We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant”

Le Cabestan - Ocean View
Ranked #12 of 827 Restaurants in Casablanca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: "This restaurant has been an iconic location of for over 40 years but has recently been totally renovated and is now sporting a fresh new look. Located in Casablanca resolutely stylish and refined setting, which offers magnificent views of the Atlantic. Chef Fabien Caboy reigns in the kitchen offering you a choice of subtle and delicate Mediterranean dishes. A lounge bar and a very exclusive club are two more reasons to revisit this exceptional place." Best Restaurant Maroc
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Probably one of the best in Casablanca, the view is outstanding.
One of the view restaurants which are open during the ramadan. reservations are recommended, because when we arrived late in the evening it was crowded. they staff couldn't handle it all because we had to wait for 15 min to order our drinks. but after that we had a great night with some excellent food. Communication was kind of difficult because the waiters don't speak english, just as the menu which was in french.

After dinner we had a talk with the manager who called a cabb to the hotel for us. It was a great night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    409
    141
    78
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice view on the Ocean but average food for the price”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This restaurant is a little far away to reach by taxi and although the Ocean view is a treat, the food is not ... Not a good value for your bucks, leave it to the rich Casablanca people who want to be seen in a trendy place...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yves187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Food but poor service”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The restaurant serves good food but the service is not great. First, the staff does not speak english so if you dont speak french, you may get a bad experience. Also, Menus are only in French. The views to the ocean are stunning and the bar is quite nice. For dinner, I would not recommend the venue but for drinks at the bar, this is a great place to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxfordja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“VERY RUDE to Non-French Speakers--even those who try”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went here with a group because we were told this was the best restaurant in Casablanca. When we arrived at the gate, we were warmly greeted and were excited about the experiwnce we were about to enjoy.

things went downhill from the point we met the hostess. She was rude and came off like we should be grateful for any table she offered--though we had reservations. Unfortunately, the poor service didn't end there.

Ordering was a challenge because the menu was completely in French. We had a translation app, but certain things we couldn't find using the app. The server refused to attempt to help us understand the ingredients/ preparations. Instead of helping, he was busy pacing & slamming things to demonstrate his frustration.

When we did receive the food, it was very good (compliments to the chef), but our tastes had been soured by the rude & poor service. We tried to stick it out to enjoy a full series of courses, but the continued poor treatment caused us to leave to have dessert elsewhere.

Moreover, the club music that was playing was so loud that we couldn't hear one another. Overall, I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone that doesn't speak fluent French or is not famous, as I believe you'd need at least one of those 2 criteria to be treated as welcomed guests. Otherwise, you may as well be a beggar, as you will certainly not be treated any better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DrKG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“For the affluent and trendy crowd there is places like this”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Slightly clubby atmosphere as the evening goes on with low lighting and trendy (slightly loud but good) music; the food is succulent a fusion of modern European - Asian and traditional.
Invited, we ate inside; the décor and siting are comfortable. Discreet service but smiling when approached and there is the view. The view is breath-taking as unexpected.
When you go to the loo upstairs; everyone will tell you "choose the right side", this is the surprise.
Negative point: as the lighting goes down you miss on admiring the food on your plate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dareddiafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cabestan - Ocean View also viewed

Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 

Been to Le Cabestan - Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing