We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #38 of 76 Hotels in Casablanca
Baker Lake
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

PROS:

-Good location within walking distance to the old medina.

-Lovely mosaic decor in the lounge and breakfast areas.

-Elevator (not that common as I learned during my tour of Morocco!)

-Quite a good breakfast selection and very friendly staff in the breakfast room

-Free wifi

-A surprisingly large supply of toiletries was provided, including a toothbrush and toothpaste.

-The front door staff were very friendly and helpful.

-I had a great massage for a very reasonable price in the spa downstairs.

CONS:

-The cleanliness was most definitely below North American standards. I was not pleased about sleeping in that dusty old 4 poster bed and the bathroom was not very clean.

-I enjoyed the mosaic decor in the common areas but the decor in the bedroom was very tacky.

-The bathroom needs some serious updating. It was very grotty and my bathtub didn't drain properly. I was not provided with a bath mat and so I used one of the hand towels. Housekeeping took the hand towel away the following morning and did not replace it.

-The front desk staff were far from friendly, one fellow in particular. I asked this guy to help me with 4 simple things, namely printing off an email, making a spa reservation (with the hotel spa), making a restaurant reservation and phoning my tour company when my tour guide did not show up. He assisted me each time but made it clear that he was not pleased about it. I speak basic french but no Arabic and had assumed that he would make the dinner reservation and speak to the tour company for me but both times he passed the phone to me and when I wasn't able to keep up with the person on the phone I had to ask him if he could speak to them for me. Again, he did so grudgingly. I understand that he is not a concierge but I don't think I was making unreasonable requests. He also gave me the wrong price for the massage I had booked so I didn't bring enough money down to the spa with me and had to run back upstairs and get more.

-It was quite loud at night. There was loud music playing from somewhere nearby. The water heater (I think) in the bathroom also made quite a lot of noise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RozBakerLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    192
    140
    63
    60
See reviews for
79
167
82
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

A lovely little hotel, with beautiful Moroccan style decor.
Buffet breakfast here was awesome, with plenty of choice, mainly Moroccan foods with some European too, but all was great quality, with fruit juices, fresh tea and coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30539 Hannover
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The location is all right and not too far away from the medina which is in walking distance. The hotel offers a true and genuine moroccan feeling, similiar to a Riad, with a nicely and lush decorated interior in typical Arabian style. You better do not look out of the windows, which offer a dispointing view on the around the clock noisy streets.

Rooms are quite small (we were the lucky ones who got a spacious and splendid honeymoon suite), but individually furnished and including the bathrooms in good condition. Service and breakfast are not overwhelming but friendly and acceptable, especially the doormen who guarded our car for 48 hrs for 30 drh.

To go to the Hassan II mosk it its recommended taking a taxi which is about 30 drh (have always change avalaible, the driver may not be willing to change) and then walk back approx 4-5 kilometers to the hotel passing through the medina, also stopping by at Rick's cafe.

Room Tip: take the large "honeymoon" suite at a premium which will sleep a minimum of 2 people or as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bemerode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We ended up in Casablanca for 4 nights (which I don't recommend doing) and stayed at the Moroccan House. The decor is fun, typical of what you'd expect in Morocco. The bed was ok, the rooms have a/c and a t.v. and the breakfast was pretty good. They also have a spa which I did not visit. The location is close to Old Medina, but it's in the middle of the hustle and bustle of down town, so it's very noisy. There are several cafe's within walking distance. It's worth staying a night when passing through, but no more. Staff was average, a little slow on helping or pointing you in the right direction when asking for anything.

Room Tip: Higher you go the better. Floor 7 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ggeewwllss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I've never been in a hotel like this! It is truly amazing. Start with the small sitting areas in the lobby than upstairs the hotel corridors, the lift doors. And the rooms...four poster beds and all the matching decorations and continued in the bathroom. I arrived to this hotel late night very tired but when looked around in my room just couldn't stop smiling. Well, in the morning the view of my window turn out to be horrible but didn't care too much.
The location is all right not too far from the Hassan II Mosk. Taxis are cheap and on the main road can be found easily plenty of them.
After the whole day walking around the city found out there is a hammam in the hotel, booked it and got lucky to get into right away. The girl was sweet and professional and did a great job scrubbing and massaging me for 200 dirham. Do not miss it!
The only downside for me was the service of the reception desk, not helpful at all. If you want to change money go on the main road and find many around except on Sundays when everything is closed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juiz de Fora, MG
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel in Centre Ville, close to everything, with a very good service and a great breakfast, fast internet, beautiful Moroccan style decor and very good customer service! advise and close the window because the noise of cars (horns) are unbearable! good trip!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ubirajara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMHotels2013, General Manager at Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,
On Behalf Moroccan House Hotel team, we are really grateful for your amazing comments : our objective is to make the customer feel like a real guest in a real Morccan House .
We will continue delivering great service value to our customer .
Hoping to have the privilege to welcome you again in Casablanca .
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We have had 10 wonderful days in Morrocco, however this place was the pits. The only positive is the friendly helpful doorman, who could not.do more to be pleasant. However the surly, rude young woman at recptipn gives the.place a terrible name, she asked for tourist tax the night at check in a first at double the amount requested following moring by male staff mber. Wanted to charge for.local call. that's ok, but very.rude with and spent most.of timpreoking at.herself in mirror and iodoing.make up, looked.annoyed.if asked.for anything. had a to facing street and banging base and.music kept us awake all night. Great location, brekkie fine and the doorman should teach rude receptionist what costomer.service is.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loulou0833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroccan House H, General Manager at Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest ,
On behalf of the team, I thank you for your valuable insight.
We sometimes face this tax problem : in some booking sites, prices don’t include city taxes .It’s written on vouchers and mails of reservation’s confirmation, but some guests omit to read or print this part of the mail . We apologize for the inconvenience you met at that point .
Hoping to have the privilege to welcome you again in Casablanca .
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Casablanca hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#46 of 76 in Casablanca
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Casablanca City Center
Ibis Casablanca City Center
#24 of 76 in Casablanca
959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel les Saisons
Hotel les Saisons
#17 of 76 in Casablanca
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Toubkal
Best Western Hotel Toubkal
#26 of 76 in Casablanca
280 reviews
1.5 mi away
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
#19 of 76 in Casablanca
63 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manzil Hotel
Manzil Hotel
#36 of 76 in Casablanca
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca

Property: Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca
Address: 3, Rue Mohamed SMIHA | Cote Avenue des FAR, Centre-Ville, Casablanca, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 76 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing