We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sub-standard in all regards”
Review of Maamoura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maamoura Hotel
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Phoenix, AZ USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sub-standard in all regards”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The location of this hotel isn't the greatest, although it's walkable to the bazaar/medina. Be sure to take a map of the city if you are walking around, as Casablanca is probably the most difficult to navigate of any city I've ever visited.

I would have been better served by a robot than the front desk staff at check-in. Not that I was expecting anything special at check-in, but I had to ask about everything, e.g. when breakfast is served (7-10), a map of the city, laundry service, what about wi-fi, how to operate the air conditioner, etc.

They told me that wi-fi was available in my room, but it is not. I had to go to the lobby with my laptop every time I wanted to access email. The manager told me that the wi-fi on my floor is being serviced, but all three days I was here, it was not working. I think he tells guests that, just to placate them.

The breakfast was the most pitiful I've can recall ever having at a hotel. It consisted of bread, butter, croissants, a bowl of black olives, and some neon-orange drink they bring you, along with coffee. But hey, it was included the the price of the room, so guess I shouldn't complain, should I?

The bathroom was small, but the bedroom was of adequate size. The bed was comfortable with clean sheets, but not sure when the bed spread was last cleaned. The sliding glass doors to the lobby didn't slide easily and the draperies appeared to be dirty. On the other hand, the lobby was rather attractive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    114
    82
    28
    13
See reviews for
42
98
58
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Table View, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The room is ok but the bath is another story. If you are in any way handicapped then good luck in getting in or out of the bath, which also doubles as the shower. Don't pick rooms x07 to x11 as they faced the road and it get load. The staff are ok, helpful and speak passable English.

Made the mistake of eatng dinner here, ranges between 70 - 120 dirhams. Had the Tagine Kebab Maghdour which was sinewy and touch. The souce was ok. The apple drink was good as was the olives. Breakfast consisted of "cruisants" bread with jam, cheese spread and olives. If it was not included I would haved asked them to pay me to have breakfast.

The location is good and the hotel is clean.

Room Tip: Avoid room x07 - x11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had one night in Casablanca at each end of our Morocco trip. The location is pretty good. The staff was unremarkable and the rooms were decent. Breakfast was OK, especially in comparison with breakfasts in other hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neildean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Maamoura is well located near to plenty of restaurants, the market, and a park. It's a long walk to the Hassan II mosque, but it's not bad. The staff were friendly and helpful. They spoke English well enough. The room was nice. It was very chilly in Winter (Feb), but ok. The water wasn't hot, but it was more than warm. The room was loud with outside noise, but that's to be expected. The balcony was great. I thought it was very good for the price.

Room Tip: The building has a lot of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womprat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Where to start? The dated bathroom? The dim lighting? Maybe the substandard breakfast?
There is nothing seriously wrong with the place, particulary if you're just passing through, but definetely not a place to lean back and relax. Maybe one does not expect it in Morocco, but it was very cold. And the so called room heater is a joke.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel itself felt very sterile and our room smelled very strongly of lemon-scented cleaner. However, the sheets had weird rubbery pellets on them (leftover detergent powder?).

This was one of the more reasonably priced hotels in Casablanca.

Would I stay there again? No.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JustinaL370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Small rooms, average as far as service and cleanliness. Some of the staff were exceptional (bellman) others were less than accommodating (front desk staff). The restaurant was average. All in all acceptable but if your budget allows you might want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for one with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlrw524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#30 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amouday
Hotel Amouday
#45 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel les Saisons
Hotel les Saisons
#18 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Manzil Hotel
Manzil Hotel
#33 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca
0.5 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#49 of 75 in Casablanca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maamoura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maamoura Hotel

Property: Maamoura Hotel
Address: 59 Rue ibn Batouta , Quartier deb Omar | near Central Market, Casablanca 20000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maamoura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is 3* it is new it is in city center. All the rooms are air conditioned. The decoration is typically Moroccan. TV satellite. Hot water all day. 2 elevators .Moroccan breakfast, nicely decorated hall. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Maamoura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maamoura Hotel Casablanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing