We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical IBIS, service a bit rubbish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Casablanca City Center
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Casablanca
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Oh God, another boring stay in another boring IBIS. I fondly remember the days when your company would house you in a nice Sheraton, but nowadays IBIS-like places have sprouted like mushrooms and company accountants feel they represent good value.

This place is a typical IBIS - room a bit small and pokey, but bathroom quite nice. I loved the fact that you could open the window and get some fresh air - unusual for many modern hotels these days and pretty astonishing to find at an IBIS in my experience. Internet was free - slow but usable unless you wanted to watch YouTube or download very large files.

Colleague had a smoking room, but an ashtray was never provided.

I felt the check-in process was a bit lacking - the bored guy doing the check in handled the whole thing as if he were manning the till at McDonald's.

There's an OK bar where people can smoke, adjacent to a restaurant area. Dinner and breakfast weren't bad, though the service was a bit slow and confused. Tables were left in a dirty state for along time after people had finished their meals and the non-smoking eating area turned into a big ashtray later in the evening, with guests happily chain smoking all over the place. The atmosphere resembled a motorway service station.

Outside there are various taxis in varying states of decripitude ready to drive you around and the IBIS is fairly well placed to use as a base to visit businesses based in Casablanca itself.

Compared to the 'better' hotels in the area, it does offer good value, even if it is mind-numbingly dull. Emirates aircrew appear to stay in the Novotel right next door, so the bar there might be a lively place to visit in the evenings.

So, overall it's another IBIS and it does what is says on the tin - although a little more effort to greet guests and keep the food areas a bit cleaner and better served would be welcome.

Room Tip: I was facing the port, which is a big construction area - with the window closed, there were no prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redstar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 973 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked a room at the 7th floor of this IBIS hotel branch which seems quite new (there is another IBIS close to the Casa Voyageurs Train Station which is older as far as I heard).

As some of you may know, It is quite difficult to find decent mid range hotels in Casablanca. Hotels tend to be very expensive in Casablanca and there is no selection of Riad (as the old Medina is way too small). At first we were skeptical to book a room at this IBIS Hotel (mixed reviews), however we decided to give It a try, especially for the good location and for the price.

Finally we got what we expected for the price paid. Nothing fancy but the Hotel is quite well managed.

Good things to notice:
- Very good quality of sleep. Even if It is surrounded by avenues, the windows don't let the noise comes into the Rooms.
- Very good location, 1mn away from Casa Port train station, close to the old Medina, walking distance to the Hassan II Mosquee.
- Good Service overall, especially at the reception people were smiling and tried to help.
- Good TV channel selection.

Things to improve:
- Breakfast was not extraordinary, lack of choice
- The bathroom becomes wet after the first shower, and remains wet after. Bathrooms would need some more ventilation.

All in all I think we made a good choice to get a room at this IBIS Hotel. I wouldn't spend an entire week there, 2-3 days would be a max, but It is a good choice to explore Casablanca.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

5 minute walk from the Casa Port train station.. same train that travels from the airport (the journey is about 40 minutes), signage isn't that great. Good base for seeing the sights of Casablanca close to the Old Medina (beware of pickpockets) and walking distance to the great Hassan II mosque (i was advised against walking by myself by the local policeman but stayed close to other tourists and made sure i wasn't by myself the whole time). Once inside the hotel doors you could be at any Ibis hotel in the world, similar layout and rooms the same. The grey haired receptionist wasn't overly helpful, the younger gentleman was alot better. They have two computers in the reception/bar area where you can go on free to access the internet.. it is a moroccan keyboard so you will have to get the hang where the @ key is (younger receptionist helped on this occasion). The room had a double bed, flat screen tv, ibis size bathroom (on the small side but fits everything in), rain shower head was nice and great water pressure. Cleaned daily with fresh towels, luggage rack and open wardrobe with a few coathangers. I paid for the breakfast when i booked on the Ibis website (i think it worked out cheaper that way). Flavoured yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses, breads, croissants and pastries, boiled eggs, concentrate juice and tea/coffee, not a bad spread considering what i got in other parts of Morocco. Stayed for three nights and was a good hotel that fit my budget, i would recommend to others if they needed a clean, comfortable hotel in Casablanca in a good location. Quite a few restaurants within walking distance once you get to the main street, there was a good pizza place and there was a large supermarket about 15 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gl0balTraveller_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent only one night at Ibis City Center. It's a good place if you need to catch a plane early in the morning. The rooms are sufficiently big, the bathrooms arew nice. Everything is clean and convenient. True, it's a typical chain hotel but you get good value for what you pay. Try to get a room as high up as possible - you'll be rewarded with a fantastic view over the harbour!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid_Heide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdelkrim A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Arriving late at night in Casablanca without a reservation could be a problem for an European. First we were going to a traditional hotel, there was 4 stars at the entrance, but it was no true, so we go to another...here we are at a Ibis. For us was great! Very expensive too,as we pay at the reception, but if you booked first through travel agencies the price is good.The room was very clean and with all the comfort a traveler need(ventilation, large bathroom etc). The breakfast was very good,lot of choices. The location is good, there was secure parking for the car, so I say "Yes" for this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_michela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Arrived at late night by taking a cab from Casa Voyageurs (Train station) as at that time 23:00 , there is no connection to Casa Port Train station.
The location is excellent close to all main attractions even on foot is doable.
The staff was very helpful, internet available. Rooms are acceptable and normal low-medium "french" style.
The breakfast is very goo, as it includes some local breakfast items and up to 12:00 (more limited).
I recommend for "low" budget.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
1.2 mi away
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
MELLIBER Appart Hotel
#14 of 77 in Casablanca
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Toubkal
Best Western Hotel Toubkal
#27 of 77 in Casablanca
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Casablanca City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ibis Casablanca Nearshore
Ibis Casablanca Nearshore
#16 of 77 in Casablanca
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel les Saisons
Hotel les Saisons
#23 of 77 in Casablanca
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moroccan House Hotel Casablanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Casablanca City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Casablanca City Center

Address: Angle Zaid Ou Hmad | Rue Sidi Belyout, Casablanca 20190, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range: $60 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Casablanca City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city right beside the Port of Casablanca, the Ibis Casablanca City Center invites you to stay in one of our 266 rooms featuring satellite TV, heating, airconditioning and direct telephone to ensure your comfort. The Wok and Grill restaurant serves balanced, flavoursome cuisine with meals to suit every appetite. Sit back and relax in the modern and inviting surroundings of the hotel bar. The hotel also features two meeting rooms with conference equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Casablanca City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibis Moussafir Casablanca City Casablanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing