We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“May not be for the English”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“May not be for the English”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had booked this hotel but were "upgraded" to the next door supposedly 5* hotel. Luckily we had the best of both worlds I having full access to both hotels, Decameron had the better food, service and friendly staff, but the pool area was basic and all drinks except in the dining area were served in plastic glasses - never saw the rooms
Near 100% French when we stayed but they certainly enjoyed themselves and were friendly my basic "excusez-moi, je ne parle pas français" was invariably responded to in English

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DANIEL O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    467
    154
    45
    42
See reviews for
352
479
46
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was amazing and me and my boyfriend had the best holiday! We were in room 241 which had a view of the sea and a huge roof terrace that was great for having a drink in the evening. The room itself was great with a bedroom, living area with sofas and a modern bathroom. The only downside to the room is that it was quite dark and difficult if you are trying to do your makeup!

Moving into the food, this hotel was one of the best all inclusive hotels we have stayed at. For breakfast there was a selection of hot items such as omelettes, scrambled eggs and sausages and also items such as pancakes and waffles which were really delicious. The coffee from the coffee machine was also lovely. My only negative about breakfast was that the orange juice was a little bit strange and just tasted like water.

Lunch was also lovely and there was always a huge choice of salads, hot dishes like pasta and also fish and chicken. For dinner there was a different theme every night and we especially enjoyed the Moroccan and Asian nights. The restaurant staff are lovely and will quickly clear your plates and refill your wine. As part of the all inclusive deal you get a meal in the restaurant Cafe Del Mar next door. I would definitely recommended you don't miss out on this as you get a three course meal in a lovely seafront setting and the steak I had was one of the best I've tasted.

As for the drinks, there are a selection of branded soft drinks, tea and coffee and also lots of cocktails. Most of these are ready-mixed but I thought they were nice!

A part of the trip that made the holiday extra special for us is when we went to Marrakech. We were not going to do it as the price of the excursion was quite high. We were spared paying the high price however as one of the animation team told us we could exchange a night at our hotel for the Royal Decameron in Marrakech for free! So we did this and just paid for the coach which was £20 each return. Such a bargain! We left our luggage at the Tafoukt and when we arrived back we were even given the same room.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and IGNORE those who say that the British are ignored as this is not the case. We were treated like everyone else and this who say they weren't probably just didn't want to get involved. We also made some great friends on this holiday that made it even better! If you want a holiday with lovely weather in a great location with amazing food then this is the hotel for you!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

As soon as our party of 6 arrived we were told that the hotel was full and we would be staying next door in the Atlas. We weren't surprised by this as we had read the reviews. We filled out all forms at the Atlas and waited and waited two hours later we were informed that the Atlas was full and we wouldn't be staying there. Of we went back to the Decameron who said they were still full and we would be staying at the Atlas but to get some lunch before going back. We went back to the Atlas sat for another 3 hours to be told in no uncertain terms that we wouldn't be staying there as they wre full. Taking our cases back to the Decameron we then were told that now there were 3 suites available that we would be upgraded to as compensation 6 hours after we had arrived while being told that it wasn't our fault!! Two of the suites were very nice 622 & 623 with a huge shared balcony with chairs and tables and sun beds , bedroom and sitting room the bathroom wasn't finished as there were no tiles on the walls just plaster the other room 366 was more like a family suite.
The hotel is vey clean both internally and externally. The food was excellent
Most of the staff were very pleasant some of the bar staff being the exception. We are not big drinkers but the drinks weren't consistent a very nice white rum and coke then another that didn't taste as though it had any alcohol at all. The animation staff worked very hard although at times it felt like they were running a kids club for adults both during the day and in the evening.
The hotel guests were 95% French aged between 65 and 80
Did we enjoy our stay -- yes would we return -- no simply because every British person we spoke to which was about 12 during out two week stay had had a similar issue with no rooms available and we got the distinct feeling that anyone british wasn't welcome.




























The hotel was occupied during our stay with 95% French people between the ages of 65 & 80

Room Tip: Ask for room away from reception as it is very noisy because of the road on the front and the bar on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Arrived at Agadir after great flight with BA ..taxi to hotel ..all good
Sat down in reception and was then called over to a desk and a very helpful lady explained that as a problem from the booking system the hotel was overbooked and therefore we could not stay
Now ,,,I had read this from other people and was not at all surprised by this ..to be honest we took it all very well and within 30mins of arriving we were at our new hotel the Iberostar Bounty Beach ,,,and had the most wonderful week ,,another couple came with us and it seems to be a regular problem !!
So I think if you want to take a risk ..then go for it ..it all looked good and we could go back at anytime we wanted to use the facilities but we didn`t,,the Iberostar had everything we wanted and was bigger and geared up .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a seafront suite this location is amazing the room was clean however the sofabed in the lounge was hard but acceptable this is my only gripe about the room. Bathroom modern and clean.

Food amazing and lots of choice if you are veggie.

Pool huge no kids pool however just a kind of shallow end but this is still unsafe for young kids who cannot swim. My son spent the week in a life jacket playing around the edge and only fell in twice but thanks to the jacket all was ok. Just so families are aware and can come prepared.

Kids club staff lovely

Most of the animation etc is done in french but it didnt bother us by the end of the week he was saying 'and the three english guests also' lol but we made french friends around the pool who were lovely.

Has a private beach please be careful dont go out of the guarded area the guys told us not to we wanted a walk and were hassled badly by silver sellers one was mute and took my son by the hand it scared the daylights out of me but we felt safe as my friend knows the area well but maybe safer with a man in tow.

We paid roughly a hundred a day all inclusive for two adults and a child for a seaview suite and we got a bargain.

Would love to return someday esp as my son is older now and the pool would present no problems

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucaleyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were meant to stay at the Decameron but on our arrival we were informed we had to be moved. After our initial disappointment, the staff were helpful and gave us wristbands and reassured us that we were still able to enjoy the all-inclusive benefits of the Decameron, as well as our new hotel.

We visited the Decameron for dinner 3 times in the week that we stayed and were very pleased. The service was fantastic, the food was good and the restaurant had lovely views over the promenade and beach.

Although we did not experience all of the Decameron, it was a lovely place and we would consider there again should we return to Morocco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea210390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Tafoukt is located in a lovely position adjacent to the beach and promenade. We stayed in suite with a large double bedroom and lounge/2 singles in other room, side sea view. The room was always cleaned very well with fresh towels every day. The pool area is extremely noisy and very crowded, you need to get there early to get a sunbed and beware of people taking your towels (as happened to us on two occasions) Animation team all spoke french so we had no idea what was going on most of the time, with one very rude lady who deliberately blanked us on Casino night and would not give us any tokens to exchange. However that being said the Dancers were amazing with a fantastic lady called Kim who would let us know what was going on and also sorted out the Casino token issue.

The food was plentiful and very nice, all staff working in the restaurant were lovely with our waiter in the evening teaching us Arabic and always toping up our wine and childrens soft drinks, we did find the pool bar staff initially rude, pulling faces when we tried to order our drinks in French and serving the French before us (this did however change on the second week after my husband asked what the problem was!)

We also had to pay a local tax on arrival which we were not aware of and the safe was quite expensive. We met some lovely English families who really made the holiday, however one of our friends when they arrived were told that the hotel was full and were put in a substandard 3* hotel for 3 nights. We would return again but next time would go as a large family group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the restaurant, first floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshineandlollypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.1 mi away
Kenzi Europa
Kenzi Europa
#13 of 77 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Les Almohades Beach Resort Agadir
1.5 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.5 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#24 of 77 in Agadir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel

Property: Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel
Address: Boulevard du 20 Aout, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#9 Family Hotel in Agadir
#10 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Decameron Tafoukt Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing