We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Mansour Casablanca
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Poor Service”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at around 2am, check in was good, advised we were being picked up in the morning to commence our 10 day tour.
Room was large, air con was poor, but worst was to come.
Had a shower no hot water I mean when you turned the tap tp hot nothing came out.
Explained this to the front desk, a man arrived to clean the bathroom, explained no hot water. A technician will come, now about 3am. Too late just want to go sleep, will sort out in morning.
Had breakfast all good.
Return to front desk explain situation, looks dumbfounded lucky night manager there, arrange another room to shower.
At checkout only interest from staff, had I used the mini bar in either room asked twice.
No apology at all.
Then asked if our driver has arrived, yes but he has left.
Lucky he returned, the hotel had told him we were not in the hotel and were expected that night.
Peter G Australia
During my business career I was a Starwood guest, this hotel does not live upto that standard.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for recently staying with us whilst visiting Casablanca and also for having taken the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are extremely sorry and disappointed that your room conditions here at our property was less than Le Royal Mansour Meridien experience you should have received. We endeavor to do our best at creating great guest experiences and we really take it to heart when we fail. I have already shared with concerned departments the breakdowns that occurred during your visit and we are discussing these gaps to ensure they do not happen again.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

Please accept our apologies for having missed the opportunity to impress you and we do hope to have another chance to welcome you back in the future, and we invite you to contact us at any time we can assist to ensure your complete wellbeing in your stay.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    194
    122
    44
    16
See reviews for
51
122
50
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Only stayed one night here at the start of a countrywide tour and arrived quite late.
The staff were very curtious and helpful.
The room was very spacious and comfortable if a little old and slightly worn.
A major plus point was the breakfast (and the restaurant it was held in) which was very good - both in selection and quality.
Our check out was faultless. A short stay but enough to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsander219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your beautiful review.

We are very pleased that you appreciated your stay with us. Particularly, your nice words about our staff and the quality of our breakfast are the best compliments we can receive as we strive on a daily basis in order to offer an impeccable but at the same time genuine service.

We are all already very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I just spent 9 days here for business and it was delightful. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Our reservation included breakfast, which offered a great variety of local and western fare. The staff was exceptional: always helpful and friendly. This was our first time in Morocco and it was helpful to always have the concierge to assist us with taxis, dinner reservations and airport transport. This hotel is located close to one of the train stations and it is easy to grab a taxi to anywhere in the city. I would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbritt51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave these wonderful comments on TripAdvisor.

It is always a real pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed the hotel our services and we continuously strive to satisfy their expectations.

Your enthusiasm for all the team is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for them.

We all look forward to welcoming you again at Royal Mansour Meridien.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a very good time for six nights (20-26th August 2012). We had a problem with the room in the first night and it was replaced with better one and the staff were so nice as it is well known character of the Moroccans in general.
The location of the hotel is very convenient; few hundred meters from the old Madina and with reasonable distance from the Cornish and other parts of the city by using the small red taxi with very reasonable fares.
Thank you Le Royal Mansour Meridien for your excellent and royal treatment of your customers.

Room Tip: If you have any problem tell the staff and they'll rush to help and make things right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shetha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We also would like to thank you for staying with us, and for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received here in Le Royal Mansour Meridien.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and your reward and praise have reached and touched our hearts.

Again, it was a great pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
141 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Had an outstanding stay here of 3 nights. The staff treat SPG platinums extremely well. Had booked a regular room and was upgraded to a Senior suite which is pretty large. Its essentially a one bedroom suite about 750 sq ft large.

Check in was quick, i was offered a welcome drink and then quickly shown to my room. They had some local gifts which I could have chosen as my Platinum amenity which I thought were pretty neat. There was a carafe of almond milk waiting for me in the room, along with 3 large plates of almonds, raising and dried apricots.

The room was large and very comfortable. The rooms look worn yet somehow fits in quite well with the whole Moroccan setting. I got room 406 which overlooked the main road outside. There isnt much in terms of views, though you can see the ocean from the lounge on the 9th floor. The bathroom was very large, and there even was a second bath in the living room. They also supplied the suites with larger than normal toiletries.

It cost me about 400 Dirhams to get here from the airport, though next time I would call the airport and arrange a pick up through them. They charged 300 Dhs for the ride to the airport, and in an S class Mercedes which is pretty much nicer than any cab you are going to find out there.

The staff here are incredibly friendly and gracious, always checking in with you to make sure things are good. Abderrehman, the concierge is the man! He was very knowledgeable about all things local, even letting me know which restuarants would be open for lunch during Ramadan. He even set me up for my day trip to Marrakech which was unbelieveably helpful. He called ahead to the Meridian in Marrakech, let them know I was coming and to help me out with anything. Now that is truly some service. The concierge at the Meridien Marrakech was also awesome and told me about where to go in my limited time there and even gave me a ticket to enter the Botanical gradens in Marrakech which saved me 25 Dhs.

The hotel can arrange for your train tickets as well if you let them know a couple of hours in advance. The breakfast buffet at the hotel is pretty good, though pricey in my opinion at 260 Dhs. Luckily it was included for me. They have a ton of local options along with the usual bread and omlette options. But the food is very good. I tried room service once and the food was fairly decent. The Iftar buffet is quite something....a ton of options which are constantly refilled to handle the rush of people.

The hotel is located right next to old Medina which is the main souk. Do visit but definitely do not buy. Prices are much cheaper at the shops just outside the souk....the souk is a tourist trap in terms of purchases but definitely visit to experience it. Let the bellman know if you need a cab to go someplace, and tell him to make sure it is a metered one as a lot of cabbies will try to rip you off. Cabs are pretty cheap on the whole in Casablanca. A trip from the hotel to the train station will set you back 10 dirhams, wheres it will cost about 20 dirhams to go to the Hassan mosque.

The one disappointing feature I thought was the lounge. It was pretty much empty all the time and never had anything on offer, even during the 6 pm to 8 pm food/cocktail hour. I am not sure if this is because it is ramadan or just in general but if it was due to Ramadan it would have been nice to let the guests know espesically since there usually was some staff member present. The lounge offers up a nice view but sadly you cant step out onto the balcony.

The spa was nice and my stay included complimentary visits to the steam and sauna. The staff here again is really very nice and i used the facilities many times. There are also many restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. Amazingly enough there is a Sheraton literally across the street as well. Note that you can get 20% off your food bill at the Sheraton if you check in on foursquare.

Note that there is no wifi access yet in the rooms. You have wifi in the lobby and lounge but not in the rooms where it is wired. I did mention this to the front desk who said they were in the process of implementing wifi in all rooms. I had a hard time figuring out multiple logins to the internet on different devices and in the end gave up and just kept purchasing one for each of my 3 devices. Internet was complimentary for me, but this could seriously add up if it isnt since it costs about 22$ a day everytime you pruchase it.

In the end though, this was an amazing stay. The staff took it to a whole new level, and the suite was a treat to stay in. This is definitely going to be my go to hotel the next time I am in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you want something facing the ocean....thought its far away
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyjb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your beautiful review.

We are very pleased that you appreciated your stay with us.
Particularly, your nice words about our staff are the best compliments we can receive as we strive on a daily basis in order to offer an impeccable but at the same time genuine service.

Needless to say that we have well noted your comments regarding the lounge and please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the department concerned to follow up.

We are all already very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The hotel is lovely, and a little tired. The staff is very accommodating, and all requests were handled very quickly. Great breakfast too. I understand it's scheduled for a renovation which should bring it up to true five star level.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen the Royal Mansour Meridien whilst recently in Casablanca and for having taken the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am grateful for your kind comments as exceptional service is what we strive and like to be known for as it help us to provide a memorable experience to our guests.

I look forward to pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Spent 8 nights. We asked for top floor room with Atlantic view ocean view but were not given what we asked for.Staff at reception promised to move us to what we asked for next day. The room was much better located.
The hotel in generally aged and is long overdue to be refurbished.Carpet had small of "old Carpet" and is definitley needs an update. Furniture looks of 70'S style. All bathroom tiles showing aging signs(dark staining). We were surprised to find there were no free coffee or tea available in the room (which you would expect in all 5 stars hotel). We learned later that this is not a standard thing to expect in Morroco.The positive point was its staff who were very polite and helpful.Location of the hotel was good (near the old Medina, Port and Railway station. Food is pricy compared with what you can get for the same money in a good Resturant.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are better especially those located on top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawdat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrada, Director of Sales at Royal Mansour Casablanca, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for recently staying with us whilst visiting Casablanca and also for having taken the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are extremely sorry and disappointed that your room availability and conditions here at our property was less than Le Royal Mansour Meridien experience you should have received. We endeavor to do our best at creating great guest experiences and we really take it to heart when we fail. I have already shared with concerned departments the breakdowns that occurred during your visit and we are discussing these gaps to ensure they do not happen again.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

Please accept our apologies for having missed the opportunity to impress you and we do hope to have another chance to welcome you back in the future, and we invite you to contact us at any time we can assist to ensure your complete wellbeing in your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Casablanca Tour Blanche
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Casablanca Hotel & Towers
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Casablanca
Hyatt Regency Casablanca
#3 of 75 in Casablanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
#8 of 75 in Casablanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Casablanca
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Le Doge
Hotel & Spa Le Doge
#5 of 75 in Casablanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mansour Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mansour Casablanca

Property: Royal Mansour Casablanca
Address: 27 Avenue De l'Armee Royale, Casablanca 20000, Morocco (Formerly Le Royal Mansour Meridien)
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Casablanca
#8 Spa Hotel in Casablanca
#12 Luxury Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Mansour Casablanca 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royal Mansour Casablanca is currently closed for renovation. No reopen date. Royal Mansour Casablanca offers deluxe service and limitless possibilities for discovery at the center of Casablanca, just a few minutes from the Corniche, the port and the Hassan II mosque. The hotel features modern meeting facilities, and 182 sophisticated and spacious guestrooms including 23 suites, all known for their historical elegance and modern comfort. Our free Wi-Fi in guestrooms and publique spaces keeps you connected to your family, friends, and work throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Mansour Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Mansour Meridien Hotel Casablanca
Meridien Le Royal Mansour
Meridien Hotel Casablanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing