We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful in its Moroccan way”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #45 of 77 Hotels in Casablanca
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I went to Morocco by myself, so the fact that the owner was so welcoming and nice to me meant a lot. I only stayed there for one day, and it was perfect. The place is somewhat falling apart but in such a beautiful way it was actually perfect.
If you're just going for the experience and to actually breathe the real Morocco I would totally recommend this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroPassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 435 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

I thought it should be one of the cheapest accommodation in Casa, even so it met my requirement: room is spacious, neat and relatively clean, good location, staff is nice.

However there are some flies in our room, and I saw there was a dead rat in the public area when we checked out in the morning. Those problems didnt bother me when we were staying there, so it is fine for me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lomoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I booked the hotel via this site and the room was prepared for me. I tavelled with my friend and he could stay at the hotel, too (without previous booking). The biggest advantage of the hostel is a great view from the roof on the seaport and the ocen.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetrCensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We recently made a booking to stay at Hotel Central in Casablanca for one night and received official confirmation of the booking, leaving our card details as a deposit. When we arrived at the hotel on the Saturday night, we were told by the very smug owner/receptionist that the hotel was full. We showed him our booking form, at which he shrugged his shoulders and said that the hotel was full. A large group had arrived and he had rented out all of the rooms to them as they were going to stay for a few nights (and he would therefore make more money). We demanded that he provide us with a hotel room for the same price and of the same standard. Without once apologizing, he made a phone call (in Arabic, so we didn't understand), and told us that he had another hotel for us for the same price and a short taxi ride away. Meanwhile, another group of three girls and a young couple arrived, whose bookings had also been ignored by the hotel owner. He sent 6 of us in one taxi to another hotel. When we explained to the woman on reception at the new hotel that we had been sent by Hotel Central etc., she said she had no idea about this, and that she didn't have anything to do with the man at Hotel Central. She said she had rooms for us, but at double the price we had booked. We tried to explain to her what had happened, and she eventually had a tantrum, slammed the door and banned us from the hotel. We were left (three blonde females) on the street in the centre of Casablanca on a Saturday night at 10.30pm (only men in the street) without anywhere to stay. Fortunately, we had been in Morocco for 3 days and felt a little more confident, but the situation we were left in due to Hotel Central was less than safe. We had to walk round Casablanca with all our luggage to try and find somewhere else to stay. Hotel Central just wanted to make as much money as possible, without considering any bookings they already had and without arranging any alternative accommodation for those people who were left without a room. He just paid his taxi driver friend to get us out of Hotel Central and take us to any hotel and leave us to sort ourselves out. I DO NOT recommend making a booking here, as you may well be left hotel-less on the streets of Casablanca without even getting a single word of apology. What's more, while we were talking to the man at reception, guests staying there were asking him why there was no hot water...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank 102janeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The rooms are so humid you could feel like being in India during the monsoons. The shower looks more like a bidet and the owner just loves to insult you. The professional pictures online are not exactly what you see once you are in that falling-apart hotel. Even if you want to spend little money, you end up wasting them. This hotel is the biggest mistake of my life.

Room Tip: Just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoyceK274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived at this hotel about 9pm and were told it was full, despite the fact we had successfully booked it over a month before, had our booking confirmation and our name was in their book. The same happened to two other groups that arrived at the same time, their names were also in the book. They did not apologize or attempt to accomodate us, instead we were sent in a taxi to a different hotel having been told we would pay the same. 6 of us were made to sit in one taxi and another couple who went in a seperate one were even made to pay for it themselves.
When we arrived at the next hotel they tried to charge us almost double and in the end the receptionist there got so angry with our complaints that she refused to accomodate us and we were left without any accomodation that night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank AliMadrid_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

a very nice and safe place to stay for 2 to 3 nights, the owner is really nice and the hotel is clean and very cheap you can pay in a double room 200 dirham each which is nothing and they can guide you to the nice places in the city but take care at night the place of the hotel is not safe you can find people smoking.

Room Tip: Double room is a really nice and cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
2.1 mi away
Manzil Hotel
Manzil Hotel
#39 of 77 in Casablanca
162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#38 of 77 in Casablanca
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
#12 of 77 in Casablanca
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Casablanca City Center
Ibis Casablanca City Center
#24 of 77 in Casablanca
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Toubkal
Best Western Hotel Toubkal
#30 of 77 in Casablanca
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: 20 Place Ahmad el Bidaoui | Ancienne medina, Casablanca 20000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range: $39 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Medina, minutes away from the Hassan II mosque and the train station, the new renovated Hotel Central guarantees a unique and relaxing atmosphere amidst the hustle and bustle of Casablanca. Hotel Central has 32 rooms (5 suites) all equipped with bathroom, satellite TV, phone and heating. We offer a wide range of quality fare in our restaurant. Enjoy our panoramic roof-terrace overlooking the Medina, the harbor and the Hassan II Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Central Casablanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing