We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Mansour Casablanca
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Casablanca
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mixed views”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was left with a mixed view of this hotel. Some parts of the hotel have a Moroccan style that was quite pleasing and made a change from some of the bigger chain hotels. At least I knew that I was in Morocco.Other parts of the building have seen better days and are ready for refit.The view from my window was of a wastland and another hotel.
I have mixed views about the restaurants, my meal in the royal grill restaurant was awful, I actually had a steak that tasted of fish, On one occasion I went into the restaurant area looking for a waiter/ table and was ignored by all of them. Ended up not bothering to eat that night, but the next night at the Moroccan restaurant it was far.better.
The hotel porters are very helpful.
I would have liked tea and coffee making equipment in my room and asked for a kettle. I was told that I could not have a kettle but that the staff would bring boiling water if I asked. Its not the same, not the end of the world but still not what I wanted.

Room Tip: This hotel is near the medina, but this area is very dirty and run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Said-Mahrous, Guest Services Manager at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Ian,

I would like to start by expressing our appreciation for your kind words about our porters and the staff at our Moroccan restaurant Douira.

All of our teams have read your comment and would like to join me in apologizing for not succeeding in making your overall stay with us a special experience.

It is clear that some parts of the hotel did not meet your expectations and I personally apologize for the incidents you encountered.

We were very surprised to read your disappointment regarding your experience at Le Royal Grill, it is a restaurant with excellent reputation (on Tripadvisor as well) and we recommend it because we have had great feedback from our guests, and It is very rare that we receive a negative feedback about its services.

We understand the disappointment of our guests when sometimes a mishap occurs, and our responsibility is to prevent any gaps from happening again.

Also, we regret that your request for a Kettle was not responded to appropriately, as we have these items available upon the call of our guests.

We already started our investigation, as we knew that you stayed with us from the 23rd of June for six nights, and your room was on the 4th floor. This will surely help us to have a clear view of what happened and how.

We sincerely apologize for these unusual situations which do not reflect the quality of service we constantly strive to achieve. And we will certainly contact the restaurant and kitchen teams, as well as our call center and investigate further regarding your meal at Le Royal Grill and the water Kettle you requested.

I invite you to send us an email at Said.Mahrous@lemeridien.com whenever you are planning a visit to Casablanca, as we would love a second chance to turn around your opinion about our hotel.

Very cordially yours

Said Mahrous
Said.Mahrous@lemeridien.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    193
    122
    44
    16
See reviews for
51
122
50
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is billed as 5* and pictures on the Internet made it look lovely. I stayed here on business and was disappointed. The rooms are large and look nice but mine smelt strongly of damp and sheets and clothing left in the room felt clammy - though this could have been due to the air conditioning.

The shower was very good and the hotel seemed to be clean with good room service and bottled water in the rooms.

I wouln't class this as a 5* hotel and there was a problem with pre- payment from the UK.

Bed douvets were far too heavy for the heat of Morocco in summer even with e air conditioning.

I don't think that I would return, there are many hotels in Casablanca and I think I will look elsewhere for a similar price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Said-Mahrous, Guest Services Manager at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share you experience online. As difficult as it was for me to read that we did not meet your expectations, your feedback is extremely valuable as it helps us improve.

However, we are happy to hear that you found your room nice and larger, with its good shower and amenities.

Still, we really regret that you did not inform us about your discomfort while you were with us, as we would have taken suitable action immediately.

Your remarks are always welcome and of a great concern to us and be assured that we will investigate and take necessary action if you could let us know more details.

I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in the future, and please, do not hesitate to contact me should your travels bring you back to Casablanca.

With kind regards,

Said Mahrous
Said.Mahrous@lemeridien.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Quaint and characterful can cover many establishments in Morocco. In this case unfortunately it is now mutton dressed up as lamb. Sloppy maintenance, tired fittings and staff who are willing, but increasingly battling with a hotel in dire need of a revamp and new direction. The breakfast atrium has a fantastic atmosphere and is a real pleasure, encapsulating all that is "Casa", as with the bar, both staffed by willing and efficient people. The rooms are now a bit pathetic. Cheap make overs for many years (yes I have been coming for many years), make for an industrial experience.

At this price point that does not add to the adventure or travel experience. It is unacceptable.

Gym has good equipment and layout, but three machines not operating and not even labeled as such. Internet is free for residents but so slow replication a near impossibility. Secret tip is to pay the 200 Dirhams a day for spectacularly fast streaming. Go figure. Aircon hardly works. A common problem for years in this hotel, but getting worse. Such is the impact of time.

Plenty of new places to choose from with half the atmosphere, but I for one have got to the stage where this is no substitute for a shoddy, overpriced hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Said-Mahrous, Guest Services Manager at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you first of all for your loyalty, and for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your stay at Le Royal Mansour Meridien.

We are truly delighted that you appreciated our staff professionalism, and that the service value exceeded your expectations at every occasion.

Besides, we have also noted your comments regarding Le Royal Mansour Meridien Hotel’s style and decoration, which may appear Old Style indeed, but in the same way gives authentic character to the property.

Please, be assured that we are really concerned by your comments and our priority is to always offer the quality of service that our valued guests are entitled to receive. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your concerns and we do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Le Royal Mansour Meridien very soon, and make amends for any disappointment that occurred during your stay in June.

In the meantime, we remain

Sincerely yours,

Said Mahrous
Said.Mahrous@lemeridien.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a large older style room with an entry hallway, a king size bed, a table & chairs and a fridge. The window which was dirty overlooked the main road & we could hear the traffic noise although it wasn’t overly loud. The bathroom had a shower over the yellow enamel bath with a shower curtain. There was good water pressure in the shower. The toilet was in a separate room in the bathroom. This was the first hotel we stayed in Morocco that had conditioner as well as shampoo included in the toiletries.

We were on a tour when we stayed here and dinner was not in the restaurant but in a separate room. The quality and quantity of food at dinner was not particularly great although there were some nice desserts.

Breakfast was in the restaurant and was very good. There was quite a variety of food and they also cooked fresh omelettes & pancakes & the service was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Said-Mahrous, Guest Services Manager at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for this nice review you took the time to post on TripAdvisor, and we are deeply honored that you choose Le Royal Mansour Meridien as your destination in Casablanca!

Our first priority is to make our guests feel comfortable, so it is such a pleasure to read how much you liked your room and found the guest room amenities, as well as its Desk, table, chairs, and its refreshment center, perfect for your stay. We are even more pleased that you found our rooms as large and spacious!

We are also glad that you could imagine the touch of the Old Style which adds character to the Hotel.

We thank you also for highlighting the Breakfast buffet quantity and quality, and we are happy your experience at Le Royal Grill Restaurant in the morning was up to your expectations.


We apologize for any disappointment that occurred during your stay and hopefully we may rectify whatever specifically disappointed you, on a further visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to Le Royal Mansou Meridien.

In the meantime, we remain,

Very truly yours,
Said Mahrous
Said.Mahrous@lemeridien.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel, as noted by other reviewers, is in need of renovation and cannot justify the prices. The hotel lacks charm and there are no gardens or terraces to relax in.
The corridors smell of unclean carpets.
.The prices for the services in the hotel are extremely high and hardly justified.
Internet connection is charged for even though if you connect through your room at 5€ per day although it is claimed when connecting that that for simple e-mail use there is no charge. The service is erratic and you are constantly disconnected.
Whilst some of the staff at reception are helpful and friendly others are unfriendly and could well benefit from training in public relations or being got rid of.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidGL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Responsable commercial at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We have been disappointed with some of your comments on TripAdvisor but we, unfortunately, cannot object to these since we did not match the quality of service that you were looking for.

However, we invite you to take a look at the other comments on TripAdvisor, you will see how satisfied many other guests felt after departing our property.

We are extremely sorry and disappointed that the general service offered to you at our property was less than the Royal Mansour Meridien experience that you should have received. We strive on doing out best at creating great guest experiences and we really take it to heart when we fail. I have already shared your comments with concerned departments and we are discussing these gaps to ensure they do not happen again.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

Please accept our apologies for having missed the opportunity to impress you and we do hope to have another chance to welcome you back.

Do not hesitate to contact me in person at anytime if you have any special demand or questions that will make you feel more relieved about your stay with us at Le Royal Mansour Meridien.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotalnd
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

There was a groupof 8 that stayed for a week in May 2013. The hotel and the rooms were more than adequate - very friendly staff: always smiling and willing to help - a special mention must be given to the chef: Amin and the pancake lady - my family and I always enjoyed chatting with you in the mornings. The only criticism I would give is that there is no swimming pool and no garden to sit in and enjoy the sun. At the end of the trip we had to pay the tax which was quite high, but unavoidable I suppose.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Responsable relations clients at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on trip advisor following your recent visit to Le Royal Mansour Meridien.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your room, the service, the breakfast at the restaurant, and our fabulous staff and we will ensure that your kind compliments reach out to all our teams.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the constructive criticism you have made which is very helpful for us and for the forthcoming travelers who plan to visit Casablanca!

Thank you once again for supporting our hotel, and for the time taken to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Le Royal Mansour Meridien soon!

With Kindest Regards,
Ibtissam Channani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

his hotel is definitely not bad. The area is nice, short way to shops or old city. By taxi 5 minutes to the Grand Mosque. Anyway, the furniture would enjoy some renovation.
The breakfast was not so wide, but sufficient in choices. The rooms are quite big, wi-fi is also working well. So, generaly... OK, but I am sure there will be much better hotels in Casablanca. Will try them next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zimbardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Responsable relations publiques at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on trip advisor following your recent visit to Le Royal Mansour Meridien.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your room, the service, and the breakfast at the restaurant. We do apologize for the issues you raised concerning the breakfast buffet choices and the room’s furniture conditions and you may rest assured that works are ongoing on a few rooms to give them a fresher and more modern look.

We would like to take this opportunity and thank you for all the recommendations you have made. They are very helpful for us and for the forthcoming travelers who plan to visit Casablanca!

Thank you once again for supporting our hotel, and for the time taken to provide us with your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Le Royal Mansour Meridien soon!

With Kindest Regards,

Ibtissam Channani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Casablanca Tour Blanche
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Casablanca
Hyatt Regency Casablanca
#3 of 76 in Casablanca
1,026 reviews
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
#10 of 76 in Casablanca
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Casablanca Hotel & Towers
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Casablanca
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Le Doge
Hotel & Spa Le Doge
#5 of 76 in Casablanca
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mansour Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mansour Casablanca

Property: Royal Mansour Casablanca
Address: 27 Avenue De l'Armee Royale, Casablanca 20000, Morocco (Formerly Le Royal Mansour Meridien)
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Casablanca
#8 Spa Hotel in Casablanca
#14 Luxury Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Mansour Casablanca 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royal Mansour Casablanca is currently closed for renovation. No reopen date. Royal Mansour Casablanca offers deluxe service and limitless possibilities for discovery at the center of Casablanca, just a few minutes from the Corniche, the port and the Hassan II mosque. The hotel features modern meeting facilities, and 182 sophisticated and spacious guestrooms including 23 suites, all known for their historical elegance and modern comfort. Our free Wi-Fi in guestrooms and publique spaces keeps you connected to your family, friends, and work throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Mansour Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Mansour Meridien Hotel Casablanca
Meridien Le Royal Mansour
Meridien Hotel Casablanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing