We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with a poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Casablanca City Center
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with a poor location”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We arrived in the hotel around 2:30 am in the morning. Despite the bar being closed already, we were offered to have drinks delivered into our room by the room service. Very friendly stuff. The rooms were newly renovated and in very good shape. The bed was very good for sleeping. Alos, this hotel is a nice place for meetings. The only thing keeping it from being excellent is the extrelemy slow WLAN that is offered for free. In the lobby, there is a very nice bar where also breakfast is served in the morning. The location is very close to the old city centre. That is it. Not much to see. I think it is a better plcae for business travellers than for tourists.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHFlyer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    510
    363
    116
    67
See reviews for
141
266
137
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

My husband stayed here on a previous business trip and because the other hotels being more expensive we booked again at Novotel Casablanca.
The 1st room we got (n° 812) had a humidity problem: the outer wall of the bathroom was blotched and mouldy and the carpet was wet !
Within 3 minutes after my call to reception we were given another room: they must have been expecting this and I think the bell boy was already waiting with a new key in the hall...
Our 2nd room (n° 814) smelled much nicer and was as it should be.
The lobby is very much "design", the rooms are standard with wall to wall carpet.
1 Queen size bed (very comfortable mattress), 2 bedside tables, separate toilet (tiled floor) and separate bathroom (I like this but when you want to wash your hands after using the toilet you have to go to the bathroom), TV, telephone, sofa (sofabed I think), desk with chair and internet cable.
Bathroom with tiled floor has a spacious shower, good towels, hairdryer and separate lamp in the mirror.
Our room was with city/ port and Hassan II mosque view.

Breakfast was very nice, as you would expect as European traveller: fresh juices, yoghurt, cereal, choice of cheeses and ham, even smoked salmon, choice of breads and rolls and some warm food which I didn't look at or try out.

There is a guarded open-air parking near the hotel. Rate included in room price.
Overall the staff are doing their work but do not expect them to jump for you.

The business center has 2 computers, internet costs 50 Dhs per 30 mins, computers were both out of order when we needed them; we were directed to the adjoining Ibis Hotel that offers free internet (cheaper hotel and they offer free internet?). Anyway 1 computer was out of order as well... in the city are many cybernet café's.
In the lobby free wifi - I didn't try it myself but saw many people with their laptop.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertroseBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Its a very modern and clean hotel in the middle of the busy city. Even though the room was very small, I loved the design. Very clean, tidy and comfortable. Nice shower but the bathroom was split into 2. Shower separate and toilet separate...that was a bit strange. Friendly staff but not all of them can understand english. View fom the room was on a construction site. And I had some problems with the A/C. But over all I really liked the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melamory_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2010

The hotel in general, and the room in particular, were both very clean. The room was no-frills, but functional and comfortable. The hotel is centrally located within short walking distance to the Medina, the port (with its great seafood restaurants) and the city center with its sprawling boulevards.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elenais15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolligen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

PROS:
- clean, ideally located within walking distance of Cafe Maura and Hassan II Mosque
- great staff
- wakeup calls
- good bathroom but odd in that the toilet is to the left just as you walk in and further up is the shower and sink. STRANGE!!

CONS:
- not safe at night
- the cabs outside will rip you off to get to the train station so be sure to PUT THE METER ON!!!
- the area is not the best to just walk around - you're better off at the Barcelo to walk around

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubba786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it was clean and the room and its fittings were adequate. The service in every instance was so poor it was rude. When we entered, two women struggling with luggage, the doorman just watched us approach. He did not move to help my friend navigate the doorway. Room service delivered the wrong items, the wi fi in the lobby wasn't working properly and the desk clerks were uninterested, the advertised early breakfast in the lobby and the room mini bar did not exist (no apologies or explanations offered) and we were charged double for our breakfast snack until we protested. In addition when we asked the doorman for a taxi he passed us on to a tout who wanted us to pay 20 euros for what we knew - and what proved to be - a 30 Dh ride; that is 8x the value! Altogether, a place I urge you to avoid.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Casablanca hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Novotel City Center is a clean, modern, comfortable hotel.
Location is OK, with a couple of nice restaurants nearby. (La Sqala, for instance)
Room: large, clean, quiet. Bed:comfortable. Free broadband internet was included in my rate.
Service: much better than elsewhere in Morocco.
Nice large bar in the lobby. Breakfast was great.
It's just a Novotel, but a very nice one. Very good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanoaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Casablanca Tour Blanche
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
#8 of 75 in Casablanca
1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Casablanca
Hyatt Regency Casablanca
#3 of 75 in Casablanca
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Casablanca Hotel & Towers
0.0 mi away
Ibis Casablanca City Center
Ibis Casablanca City Center
#19 of 75 in Casablanca
952 reviews
3.7 mi away
Club Val d'Anfa Hotel
Club Val d'Anfa Hotel
#6 of 75 in Casablanca
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Casablanca City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Casablanca City Center

Property: Novotel Casablanca City Center
Address: Angle Zaid Ouhmad | Rue Sidi Belyout, Casablanca 20190, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Casablanca City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Casablanca City Center is a 4 star hotel offering 281 rooms (including eight suites) located right in the centre of Casablanca, a short distance from the old Medina and the prestigious Hassan II mosque. The hotel offers five meeting rooms, ideal for conferences or seminars for up to 250 people. Whether on a business trip or holiday in Casablanca, you will be charmed by our Lounge restaurant and bar and our comfortable rooms featuring satellite TV and WiFi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Casablanca City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Casablanca City Hotel Casablanca
Accor Casablanca City Center
Casablanca Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing