We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Tikida Beach
Nearby Hotels
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$294
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
$198
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$136
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Palace Agadir(Agadir)(Great Value!)
$79
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Argana Hotel(Agadir)
$50
$28
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$151
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,990)
Filter reviews
1,990 results
Traveler rating
958
694
230
73
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
958
694
230
73
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish restaurantevening entertainmentmoroccan restaurantfrench guestsasked for a quiet roomby the bottleswim up barpaninispreferential treatmentbar staffemailed the hotelsea viewthomson reprelaxing holidayat lunchtimemain restaurantbelly dancer
Filter
Updating list...
758 - 763 of 1,990 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Decided to go for a week in January to avoid the rain. Transfer from airport took approx thirty five minutes was told that our rooms may not be ready but they would be after lunch.We had an email from Thomson before departure to say there was building work in the hotel next door and they would put in a request for us to be away from said work ,we were given room 256 overlooking the main road.All went well until it was time for bed !!.They have a bar called Zanzibar which was directly below our room,at 1. Am the noise was so bad my partner went to ask when will the noise finish,he was told 1.30 .At 2 pm it was still going on ,we again complained ,finally when that closed the noise from the nightclub took over which finished at 5.am!!! Please if you are planning to come here avoid rooms 251 to 259 at all cost if you want to sleep at night!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on front of hotel
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank oliverfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had an amazing holiday here over Christmas, the staff were incredible, very helpful and polite! The entertainment staff were also very good, loads of sports! The food was amazing, good variety and the Moroccan restaurant was fantastic! The Thomson Rep was the most helpful Rep I have ever had, checked up on us everyday and was just overall helpful! Would defiantly recommend, great value for money!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We checked in on 30th December for a well needed week of sunshine with good friends. Transfer from the airport was 30-40 minutes and on arrival the staff took care of your luggage and we were given a welcome drink. Check in easy with friendly staff in a very spacious reception area. The rooms were large, clean, all you needed including a sofa and balcony. The only down side is that all are twin beds and not double but beds very comfy.
There are plenty of sun loungers by the pool and on the private beach area and soon double sun loungers but it seems lots of people were "reserving" them with towels early in the day. However we didn't struggle on any day. I guess this would be different in high season.
Being all inclusive we didn't pay for drinks however if you tip your waiter on the first drink 50 dirrahms (approx £4) then he will find you even if you move as we did to bring your drinks all day and with a smile.
The main restaurant is buffet style and good food but as nice as it was, I think a week of it is enough. There are 3 dedicated restaurants you can book but one, the Italian, closes at 6pm. The other was a fish restaurant which we didn't try as it didn't look very popular. The other was Moroccan which we did. Being a set menu did restrict you but the food was very good and a relaxing atmosphere.
The main bar area serves as the entertainment venue each evening and is fine but if you didn't want that, there is room to sit in the reception area.
Lots of steps here - to the restaurant, pool, beach so not advisable if steps are an issue.
The hotel has a shop for essentials and souvenirs and a Spa (chargeable) which is extensive and relaxed.
Taxis are available outside if the hotel, agree your price first before you get in. We went to the main Souk and was clearly one the local people used too which is good.
Great weather after Christmas. The sea was freezing but the waves were amazing, watch out for the very strong under current.
Would I go again? Yes for sure.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank Wendysav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Went to this hotel over the new Year with friends and swapped the appalling UK weather for a chance of sunshine.

The hotel reception is nice and spacious and we were greeted with a welcome fruit drink and then immediately shown to our rooms by very friendly staff. The rooms are clean and spacious and all have twin beds which is OK but no choice of double and there is also a sofa in the room and a balcony. The location of your room may decide how well your holiday goes and if you have a choice of poolside or beach view then they are worth the extra. We did not choose this option and one group in our party had a pool view which was very nice and the other had a view of the opposite hotel which is undergoing remodelling. The view was not that great and luckily the workmen didn't start until 8.30 so it wasn't too disruptive but if you wanted to use the balcony it would not have been a very pleasant or relaxing experience. We were also lucky to be away from the nightclub and bar as he music was loud and did not finish until midnight or later.

The staff were excellent and if you gave a small tip (50dhms- about £3) then you would be served drinks all day and have no need to move from the beach, pool or hillside beds. They were also very attentive at dinner and tried to converse, especially if you tried your worst French!

The food was a good variety and it was good to be able to use the lunchtime restaurant overlooking the beach with the amazing waves crashing onto the beach. It was a shame that this was only used as the fish restaurant at night as it was hardly ever booked and so had no real atmosphere with only a few people in there.

The Moroccan restaurant was good in that the pace of the meal was very relaxed compared to the main self serve area but the meal was limited to a set menu so you need to check on the board in reception before you book to see if you like the menu on offer for that day.

The choices of food in the main restaurant were good and the food was fresher and a lot was cooked in front of you so was hot rather than lukewarm which was good. There were also a wide variety of areas so you could have a full 3 course meal if you wanted and the times of service were long enough to allow plenty of time.

The pool was a little bit cool but nothing compared to the sea and there is a very strong undercurrent on the beach so it is definitely not a place for the weaker swimmer. It is nice to sit on the private beach area, however, and watch the waves crash in. If you want a spot by the pool then I am afraid it is the usual rush with towels and if you are not an early riser then you will have to take the ones in the shade or go to the beach. Annoyingly, those with towels on are hardly occupied all day but the hillside was eventually a better find anyway.

There are some big sun lounge beds up on the hill overlooking the beach which nobody seemed to find and you could enjoy all the facilities of the hotel whilst watching the waves crash and having your drinks served and with nobody else in site.

The entertainment was 'interesting' but didn't really stop to see much of it - there is only so much agadoo and gangnam style a person can listen to! It takes place in the cascades bar which is no smoking which makes a nice change, the only trouble was, if you didn't want the entertainment then the quieter areas all allowed smoking.

Hidden gems- the room service was excellent and as it was New Year whilst we were there, a few extra touches were cone which made the holiday feel more special. All the rooms had chocolates put on the bed for that day and we were also invited to a champagne reception and given party hats, streamers and balloons etc to see in the New Year.

This is an ideal location for 7 days relaxation and if you book all inclusive can spend very little- even with a trip to the souk... Not sure if I would go for longer but this is not a reflection on the hotel but rather the lack of other options outside of the hotel... But maybe this is because it is the off season and a lot of renovation seemed to be happening both at the Marina and throughout Agadir?

Room Tip: Beach or pool view nearer the beach to avoid construction noise or the noise from the nightclub and bar area.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank petmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived on 30th Dec for a weeks holiday with our great friends.the sole intention was to relax.Flying with Thompson from Gatwick , we found the legroom poor but not unbearable for a short flight. Plane was full but was clean. Staff more preoccupied with flogging duty free etc. The cost of good to buy was extortionate. We endured a professional customs and baggage area and was soon on our way on a short 30 min transfer. Check in at the hotel was professional and welcoming with good information given along with a welcoming fruit drink. Our room was large. Separate toilet and bidet, bathroom with shower over bath, large mirror, hairdrier and shaver point. Water seemed hot at all times. The beds were large singles shoved together and individually made. They should at least be screwed together if need be. Pillows consulted of a large and small pillow each, which were quite thin. Quilt with nice soft sheets. We had a TV which was old and had two English channels. We had a sofa, a small fridge and a balcony with table and chairs. The rooms had a standard view showing the pool area. One thing we noticed in the room was that you needed the patio door wide open at night. We don't use air con but we needed to cool the room down. It was around 72 F in the day so possibly a hot uncomfortable room would occur in the summer heat. The hotel and grounds are actually quite compact. There are four floors, a main restaurant, an Italian, a Moroccan, a lunch and fish restaurant and two outdoors seating areas for food. It is a great shame that smoking is allowed in the outdoor areas, as it made eating unpleasant. The main restaurant was buffet style. The range of food was very good. With fresh produce well presented sling with chefs cooking to order. It wasn't crowded. You were shown to a table if you wanted. It was a shame that you didn't get the same staff serving wine etc to get a rapport. It must be said that the male staff were more helpful than the females. A word of advice , a small tip goes a long way. £4 would get you a waiter all day, bringing drinks. The drinks were good. Wine impressive as was the beer. Cocktails bordered between acceptable and not. Some days the alcohol was nearly on existent others ok. The Moroccan restaurant was ok. Service, without much of a smile was regimented and there was no time between courses. The food could have been simply transported from the buffet predominantly. Tagine food is great. We didn't use the Italian. The fish "speciality" was on in the evening. When we visited there were around three families in a massive area. It was devoid of atmosphere, menu looked poor. The lunch area was excellent. With a glass front you could watch the sea as you ate. However if you ventured into the semi open area the smokers caused a nasty fog. At all times. There was one main bar at night , which also housed the entertainment. The entertainment was , in the main, standard stuff. Euro pop on a synthesiser, a Michael Jackson tribute, belly dancer, whirling dervish all ok nothing exceptional. This area was non smoking and was well attended.Going up the stairs was reception. This area was smoking. There were chain smokers masking the place full of stinking acrid smoke. This was also the only place wi fi could get connected. My advice. Rise early to download anything or check emails. Any other time the speed was poor. This should be dealt with, even if more routers were used allowing the non smoking area to be used. The pool was fine. It wasn't used much. It was well over six go it deep over over half of it so it could be crowded in Summer. The were ample sun beds , and double bed areas which were nice. Some of our. German and French friends used the old beach towel trick very early indeed. Beware. They didn't even use the beds. There were no staff about to find you beds if they were mainly taken. We found a lovely spot overlooking the sea on the grassy mound areas. There were any array of sports such as boules and tennis available. What was nice was the amount of friendly security around all entrances. They kept the hawkers away. The beach is across a small promenade. It is very long and wide when the tide is out. The beach is clean. The sea was cold , being the Atlantic but was seaweed and rubbish free. However if you have children beware of the undercurrent and strong tides. I'm a big guy and the receding tide took me off my feet. The are big waves and so care must be taken. It is not a beach to allow small children to go in on their own. I think it is better to walk to a less strong tidal area. If you enjoy surfing or body boarding this us a good place. The hotel has a large disco which seemed noisy. Ask for a room away. From the front. It had Zanzibar a pay for drinks " nightclub" from the hotel you can walk to the marina, it's around 2 miles. The marina wasn't too interesting. Maybe it was the time of year. The is any array of shops and bars etc along the way. Other attractions include the Souk a manic market. It cost £5 each way for four people and he stayed to bring us home. The souk is an experience. With everything from pots and pans, clothing, fake goods, to livestock, tortoises or chameleons. Felt safe there. The only other thing we can report on is the spa at the intel. Massage was £30 but the masseur did not cover the breast area on women making them feel uncomfortable. The instructions for the spa were not in English and was hard to fathom. Now here is the thing. Four adults went on this trip. Yes we stayed all inclusive, but we still only spent £120 between us, with half in tips across a week. It's a great place to relax. Of special merit was the NYE cocktail party and the party itself. Champagne , party bags made it a really nice evening. So this is it.
1. Nice rooms, could get really hot
2. Food good no repetition in a week
3. Friendly staff, especially when tipped
4. Clean and tidy
5. Smoking areas too abundant
6. Poor wifi
7. If you are not. French or German be ready to have to seek advice.
8. Beware of the sea
9. Beware of the masseur
Overall recommended if you simply want to do nothing. Why pay four times as much to go to Caribbean with jet lag, when you could go to here. Thank you for a nice trip.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
7  Thank alansavill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews