We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Tried Morocco instead of the usual Canary island holiday to experience something new. This hotel along with several others are situated right on the beach which is very large. The hotel has a private area which prevents any intrusion. We walked along the promenade to the small port, you do get asked and shown items to buy but a polite no thanks sees them move away.
The hotel is very good ,free wi if in the lobby but not elsewhere. Rooms are quite large,ask for a sea view, gardens are lovely and locals/staff are very friendly.
Food is okay, can always find something bit bland though. Good hotel if you want to experience Morocco, did the trip to Marrakesh, great fun, little intimidating and really is an eye opener, fantastic at night when the square opens up. Go up into one of the bars and you can look down and take photos. Nights are a little restricted and more hotel bound. Shows are put on but a bit low key. Worth a visit if you fancy trying something different.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coventry_EnglandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,566)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,638 - 1,644 of 3,566 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for a week at the beginning of March. Had a really good week. On arrival, we were handed welcome drinks and Moroccon biscuits. Check in was really quick and easy. Our luggage was transported to our room, while we sat and relaxed at the bar!

The hotel is lovely, plenty of space both inside and out and spotlessly clean. The lounges are very welcoming and the furniture is very comfy. Loved the paintings throughout the hotel.

The Staff were fantastic They were very hardworking and all so cheerful and couldn't do enough for you. The Managers were always available and attended the Welcome meeting to introduce themselves. I would like to say a big "Thank You" to you all to let you know that you are much appreciated.

The Bars and Bar Staff were great! Drinks were of a good quality and we never had to wait more than a couple of minutes to be served.

The food was very good and there was always plenty to chose from. Restaurant staff were always very cheerful and attentive. We used the Main restaurant most of the time but the a la carte was very good and had a lovely ambiance. The restaurant by the pool was very good providing snacks throughout the day.

The outdoor Pools were excellent (bit on the cold side but that didn't deter us!). Plenty of sun beds available and you could change your towels as often as you liked. The grounds and gardens are beautifully kept. The indoor pool was fine but could do with a bit of a makeover.

The spa is worth a visit, we had a 3 in 1 treatment which was half the price you would pay in London. Ask for Fatima, she is brilliant!

Rooms - we had a sea view in block 4. Plenty of space, separate WC which is always handy. Really good shower! Beds were a bit on the firm side as they have just brought all new mattresses but if you ask at Reception, Housekeeping will provide a mattress topper. Rooms were kept spotlessly clean. (No tea/coffee making facilities provided in the rooms so take a travel kettle if you can't do without.) Safes are provided free of charge but you will need to ask for a key from reception when you check in.

Entertainment Staff are great fun! They work very hard at entertaining everyone and are always cheerful. Well Done guys! and girls!

Directly outside the hotel is the beach and there is a nice promenade to walk along which leads up to a shopping area and Marina. The local vendors do come up to you but a polite no thank you is all that is needed if you do not wish to buy from them.

We did visit the Souk which was fun! Don't forget to barter! It is very safe and friendly.

The reps "Mikey" and "Mike" were always available and very helpful. Although we never had any reason to ask for their help it was nice to know that they were there if you needed them.

I would certainly return to this hotel and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper levels for a better view. We were in 4220 and we had a great view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyawayjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great time in Morocco, warm temperature in low to mid 20s, bit cloudy on couple of days but no rain except when we were leaving. Thank goodness I took no notice of the poor reviews just where did these people go. Hotel clean and bright with loverly staff from beginning to end of the holiday. Large spacious room and it was spotless, cleaned everyday. Food was good quality and plenty of selection at every meal time. Entertainment team happy and not at all pushy. Visit to Atlas Mountains is a must, dinner in the sun, on the terrace of the Cascade Hotel made the day.
The hotel had an offer on for a 3 for 1 massage (scrub, wrap and massage) well worth the 450d.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry681900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a great week in the middle of February. Temperature hit mid 20s at start of stay, dropping a few of degrees towards the end when the wind changed direction - be aware that when it comes from the north at this time of year it can feel quite cool and is very difficult to hide from around the pool area (plenty of spare sunbeds so the more creative tended to tip them on their sides to create makeshift wind-breaks). That apart, the outside areas are great, with huge pools and plenty of space around them.

The staff were generally excellent from start to finish; the only let-down being their failure to fix the electronic locking mechanism on the door of one of our rooms until the 3rd attempt on the same day - our occupants were less than amused at having to keep walking to and from reception to request assistance after being unable to get into the room on the last occasion at close to midnight. Given some of the reviews I've read about similar establishments elsewhere, a real bonus here was that they don't appear to be understaffing during tougher economic times - I can't think of a time when I had to wait for more than a minute for anything - front of house, restaurant or drinks.

The rooms were spacious and clean. We stayed in block 2, which is on the road side of the resort. However, we did hear any noise from traffic at any time. If you want a sea view, request one of the other blocks, where the majority have a sea or pool view.

The food was fine without being spectacular. After the first night in the main restaurant we booked into the Moroccan / Grill alternative for the next and stuck with it for the rest of our stay on the basis that (despite it also being a buffet) it is much more intimate, with a maximum capacity of little over a hundred and a great way to meet people, with most tables sitting eight (there are a few smaller tables for the less sociable). We enjoyed the Moroccan food, albeit it would feel less repetitive if they were to alternate between this and the grill on successive days rather than have cycles of 4 days of the former, followed by 3 of the latter. This restaurant needs to be booked - the suggestion is the day before, but during our stay the (excellent) restaurant manager also circulated the main restaurant during breakfast taking bookings for that evening.

We tried the Spa which we found to be good value in UK terms and a pleasant enough experience, albeit not exactly luxurious.

Outside the grounds, the beach was wide and (outside the hotel) clean - further along litter was a problem in places by the end of the day. The promenade is broad and fairly recently built, fronted by hotels for the first half mile towards town, then a few bars and restaurants, but no shops. Despite some comments on here, we had no problems with sellers - during a decent walk to the marina and back we tended to be approached no more than 3 or 4 times and as others have said, one polite but firm refusal was always sufficient. During our time there a lady staying at the Riu had her handbag snatched on the promenade by a couple on a motorbike but were told that this was a rare occurence and is something we've seen in Spain and Italy, so just take the usual, sensible precautions.

Overall, we had a great stay and considered the hotel to be great value for money. We will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chapelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Firstly I should say I stayed in November 2009, however I really wanted to write a review about this hotel as it was so fabulous.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, our room was directly facing the beach and very spacious (we had upgraded to sea view when booking which I would definitely reccommend). Although, rooms without a sea view had nice grassy areas in front and I expect were nice too.

We had a nice balcony where we would sit and watch the sunset. When we arrived our room was not ready which was a bit annoying, but gave us a chance to sit and have a drink for a bit and take in the surroundings. We were all inclusive and got given our bands straight away. Later on when we were settling in we had a knock at the door and it was one of the staff holding a complimentary bottle of chilled champagne with 2 glasses, I couldnt beleive it, that is what you call service, of course we hadnt asked for this but it seemed to us that they really went out of their way to make your holiday special, right from the start and we were both so touched by the gesture, truely wonderful. Totally forgot about our short wait for the room!!!

Even in November we had 30c every day, weather was perfect, although there were some big waves on the beach which meant I didnt go in, nor did many others apart from my lunatic fiance who did come back afterwards and say the current was 'pretty strong'!! The pools were very cool and you had to leap in, gently gently is not the way forward, but very refreshing all the same.There were lots of sunbeds free and we never had a problem finding a nice spot to lounge.

The food for me was absolutely great, lots of variety and availability throughout the day. The breakfast was great - you could even get doughnuts!! Amazing :) I ate so well at this hotel it was wonderful.

The animation team were brilliant and kept us amused with their funny plays and enthusiasm. There isnt much nightlife here though, certainly when we went anyway so if you are looking for a clubbing holiday this is not it. It didnt bother us although had we stayed longer than 7 days we would have looked for more of the night spots.

Agadir itself is up and coming, and it would be really interesting to go back now and see how it is. There was a beautiful newly built harbour area, really pretty, but not much in the way of restaurants etc at the time. But there were signs of progress when we went and the 15-20 min walk along the beach towards the harbour was a lovely stroll.

Overall all a wonderful break and a perfect hotel, honestly I think the best hotel I have ever stayed in and one day I can see the resort becoming extremely desirable and I wont be able to afford to go back!!... So go now!!! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brightgreyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having read through all the negative reviews (there seemed to be relatively few compared to the positive), I decided to book this hotel anyway, through Thompson, as a belated honeymoon for my husband and I.

Generally, I had a really positive experience of the hotel. We went for 10 days at the beginning of March 2013, and although it was a bit rainy and cold (although FAR warmer than UK so not too many complaints about that!) there was still plenty to do thanks to the entertainment team. My husband won the 'Mr Riu Tikida Dunas' competition for the week, and I had a hilarious time watching him dance like Michael Jackson and dress up as Shikira!

Once the sun came out, it was literally heaven. Getting a sun lounger wasn't a problem at all, so no 7am rushes with towels to reserve them! The out door pools were absolutely freezing, so didn't really spend too much time in them, only when I'd too a bit too much in the sun and needed a serious cooling off!

The rooms were pretty basic, I'd say more 3* than 4*. However, ours was perfectly clean and well kept by the maids. People complaining that their towels hadn't been replaced may not have realised you need to put them in the bath if you want them replacing otherwise they assume you'll use them again.

The food wasn't as bad as people made it out to be. I tended to avoid any meat that wasn't beef, as I do in pretty much all holiday hotels, purely because you have no idea where it's been left, and they didn't seem too hot on food hygiene. I didn't get ill at all really. I had a bit of a funny tummy after getting slightly burned, but that's all really. And you don't have to worry about drinking tap water as they leave you large bottles of water in your room daily.

The Founty Bar evening shows were quite entertaining, although their take on Irish Dancing was laughable. They had a tap dancer pretending to do Michael Flatly-esque moves while the rest of them did a very standard, un-irish routine inbetween. However, they did have a tradition Moroccan dance night with external performers that was very good.

By the end of the 10 days, it did start to feel like the entertainment team were harrassing us a little. My husband and I had made an effort to join in with a lot of activities, so they kept trying to push us to do others we just weren't interested in, like volley ball in the glaring midday sun. No thank you. They don't tend to take no for an answer, so we ended up agreeing to make them go away and then just not turning up to the activity. It was a little irritating.

The Thompson/First Choice reps, Mike and Mikey, were pretty scarce most of the time, and they didn't seem like the friendliest of people. We used Mike to book an excursion Camel riding (brilliant experience - I'd recommend that to anyone!) and it seemed like we were really causing an inconvenience which was a shame. But that's nothing to do with the hotel!

The range of drinks could have been a bit wider, and cocktails better quality (they were some ready made in a bottle type drink). But over all, as a first experience of all inclusive, I was pretty impressed, especially with afternoon pancakes, and would definitely look at going all inclusive next time too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SephyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

spent a week relaxing with no pressures
we had particularly windy & partially cloudy week so sun bathing was limited
very friendly & helpful staff
pools very child friendly
large bedrooms & bathrooms - big enough for families
dining rooms all buffet service
lunchtime food outside was excellent
main dining room had very large selection of good food
moroccan dining room more intimate & resonably authentic food.
italian food restaurant ok but not very italian
[some idiot people still seemed it necessary to reserve the sun beds before breakfast at 7 although plenty of them !]

Room Tip: sea view rooms worth the extra - some rooms can be a long walk from the main areas reception & d...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peanut1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 77 in Agadir
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas

Address: Chemin des Dunes B.P. 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#2 Family Hotel in Agadir
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#4 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range: $140 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Agadir * Separated from beach only by the beach front promenade * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the hotel's private beach * Main building and 2-story annexes * 50,000 m2 gardens * 1 km from downtown Agadir * 500 m to a supermarket and shops * 25 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Tikida Dunas Agadir
Tikida Dunas Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing