We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casablanca trip”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #73 of 77 Hotels in Casablanca
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Not advisable for single women - can be scary at night when local males try to hit on you - this Hotel made a point of handing me my key face down so no-one could see my room number! A very old, tired Hotel with chipped tiles in the Bathroom and no wall bar for the shower but fairly clean & tidy and VERY Central. Breakfast consists of a Croissant/Bread/jam/butter, Coffee and Orange juice - they also offer set meals in the evening but I never tried them
Go to Rick's restaurant down by the harbour - beautiful food, ambiance and service - the highlighth of my trip!

I have come back to the UK with 570 MAD if anyone wants to buy them before you go to Morroco - the currency is only available when you land over there - this amount would be enough for Airport Taxi, tip & drink
contact me on loops748@tiscali.co.uk if interested?

Room Tip: ask for a room at the rear of the hotel or you will never sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c l, Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your Comment, please keep the 570 MAD, we would love to see you again in Casablanca! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 104 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

We only spent one night at this hotel because it was the starting point of our trip. We arrived at 11.00 pm and left at 8.30 in the morning so we basically only slept and had breakfast. Breakfast was simple but rather good and you could have a hot drink plus juice and the typical moroccan bread with jam and butter.
Our room was quite clean but it was impossible to have nice shower because the water ran hot/cold but not warm! Some other rooms our friends stayed in, had black bugs.
There were people shouting in the street and you could hear everything from the room.
As we spent only one night, it was ok..but i wouldn't recommend it for an entire journey.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucillainthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c l, Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your stay at Majestic Hotel, sometimes Casablanca Streets can be loud so if you looking for calm room, we could of arrange that for you since we have 99 rooms looking at different angles, sorry for your friend bug incident, one phone call to the reception and would of been taking care of, it is very rare thing to see bugs, we clean the rooms every day.
Thank you for the comments and we hope to see you soon;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Avoid this place at all costs. My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night. Massive error. The staff were rude and unhelpful. For example, breakfast at the hotel starts at 7am. We had to leave at 6.30am in order to catch a coach, and were assured that this would not be a problem as they would ensure breakfast were available for us earlier. They did not. Additionally, the room was dirty, to say nothing of the bathroom, and we didn't have a remote control for either the TV or the air conditioning. And the drums performance going on in the lobby (which we could hear from the 2nd floor) until the early morning did not help either.

Room Tip: Select a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnyg323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c l, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for the comment, Breakfast could of been served to you if you asked the chef, there has been a miss communication with the receptionists, there are 3 shifts in the day, we apologies.
as for the noise yes there is a pub in the hotel, but it is never loud, maybe at the time you were at the Hotel there was a live concert, but even that it is only for couple hours before 12:00
we hope to see you at Majestic Hotel as we have renovated some rooms, and we will be glad to put you on the 5th or 6th floor for very calm environmental surroundings, even from the sounds of the streets, see you soon in Casablanca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

On arrival we managed to bargain them down from the supremely over priced 480 dir to 350 dir, but was refused breakfast due to this... The lady in reception also threatened to not give back our passports unless we agreed... The first room we were given had a balcony with a sliding door off it's hinges, so it wouldn't lock let alone close there was also public hairs in the bed. We went down to receprion tocomplain about thus, the lady gave us keys to another room - however when we went into the new room there was somebody elses luggage and half finished drinks in there... (we refused to leave our key at reception after this) the third room they gave us was just passable... The bathroom didn't feel clean though, there was no place to hook the shower. The hotel was VERY noisy and I will definately NEVER bd returning here again... Absolutely disgraceful. Far from majestic, more like sloppy as sloppy as a dog eating custard!! 

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennisdynamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c l, Public Relations Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your comment, we could not have negotiated to not give your passport, That cannot be right, all the rooms come with Breakfast, the hotel is located in the heart of the city, sometimes during the day it can be noisy, Thank you for staying at Majestic Hotel as we are looking to have you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

This hotel is probably one of the worst I have ever stayed in, including hostels. The staff are always shouting and arguing, they don’t even have a basic map to Casablanca. The rooms are totally shabby, two table lamps that don’t even have plugs, most of the lights don’t work. There is no heating and the water is only ever warm not hot. The bathroom is covered in black hair and the bath and shower attachment dirty and black. There is no plug for the bath or anywhere to hook the shower to have a shower. The have very bureaucratic rules here and forget that if it wasn’t for tourists their economy would be far weaker. I would not recommend or stay at this hotel. There are plenty of nicer hotels in this area for around the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee_Melbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c l, Guest Relations Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments, The Hotel is Very old, but we renovated most rooms, the rooms are cleaned everyday, very well maintained, we apologies if did not have a very good experience, and we would hope to have you in Majestic Hotel again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We had planned on staying in Casablanca for 10 days before heading to Marrakech, but staying at Majestic for 2 days quickly had us packing and going straight to Marrakech. The desk lady was friendly, but they had no records of our online booking, which we had already paid for with miles. They didn't know how to check for this either besides looking into a log-book and saying "I don't see anything". Their WiFi wasn't working so we couldn't call our provider to see what the issue was. It was late in the evening, so we decided to spend the night.

On the outside, this hotel does look very "majestic" and clean, but once we got into our room, it was a different story. The floor in the restroom was wet and the sink area was dirty. I had to wipe it down with soap and toilet paper. The shower head didn't have a hook, so you had to hold it yourself when you rinsed and then place it on the floor when you weren't using it. The water temperature and pressure changed every few minutes making showering a mission.

The waiters in the morning were friendly with your complimentary coffee and bread, but the rooms were not clean. We woke up the next day with bites all over us and little black animals crawling on our body... Bed Bugs!

The next morning, the WiFi issue hadn't been solved. So we decided to pay out of pocket and deal with it later. We were charged $60USD! Online it was advertised for $34. Had we known we were gonna be charged $60, then we would have gone to a much nicer hotel.

Only thing it had going for itself was location. Unless you are looking for a deal, do not stay here. Spend the money elsewhere without the bugs!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mspinkpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank adam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#49 of 77 in Casablanca
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#39 of 77 in Casablanca
123 reviews
2 mi away
Manzil Hotel
Manzil Hotel
#35 of 77 in Casablanca
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca
1.2 mi away
Ibis Casa Voyageurs
Ibis Casa Voyageurs
#14 of 77 in Casablanca
40 reviews
1 mi away
Le Trianon Luxury Hotel & Spa
Le Trianon Luxury Hotel & Spa
#48 of 77 in Casablanca
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Address: 57 Avenue Lalla Yacout | Quartier Liberté, Casablanca 20080, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 77 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range: $33 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Majestic Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing