderful restoration. Kleo's staff were extremely helpful, organising a couple of trips for us at a good price, and also looking after us when we succumbed to diarrhoea and fever during our stay. Apparently this affects one in two Western tourists who visit Morocco. The only improvement we would make is to be able to pay for the total hotel bill with our credit card, instead of having to make a special trip to the nearest cash machine to draw out Dirhams to pay for the meals element.

Room Tip: The Suite Violette is on the second floor and is very convenient for breakfast and dinner on the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engalgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Avec la touche francaise....
My girlfriend and I stayed 4 days here. We could not have asked for more for less. Everything - location, hospitality, graciousness, delicate esthetic and mauve touches, respect for craft and renovation, original carved plaster and carved/painted wood, delicious authentic petit dejeuner and diner, view from roof terrace, and a matronne, Cleo, and her helpful, courteous staff - meant for a perfect medina visit. A rooftop cold dunk tank would have been the only addition to make it more pleasurable. When booking, a tip is to go directly to http://www.attajalli.com/. You'll get a cheaper price!!!
Bonne route!!!
Robert & Nadya, Philadelphia

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I think they all overlook the carved atrium. As mentioned above, when you go d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Offbeatart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A beautiful, meticulously-restored house in an easily-accessible, good location near the main artery of the medina. Rooms are spacious and attractively decorated, though a bit dark due to the design of these medina houses. Kleo and her staff are gracious and welcoming, and provide lots of information about the medina, the people and the food. Wonderful breakfasts and fantastic dinners with Moroccan vegetarian dishes - fresh and beautifully prepared ingredients. Dive in and absorb the wonderful ever-changing panorama of Fez!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amparis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I cannot express how amazing this dar is! Not only are the rooms beautiful and immaculate, but the service and hospitality were unmatched by anywhere I have ever stayed. Kleo and her staff were fantastic and I immediately felt at ease, despite the chaos of the Fez medina. My only regret is that we could not stay longer. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#39 of 99 in Fes
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa Fes
Riad Tizwa Fes
#33 of 99 in Fes
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.4 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#14 of 99 in Fes
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Attajalli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Attajalli

Property: Dar Attajalli
Address: 2, Derb Qettana | Zqaq Roummane, Fes 30200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Attajalli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Attajalli is a small palace and architectural jewel offering 5 tastefully furnished and exquisitely decorated suites and rooms with beautiful en suite bathrooms. Let yourself enchant in this oasis of tranquility by the gentle ripple of the courtyard fountain, the scent of cedar wood and the unique view over the magical medina from the ample roof terrace. Situated only 5 minutes from guarded parking, some steps away are the historical sights and lively bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dar Attajalli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing