We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My sister in law and I have just spent the most relaxing week at this fabulous hotel. We had a ground floor room (A3005) which was very spacious with a huge terrace which held two sunbeds plus table and chairs and enjoyed the afternoon sun. The food was superb, with something to suit all tastes. Particular mention must be given to the omelette chef at breakfast who was great. However the greatest asset this hotel has are the wonderful staff. I was on two sticks following hip surgery only six weeks earlier, and the staff in all areas were so kind and helpfull, nothing was too much trouble. The Management have a very hands on approach and this really shows in the excellent customer service.
Both of us are well travelled and have stayed at many all inclusive resorts over the years. Without a doubt this is one of the best. Would we return - definately!!!!

Room Tip: A block gets the afternoon sun, but as it has a sea view it comes with a supplement. Well worth it!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HELEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,566)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,617 - 1,623 of 3,566 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We came here for our honeymoon, we advised them of this before we went and when we arrived there was a huge bunch of beautiful roses waiting (nice touch till husband got the bill for them)
The rooms are simple but adequate our ac broke down for 3 nights we kept complaining they said the hotel was full and nothing they could do, they sent maintence round each night around 1130 pm to see if it could be fixed. Finally we got another room in a better location but it was on the ground floor and the balcony doors were broken.
Entertainment team really tried there best some nights are great others not, the managers cocktail party was fun.
Food was good there was an Moroccan and Italian al la carte which we did not go to. There was always enough choice for me fresh seafood and meats. If you tip the service is much better as you would expect. Some of the bar staff were so great.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcoop88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

what a lovely hotel on arrival we were greeted by so many staff all wanting to please, we arrived at lunchtime after a long journey we had a lovely lunch then checked in all went smooth, I contacted the hotel prior to our trip with particular requests, the reception staff were aware and said they had given me what I requested, very personal I was really impressed. All the staff made us feel very welcome they all work really hard, the friendliest were the bar staff in particular Hisham he was great. Food was lovely plenty of choice the Moroccan restaurant was particularly good. All in all our holiday was all we hoped for and more thank you Tikida Dunas!

Room Tip: Go for top floors in block 5 the most amazing sea view and sunsets, or block 3 for pool/sea view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsblackandwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

After a 35 minute transfer, we arrived at the hotel to be greeted with drinks, canopies and a warm welcome. Check in was reasonably quick, but as our room wasn't ready, they asked us to go and have lunch and that it would be ready then. We went back an hour later and true to their word it was ready.
Room. The room was large and clean. We had two large wardrobes with hanging space on one side and shelves on the other. Two single beds pushed together !!!!! (Wish more hotels would cater with a double bed). I actually slept very well, so no complaints from me on the bed. There was a separate bathroom and toilet, and our room did have a bidet. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean every day, and the maid even left us flowers on the bed a couple of days.
Food. There was always something to choose from, for those who don't like to adventure much with food, there was always a roast meat, Chips and vegetables, as well as a good choice of Moroccan food. We never felt that anyone was expecting a tip, and when we did tip staff they seemed genuinely grateful. The restaurant did get very busy in the evening, especially at the weekend, when there seemed to be a large number of Moroccan family's there. We did struggle to get drinks on these nights, and although we were asked several times by different people, we ended up getting our own. We booked the Moroccan restaurant twice and really enjoyed it. The Italian was different again, we found that there was very little choice as they did not seem to fill up some of the dishes, and that left little to choose from. Both extra restaurant's are also self service, and we felt it would be a little bit nicer to have a menu and waiter service, and make it a little more a-la-carte.
Grounds. The pool area was spacious, with plenty of umbrellas for shade. The pools (3 in all, 2 freshwater and 1 saltwater) were very cold, but once you were brave enough to go in, it was lovely and a welcome chance to cool down. There is also an indoor pool, which we used once when it was raining!!!! It was ok but would probably benefit from a revamp soon. The gardens are very well kept.
As you walked out the back of the hotel, you could cross the promenade to the large sandy beach. Or you could just take a nice walk along the promenade. If you walked past the hotels (about 30 min walk). You come to some restaurants and a few little shops. There is a Pizza Hut and McDonald's there as well if you feel the need. They have a large ice cream shop which sold nearly every flavour of ice cream you could wish for. It cost about 5 dirhams (45p) per scoop, well worth a trip. We were stopped a couple of times by men trying to sell us things, but apart from one particular man, a polite no was good enough and they chatted to you about your holiday and local things and then wished you a good holiday.
The staff we could not praise enough. Every single member of staff was bright, cheerful and more than helpful. The entertainment team as in most hotels work long hours. But they were not pushy and would come round every day and just have a chat.
We paid for a sea view and it was worth the little bit extra.
Would we go back Yes

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scfc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have just spent the most relaxing week at the Riu Tikida Dunas in Agadir. Having been once before, it was just as we remembered it. The rooms are very big and are kept spotlessly clean. The food is excellent. So much choice even at lunchtimes. The staff are the most friendly and helpful you will find anywhere. The pool area is excellent. Alot of space and you are not cramped altogether. The gardens are very well kept. There is a big pond where frogs seem to reside. One evening on our way back to our room we found two or three of the staff trying to catch the frogs. We asked them why and what they were going to do with them. They told us that they were transferring them a little bit further away because some guests had complained about the noise. How sad is that?. We remembered the frogs from our last visit and they are amazing. We wouldn't hesitate in returning and in fact alot of English people seem to return time after time. If you want a really relaxing break you must try this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retireesandlovingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Riu Tikida Dunas: Arrived at Agadir on the 18th March on time from Manchester, our transfer took us approximately 35 minutes. We were greeted at the hotel with the traditional welcoming drink and finger snack. The check-in was quick and efficient, and our luggage was taken to our room by the porter.

Room: The room I found was a bit dated, and would certainly benefit from a facelift. Twin beds pushed together, along with a sofa, coffee table, small fridge. You may find that the TV will have no English speaking channel, just ask at reception and the will tune some news channels in for you. There is a security box that comes free of charge, not electronic and you will need to ask for a key from reception. There is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, neither is there a bidet in the bathroom. The maid kept the room spotless and changed the bed lined and towels each day, which was great, but yet she could not be bothered to put the bottles of water in the fridge? Being a wheelchair user I had asked for a wet-room facility, again I was told the hotel does not have such facilities. At least I had a ramp at the front and rear entrance to the room.

Dining Room: As in most Riu Hotels you would expect to find quality food and service in its dining room, you will not be disappointed at the Tikida Dunas. But saying that, this time Monday to Friday every was 1st Class, then Saturday and Sunday approx 100 locals came in and everything but the quality of the food changed. It seemed as if the influx of these locals changed the holiday atmosphere and impressed a certain amount of strain on the staff. Speaking to one or two of the dining room staff I got the impression they were glad to see them go. If you have one of your party celebrating a birthday/anniversary don’t forget to tell the head waiter, you will get a cake with candles and a bottle of champers and the staff will sing “Happy Birthday To You”

Swimming Pools: The hotel prides its self with huge manicured grounds in which there are situated 3 fair size swimming pools, none of which are heated. Whilst we were there towards the end of March shall we say that the water was quite refreshing when you first got in. As such there was plenty of room for you to swim around. As in most holiday hotels the early risers get up to reserve their sun bed by putting a towel on it, even though there is signs saying that this is not allowed. So if you want to guarantee a sun bed for your self set your alarm clock. There is no wheelchair access to the toilet facilities on pool side owing to the number of steps; You will need to use the lunch time restaurant or health spa. The are areas of the pool where the floor tile are missing.
There is also a nice indoor pool if there is a change in the weather, this water is warm, there are sun beds but they could do with a few more, there is also a changing booth that can be used. They do an aqua-aerobics class in this pool to suit all ages, and there is good easy access to the water.

Public Toilets: The public toilet are kept spotlessly clean, but what you will find is that there are a number of the cubicle doors that have either broken or no lock fitted to them. So be on you guard when you hear some one coming into your area, you may be receiving an unexpected guest.



Entertainment: The entertainment comes from two sectors, the Animation Team and a three piece Moroccan band that play most nights. The Animation Team work around the pool and on the beach during the day, and at the Founty Bar at night time where the put on a variety of shows throughout the week. The Moroccan band plays local music for people to get up and have a dance after a few drinks? Good selection of drinks at the bar which is backed up with good bar service, the drinks are of good quality not wishy/washy like I have had in some AI hotels.

Outside the Hotel: Outside the hotel you will find a promenade that separates you from the beach where there is a small roped off area with beds that belong to the hotel. If you walk to you right you can go for some distance right up to the marina where there are a number of designer boutiques where you can use you plastic. There are a few nice restaurants on route if you get a little hungry.

In Summary: This hotel has a lot to offer its clients in the way of quality product and service. Although it is spotlessly clean there are areas that look tired and in need of a facelift just to brighten it up. It is just small thing like the broken locks on the toilet doors, the walls in places that needed a coat of paint, broken tiles around the pool. Saying this I had a good time during my recent stay, and I will return in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hawkmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We returned from holiday at this hotel 2 days ago. I RETURNED WITH TEARS IN MY EYES AND BAGS UNDER MY EYES.
When we arrived room wasn't ready.we were waiting with our luggage on the outside terrace.after couple of hours we finally could pick up the keys! Rooms are not to 4* standard,even curtain in our room had small holes from bugs probably cause we found beetle and ants and best of the best COCKROACH in our bedroom.our friends had exactly same problem!so after couple days they changed our room where i plugged all the drains and holes in the walls so insect come come in!Isn't that sad?!It was meant to be our romantic get away!
Cleaners start early in the morning.In the whole of the hotel is tiled floor,so they are dragging all the furniture on that floor!no chance of having lay in as the noise of that cleaning process is really loud!i had to bang on the wall with my fists at 8.30am for her to realize she is noisy!not everyone on holiday wants to be up at that time.
Food was very repetitive but ok i guess.apart from ketchup tasting like fish. Lets put it that way you won't be hungry.
Pool outside is missing tiles,its really cold. Indoor pool is dirty but warm.
It is a lot French people there who can be really rude and at some point lots of Arab people as well who will give you looks of disagreement of what you wearing etc.That experience wasn't nice as i didn't go to that hotel so some Arab is not happy cause i hold my partners hand and drink alcohol,it was quiet off putting as it shouldn't happen in the resort!
If you decide to go to this hotel tip on the beginning before anyone does service otherwise you won't receive any service. Restaurant managers are waiting for tip when you entering the restaurant!isn't that strange?we always tip after dinner in UK!Do TIPPING!IF DON'T FORGET ABOUT HAVING NICE TABLE OR DRINKS ON THE TABLE.
We went with Thomson holiday and we were very disappointed!it is barely 2*holiday with quality of service and rooms they provided for us.we came tired and really annoyed from holiday and it shouldn't be like that!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 77 in Agadir
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas

Address: Chemin des Dunes B.P. 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#2 Family Hotel in Agadir
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#4 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range: $140 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Agadir * Separated from beach only by the beach front promenade * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the hotel's private beach * Main building and 2-story annexes * 50,000 m2 gardens * 1 km from downtown Agadir * 500 m to a supermarket and shops * 25 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Tikida Dunas Agadir
Tikida Dunas Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing