We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, with just the basics.”
Review of Maamoura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maamoura Hotel
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Casablanca
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Maamoura Hotel is located about half a mile from the main bus (CTM) station in central Casablanca. Good location. Just a 10 minute walk to a pedestrian mall that leads to Mohammad V Boulevard, the light-rail train, and numerous restaurants. Old medina is 20 minutes away. Nice decor in lobby. Curteous staff. Rooms are of medium size, pleasant but not special. Doors to hallway are thin (all across Morocco) so sound carries. Price is OK - $54/night, but noticeable luxury can be found for about $30 more elsewhere close-by. Alternatively, for just $22 - $25 per night, basic accommodation can be found nearby and close to the CTM station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MplsguyMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 327 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have travelled several times to Casablanca, experienced several hotels but i never felt more than i felt at Hotel Maamoura, i can check in anytime, they find availability for me anytime i come, this hotel has an appartment sometimes available for the last minute decision made, Hotel Maamoura has very good staff, clean rooms, good location to enjoy the ART deco in Casablanca, so in my opinion would highly recommend this for an overnight in Casablanca.

Room Tip: Room Number 109 love it there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socom_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at Maamoura last week. I was a solo female traveler there. The room was clean and the bathroom was much nicer than I anticipated. The staff was pretty helpful, but some had very limited english. I suggest some beforehand translations if you need to get any serious information without french or arabic language skills. This hotel was safe overall, although I do not suggest making extra conversation with the staff or any fellow travelers. The price they quoted me was 450 Dirhams, which amounted to about $55 USD. I thought this price was a bit expensive for the room. The Wifi worked OK and the hotel accepts visa which was very helpful. I would stay there again as this price was 20 - 40$ cheaper than hotels up the street and the access to major attractions was comparable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel was booked for me as part of a tour group. It was ok but I think expensive for what u get. If u pay say $20 - $40 more you can significantly improve your standard of accommodation. I guess this decision is dependant on your budget. The hotel is old and dated. Staff were not very friendly or helpful. Location not brilliant as there are lots of other hotels in better locations. Seemed to be located in a poor section of Casablanca. The room was clean but the linen was old and grey. The pillows were horrible - Rubbery and lumpy. Reminded me of a back packers room which u would expect to pay half the rate charged by this hotel. Breakfast was adequate but again staff were not keen to help or please. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi-child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is in the middle of a busy residential/commercial/market district with rows of mini-groceries, household appliances stores , banks and local cafes and a pharmacy close by which makes it really convenient if you need to change currency and get supplies like toilettries , water and stuff. It's really busy outside during daytime but the inside the hotel its quiet. They have a small lobby and a breakfast area which could use a little bit more lighting. I noticed a restaurant inside the hotel which we havent tried. There are two tiny elevators that can practically accommodate only 1 person + 1 luggage or 2 people at a time. The rooms are spacious enough and well kept as well as the bathrooms. We had a room with a balcony that facing the front and unless you shut the glass doors at night, you could hear the noise outside. During our stay, it went on until early morning. Getting a cab from the hotel is not difficult as all you will need is walk 20 meters to the corner to catch one. You can also go on foot to reach the main street where some of the sights are. Breakfast was the usual bread, butter, eggs orange juice coffee or tea which is served buffet. We were out most of the time so this hotel was just what we needed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panbue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a lovely old Moroccan hotel. There is a lot of dark wood and the lobby is beautiful. The rooms are very basic but are clean and comfortable. The front desk was helpful and there is wi-fi in the lobby. The breakfast included rolls, eggs, cheese, breakfast drink and coffee. There are small grocery stores nearby and restaurants are a 5 - 10 min. walk away but the neighborhood is
safe. If you need a place to stay in Casablanca before or after a tour of Morocco this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sofiegsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I debated between Maamoura and Moroccan House for my first three nights and went with the latter. I had one night at Maamoura before joining my tour. This is a 'Moroccan' hotel, not part of an American chain, so it is different. Yes, it's in an area full of housewares shops and the décor is eccentric, but my bed was warm and dry, the towels were dry, the shower worked and the staff helpful. If you want an American-style hotel, stay in one. If you want a flavour of Morocco, stay where Moroccans and visitors stay.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you, take wax earplugs (foam just doesn't cut it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
2 mi away
Manzil Hotel
Manzil Hotel
#39 of 77 in Casablanca
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amouday
Hotel Amouday
#50 of 77 in Casablanca
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#45 of 77 in Casablanca
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Casablanca City Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#37 of 77 in Casablanca
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel les Saisons
Hotel les Saisons
#21 of 77 in Casablanca
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maamoura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maamoura Hotel

Address: 59 Rue ibn Batouta , Quartier deb Omar | near Central Market, Casablanca 20000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range: $45 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maamoura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is 3* it is new it is in city center. All the rooms are air conditioned. The decoration is typically Moroccan. TV satellite. Hot water all day. 2 elevators .Moroccan breakfast, nicely decorated hall. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maamoura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maamoura Hotel Casablanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing