We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We have just returned from a fortnight in Morocco, staying at the Timoulay Hotel after having chosen it based on reviews and ratings on here. So were we happy…?

On the whole yes, it is a pleasant small scale hotel with helpful, friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. While most of the staff speak fairly good English, knowing a bit of French will certainly help as things like the menus are all in French without translations. From our experience the one place you really will need some French is the Hotel’s Spa, we both had a hammam (an experience!) and my wife also had two massages and we did find booking them hard work (with my wife’s rusty French as I’ve never studied it) and their booking system seemed a little chaotic, all three of our appointments didn’t seem to make it into the register, but in fairness they did all get honoured with no fuss.

We stayed half board but often also eat lunch at the hotel. Breakfast was a good continental offering with hot options being waffles, pancakes and eggs, but no full fry up but this wasn’t a problem for us. The evening meals weren’t all that I hoped though after having read reviews, it’s not that they were bad, but by the end of two weeks they were getting a little monotonous.

We were also glad that the hotel was set back from the actual beach front by about a block as on a few days during our visit the winds became fairly strong in the afternoon and on the beach front it was like being caught in a desert sandstorm! With the hotel being set back up the hill a little way you did notice the wind, but you didn’t get the sandstorm problems. Laying by the pool you hardly noticed what would have driven you in doors had you been on the beachfront.

All in all a good hotel, but it just lacked a “wow factor” that would have won it a 5/5 rating.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lui47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2009

We have just arrived back having spent a lovely week at the Timoulay. We were very lucky with the weather (mid-high 20's all week) but whatever the weather, the hotel would make your stay memorable. The staff are all extremely personable and always happy to help...the atmosphere in the hotel was very relaxed and cosy; there are only around 60 rooms so it never felt in any way crowded. The sunbathing/pool areas are very well maintained - it's a real sun trap and the walls protect you from any gusts of wind coming off of the Atlantic. The restaurant service is excellent - breakfast and dinner are largely self-service and there is a very wide selection of food to cater for all tastes. We would definitely recommend some of the local meat and fish dishes. The selection of desserts are something else and they are impossible to resist! The chef and waiting staff are always on hand to have a chat and answer any questions about the food. The only slight downside is the location - the surrounding area is fine (there is some building work in progress nearby, although noise was never an issue for us) but the hotel is quite a walk from the main town and souk areas. However, the orange petit taxis are available to take you around the central areas for around 15-20 dirhams. Agadir beach, which is around 4 miles long, can be reached in just 5 minutes down hill...however a leisurely walk to the new marina area will take you over an hour. The rooms are large and spotlessly clean and all have a private, spacious balcony, a nice place to sit and catch a bit of late afternoon sun. Overall, we couldn't fault the Timoulay and would love to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smithy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Delightful hotel, 5 minutes walk (for adults) from the beach - a longer hike into town but it is pleasant meandering along the beach front. or the petit taxis are always on hand - either request they have their taximeters working or set a price at the start. Very friendly and cheerful staff; excellent food. The Atlantic wind is not a problem around the pool. Mating ladybirds descend on the balconies in March - not in huge numbers and they're engrossed in their stuff anyway. First holiday for a long time where we have both totally switched off and relaxed. Great!
Agadir has not a great deal to offer historically post-earthquake but bargains in leather and jewellery are there to be haggled for and trips out are available. Some good eateries in town. Speaking French is an advantage but really not essential.
We'll certainly go back to the same hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie_H_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

This hotel really lives up to the crackin reviews it gets. Small in comparison to close by huge 'chain hotels' but so glad we didn't opt for one of those!! Rooms cleaned daily and always spotless. The selection of food available at breakfast and in the evening was excellent, even with myself being on a gluten free diet I never left the dining room feeling still hungry, (just had to look at the lovely desserts mind you, had to opt for the fruit there only)! Beach a 5 minute walk down the road thou got a good view of the sea from our room! The pool area was sheltered all round so even on the days it was windy it was still great for relaxing in the sun! The staff always greeted you and continually had a smile on their faces, they were so friendly! Alison, the Thomson Rep was really friendly also. Agadir itself is a bit of a work in progress but for anybody looking for a relaxing hotel, beach holiday I would recommend Hotel Timoulay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FifiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

Hotel Timoulay was a lovely hotel. It's very clean with a wonderfully helpful and attentive staff (who all speak English to some degree). They made our stay comfortable and memorable. We highly recommend this hotel as it is clean, modern with tasteful Moroccan accents, offers a very nice breakfast and they provided mint tea at check in - a nice surprise upon arrival since we were weary from traveling.

Two points of warning are that the hotel is located a bit farther from the beach than we expected. The description makes it sound much closer, but it is about a 10 minute walk to reach the beach itself. Also, since there is only a half shower door, the water has a tendency to spray all over the bathroom and we had to mop up the floor after every shower.

Overall, we had a terrific stay and highly recommend the hotel to anyone going to Agadir.

2  Thank smueller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

A small very friendly hotel on the outskirts of town. You can't wander out to local restaurants because there aren't any nearby, but the hotel food is so varied and good you don't need to. The weather wasn't warm enough for sunbathing or swimming, but then again it was February! The rooms are spacious with good sized balconies, ideal for sitting and reading! Entertainment most nights some very different, all good fun. Staff are the best we've come across anywhere, from checking in at reception to the restaurant and room service. Our one and only criticism is that drink prices are excessive, but there again Morocco is a Muslim country. Having said that cheap drink can be bought at the big Uniprix supermarket in the town centre. All in all an excellent hotel and we'd certainly stay there again if we return to Agadir,

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthYorksFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We put this excellent hotel to a hard test during our recent holiday. Agadir experienced its heaviest rainfall for 30 years - 6 days out of our 2weeks - everything from steady drizzle to torrential downpour with a violent thunderstorm thrown in - so we were very glad of our spacious, elegant, comfortable room with its efficient central heating and abundant hot water. The staff rose to the occasion with their usual good humour, appearing unasked with mops and buckets when the deluge began to creep under our door and admirably concealing their own delight in the welcome rain after 6 years of drought.

While we were away in Marrakech the chambermaid helpfully (but mistakenly) sent all our dirty washing to the laundry - £40 bill! When we explained that this was an error the bill was waived without quibble.

The Timoulay more than deserves its reputation and if we return to Agadir it's the only place we'll stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank weatherwax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
1.5 mi away
Kenzi Europa
Kenzi Europa
#12 of 79 in Agadir
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 79 in Agadir
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
2 mi away
Tildi Hotel & SPA
Tildi Hotel & SPA
#11 of 79 in Agadir
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir

Address: Cite Founty F6 Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agadir
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#3 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range: $69 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Timoulay Hotel is located in the popular spa resort of Agadir, Morocco. This design hotel offers free Wi-Fi, a spa and wellness centre and a large sea water swimming pool. Guest rooms at the Timoulay are spacious and have a terrace with a view of the hotel’s gardens, pool and the sea. All rooms are air-conditioned and have satellite TV. A full breakfast buffet is served daily at Restaurant Ayour, which also offers traditional and regional dishes. At the hotel’s spa, guests have access to a Hammam, sauna and fitness room. There is also a range of leisure activities close to the Timoulay, such as scuba diving and horse riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timoulay Hotel Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing