We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Maamoura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maamoura Hotel
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Casablanca
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Nice hotel with comfortable rooms especially the suites. Very helpful staff. Little bit far away from the railway station but you can get a petite taxi for 10-15 dirhams. The breakfast is okay .... can be better.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCSM_0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 327 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at Maamoura Hotel for two nights last December and January. The hotel is very basic: rooms are small and the furniture has seen better days. Staff is helpful but not extraordinary. In particular, I think that the reviews that post this hotel as the number one hotel in Casablanca are misleading. This is a 2-3 star hotel located in a not very nice street. At night the street is dark and deserted even though there does not seem to be safety problems in the area.
We went to this hotel because our travel agent suggested it. We arrived to Casablanca from Paris at 6 pm and the hotel sent a driver to pick us up. It was really an old taxi driven by a very nice guy. We have travelled in the past in the Middle East so we feel comfortable walking in the streets even at late hours. Nevertheless, the Maamoura hotel is in a street a little bit far from where the action is and going back late at night was somewhat unpleasant.
If you can afford something better, I would recommend you take it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobetrotterMX_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

You can't beat the price. The hotel arranged a cab to pick us up at the airport and made many good suggestions on where to eat during our stay. Definitely going to stay here again next time I travel to Morocco.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albouryseck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Diamond in the rough. Staff (especially Mr Mubarak) extremely helpful and considerate. AC, lift, breakfast buffet, terraces with many rooms. Will arrange airport transfer and tour of Casablanca. Neighborhood kind of run down but always felt safe.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randyllwarehime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed in the Maamoura for one night at the very end of our Morocco trip and we were exhausted from the hassle that comes with being a tourist in Morocco by that point - we'd had to fight through a crowd of rude touting tourist taxi drivers at the train station to make it to the metered petit taxis, only to then get moved from one to the next until someone finally agreed to turn on the meter instead of quoting some sky-high fare. Anyways. The staff at the Maamoura was lovely and took our crankiness in stride, they were super helpful and quoted us fair prices we should bargain for everywhere we went in Casablanca. Not a swank hotel but perfectly comfortable, great value, well priced, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WEATraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

This hotel was recommended in the Lonely Planet and we booked it for a night upon a late arrival from Cairo. We were traveling by train the next day to Fez and so really just needed the room for sleep and shower.

The rooms are clean and neat with an excellent shower. Breakfast is included and is basic , but good(boiled eggs, fresh breads, crepe and croissant, jams, bitter, fresh orange juice, coffee etc).

Our only complaint is that after checking in at 2am our air conditioner was turned off and could not be turned on without a remote control, which we could not find in the room. In the morning we learned that you had to ask for it from the front desk.

Other than that this hotel was exactly what we needed for our short time in Casablanca. At $60 (CDN) it was just fine. We found the staff very helpful and friendly.

It is about a 10 minute cab ride to the train station (which cost about 20 Dirham or about $2(CDN)).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

I only had one night in Casablanca. Since I was arriving late at night and leaving the next morning, the easiest thing to do would have been to stay at the airport hotel. That hotel, however, got such terrible reviews on TripAdvisor, that I decided to stay at the Maamoura. When my flight arrived late, and I was traveling at midnight to the hotel, I questioned the wisdom of my decision. I was extremely pleasantly surprised by the hotel. I had an enormous room - actually a suite - with a bedroom that easily accommodated the king sized bed, and a sitting/living room of similar size. The room was extremely clean, and everything worked perfectly. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. This is definitely the place I will stay in in Casablanca when I return. I was sorry to have to leave the next morning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCFabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
2 mi away
Manzil Hotel
Manzil Hotel
#39 of 77 in Casablanca
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amouday
Hotel Amouday
#49 of 77 in Casablanca
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#45 of 77 in Casablanca
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Casablanca City Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#38 of 77 in Casablanca
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel les Saisons
Hotel les Saisons
#21 of 77 in Casablanca
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maamoura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maamoura Hotel

Address: 59 Rue ibn Batouta , Quartier deb Omar | near Central Market, Casablanca 20000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range: $45 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maamoura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is 3* it is new it is in city center. All the rooms are air conditioned. The decoration is typically Moroccan. TV satellite. Hot water all day. 2 elevators .Moroccan breakfast, nicely decorated hall. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maamoura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maamoura Hotel Casablanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing