We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel, friendly staff, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Manzil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manzil Hotel
Ranked #38 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Chisinau
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Basic hotel, friendly staff, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The neighborhood does not look safe at first glance, but we where 2 couples and felt comfortable with walking from tram station back to the hotel late at night. It takes 10 minutes to get to the tram station, a very modern tram by the way. We stayed two nights and found the hotel basic, but clean. Rooms and breakfast are ok, staff is friendly. Moreover, it is 5 minutes by taxi to train station Gare Voyageurs. Would recommend for short stays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaMirabela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    64
    46
    13
    11
See reviews for
21
46
26
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I'm a business traveller and i've tryed some hotels in the whole Morocco. I can say that This is my favorite. Spacious, clean, friendly staff, clean bedrooms, good bed, free good wi-fi internet, flat screen with international chanels, placed in a quite zone with calm atmosfere. Perfect for people who are in business trips.

A bit away from the city center so you can rest anytime of the day.

Have already recomended it and people loved it because of the price/quality it offers.

Really good place ti Stay.

André Almeida
PORTUGAL

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdellaif F, Directeur général at Manzil Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the the time to share with us your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to read that your stay at Manzil Hotel was at your expectation.

Guest satisfaction is one of our main objectives, therefore your comments regarding our rooms as well as our team members are very important to us.

Once again, thank you for such nice comments and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon amongst us at the Manzil Hotel.

Sincerely,

Abdellatif Fakhar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I will start my evaluation saying i'm not part of the staff and i'll try to be very fair in my appreciation, to be usefull in your decision.

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for one night only: our purpose was to get a little rest from our bus trip from Essaouira to Casablanca (lasted for 6 hours), and the next day we moved to Meknès by train.

This is NOT a central hotel, so it's really convenient to understand that you can get quickly by TAXI to any convenient point (Casablanca Voyageurs - the main train station) or to the Habous medina (the new medina) in 10 minutes.

I would advice you to take the address of the hotel with you, or if possible a printed map of the location. A lot of taxi drivers we talked to didn't know this hotel existed.

During the day i'm sure the taxi will cost you something like 15 DH (1.5€) to leave you in the central part of Casablanca, and in evenings they increase the price and double it. You are NOT supposed to pay 5 euros.
You must be aware that taxi drivers in Morocco are a pain in the ass and will try to take advantage of all tourists, because we represent a really tempting resource for easy money.

From the bus station to the hotel we payed 17DH (1.7€) with the taximeter on. But the first taxi driver that offered us a ride asked for 70 DH (7€). When we refused, showing him the map and explaining that we knew that it couldn't be that expensive to go to the hotel, he said we were crazy, shouted and mocked us, saying that with the taximeter on (which we demanded) we would pay twice of the value he was asking for).
The taxi driver that actually drove us received a good tip :)
Taxi drivers are bullers to tourists and if you're sleeping in this hotel you must be aware of this!

The hotel is simple, rooms are clean and comfortable. There's a computer with free access to internet in the lobby, as well as a coffee machine.
Ideal for a short stay in Casablanca.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Not only placed in an awful location, but a horrible neighbourhood, smelly, and not reliable. My best moment in the hotel was when they said my reservation was taken by someone else, and for that reason they placed us in another hotel! Really don't go there!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Casablanca hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Small business hotel with quiet location. We have stayed our last night here after two weeks tour in Morocco. Room is large and clean. Friendly staffs and free wifi provided. Breakfast is just good enough. First time to check in a hotel who will give you a TV remote control set together with the room key. Have found two coffee shops nearby and have enjoyed a cup of coffee with the local people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RChui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublino
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We are a couple. We was in the Manzil Hotel 2 nights and was HORRIBLE. It´s very far from city center and you have to take a taxi (and you spend 5 euros in the taxi) if you want to get there. There isn´t any restaurant or bar close to this hotel so if you want to have lunch or dinner you have to take another taxi (and another 5 euros). The breakfast in the hotel is HORRIBLE also. They boil some eggs and put some tea or chocolate or coffee or juice or sweets just ONE time in a WEEK. IT ISN´T HEALTHY and they CHEAT us because they said us that the breakfast was 4 euros and when we left the hotel they increase the price 20% and they didn´t explain why. The room has air conditioner but VERY NOISY and It´s impossible to sleep. The cleaning staff was ok (but they didn´t clean the room those days) but the recepcionist guy in the MORNINGS is UNPRESENTABLE. I am totally sure that the staff in the hotel wrote the good reviews of this place because It´s HORRIBLE.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carmadublino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very friendly, helpful and competent staff. Really nice people. Concerning the hotel, it's designed for people just looking to stay over for a night and is almost ideal for this purpose.

The only shortcoming is the location. Presumably it is 800 m from Casa Voyageur railway station, so very convenient for those who arrive by train and depart to the airport (direct train). In fact the boulevard is blocked by construction works and detour takes much more time. Very close to the ocean, but difficult to find a taxi to get to the historical center. Also not all taxi drivers know the address and no object of common knowledge are close to it. Anyhow all this doesn't spoil your staying here if your goal is just to find inexpensive and decent shelter for a night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikolayTbilisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#30 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#52 of 75 in Casablanca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Trianon Luxury Hotel & Spa
Le Trianon Luxury Hotel & Spa
#47 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ibis Casablanca Nearshore
Ibis Casablanca Nearshore
#23 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Casablanca City Center
Ibis Casablanca City Center
#24 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ibis Casa Sidi Maarouf
Ibis Casa Sidi Maarouf
#26 of 75 in Casablanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzil Hotel

Property: Manzil Hotel
Address: 38 Rue des Francais Roches Noires, Casablanca 20303, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 75 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manzil Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manzil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing