We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would definitely return :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Beach
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We would definitely return :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were in need of a relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we got. The resort was better than we expected and a wonderful surprise. It was very clean and welcoming and given the time of year we picked it was extremely peaceful--exactly what we needed!

We booked through Thomson as it was a great deal/offer and took care of everything. We booked the 2 hour massage through Thomson (about £26 each) and it was amazing!! It was off location from the resort but transfer to and from are included. A full 2 hours and we felt amazing after.

As for the resort-The staff overall are wonderful. Everyone is very pleasant and helpful. The only opportunity would be for them to work on the reception staff. You would think they would have the best people working there however, it was very hit and miss. Some nice and helpful and others who could care less about helping you.
Other than that everyone was always so respectful and professional.

The rooms were immaculate and cleaned every day to the same standard. There was always someone cleaning in the halls and throughout the resort making it all the much better. I read about the reviews of the beds not being queen/king and they just push two single twin beds together, however this is true and there is no alternative. Having traveled a lot though, I know this is more common than one thinks and not that big of a deal.

The food was amazing!! There is a wide range and selection in each of the buffets and options of having dinner served to you in 2 different restaurants (set menus). The selection changes slightly everyday which is great so you don't get bored of the same thing everyday. There is also themed meals or featured items which is lovely. A Spanish Paella lunch, BBQ lunch, Sushi etc.
I'm Coeliac (allergic to Gluten) and the head chef among others were very helpful. They would check on items and point out things for me. Lots of things for me to choose from.
The drinks were given out at plenty and majority of the bartenders were great. Some had a lower level of English however would still try their best to understand and make you happy. The only thing that could be improved would be the quality of the mixes for the cocktails. They were quite sugary and artificial tasting. So we tended to switch to mixers instead. Shame as I was really looking forward to Pina Coladas!

The entertainment staff were wonderful- Nehza, Gigi, Sofiane, etc and Moussa the pool boy! :) Since we were there at a time with mostly older golfers and couples (perfect for relaxing with no running and screaming kids around!) the activities were not as full or popular. So they would walk around encouraging people to get involved which was great!

We had plans to go out and do many things in the city and surrounding areas but never got to it as we just enjoyed our time relaxing at the resort. Definitely a good sign! :)

So, I recommend and already thinking of booking next year!

The beach was amazing with soft sand and the water although chilly was wonderful and clear. It was quite windy in the afternoons but it was expected this time of year.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view which was ok but I'm sure we had more peace and quiet than the pool faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    580
    189
    63
    32
See reviews for
286
941
59
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here for a week all inclusive. Perfectly adequate, not luxury but the great value price told me as much. The hotel has a 70s retro charm about it. Nice staff, helpful but not overbearing. Very clean place too.

Food was fine, if a bit repetitive, but I guess that's to be expected when staying at an all-in resort. Anyway I wasn't there for a gourmet adventure, just to soak up a bit of winter sun.

The spa was a welcome addition. There were Hamman scrubs and the like on offer, with experience therapists. Evening entertainment was fun, they make an effort and it actually becomes bearable with every free drink you consume.

The average age is, I'd hasten to guess, 55+ and sometimes it felt like I was staying in an old people's home! Obviously not complaining about the age of my fellow guest, but if you want to party then best stay somewhere else.

Wifi in the lobby areas was a bonus. Take a walk on the beach to the harbour area. Try some of the nearby restaurants if the hotel food gets boring. Enjoy the sun!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyerDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

5* all the way. Waiters like a little tip. Food amazing huge selection but still had the 5* character. I did not like agadir so did not like location. Indoor pool lovely. Only downside is not much entertainment in evening

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THEPOTTSLOPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We booked this hotel through Thomson's due to its availability, its past ratings, value for money and somewhere that would be relatively warm in November for our honeymoon. Our experience is covered here.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by the staff who offered mint tea. The check in was slick and the staff were very friendly, very organised and helpful. We had booked a standard room but had asked the travel agent to speak to the hotel to ask about a nice room as it is was our honeymoon. When we arrived at our room (411) or should I say suite, we were extremely delighted as it was enormous with two bathrooms, a lounge area and 2 walk in dressing areas. Combined with the amazing views over the swimming pool and the sea, this was an excellent start to our honeymoon.

The hotel was all inclusive and we had the ability to eat or drink from 6am through till around midnight. All staff we came across were extremely helpful and friendly and really wanted to help.

Dining - The main buffet restaurant had a plentiful supply and range of food for all main meals throughout the day. There is the usual occasional cold food that should be hot but you get that anywhere with a buffet arrangement so this is not a complaint. I suppose it is just to do with timings.

We tried both of the other two restaurants during our stay which you had to book a day in advance. The fish restaurant was unfortunately very disappointing. When we arrived there was only about 6 or 7 couples that had booked that night in a very large restaurant, which gave us some suspicions. The service was so quick it was unbelievable. No sooner had we finished our last mouthful of a course, the waiter would whip away the plate and bring out the next course. This for me was not a good experience unfortunately. The food was also very average on this occasion.

The other meal was in the traditional Moroccan restaurant and was very different. The service was appropriately timed, the food was delicious and the ambiance very nice. I can highly recommend this.

Evening entertainment - for me this was the only thing that stopped this hotel getting an excellent rating. If you are over 50 maybe even 60, then I think that you would love the entertainment. It was very much like being at Butlins. Lots of old songs. As for the professional acts. Well we saw a dancing poo! some amateur acrobats standing on each other and a Paul Daniels wannabe magician doing tricks that Mr Daniels himself would have been proud of 30 years ago. The highlight though was the guy that broke the world record for the amount of times a person can spin around in 15 minutes wearing a stupid outfit. Very very disappointing but this did not deter from the fact that we had a lovely time at this hotel and the staff should be commended on providing an excellent experience for their guests.

One thing to consider though is where your room is located. We were some way away from the night club at the front at the hotel and could hear it kick in at 11pm. It wasn't enough to stop our sleep but I could imagine that if you got a room close to it then it would be very noisy so I would recommend as others have to get a room towards the sea end of the hotel as this could be very disappointing for you and could ruin your holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid the nightclub which is at the front of the hotel. Try to get a suite on the 4th floor or a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Have just returned from a week at the Riu Tikida Beach hotel.We had a great holiday and the hotel was very nice,an excellent beachfront location.The rooms are very spacious and beds extremely comfortable.The food is good with plenty of choice for everyone.The weather started off a bit misty in the mornings but by the afternoon the sun was shining.We didn't go on any excursions but our friends went to Marrekesh.They left the hotel at 7am and had a full day visiting all the sights.They enjoyed it but they did say they were continually pestered for tips.They arrived back at midnight so a very long day.
No complaints about the hotel however they do seem to favour the French clientele,they save the sun beds (and sometimes those beds in prime positions stay empty all day !!)and the outside eating areas, the waiters reserve the tables for them so make sure you get down early for sun beds and reserve a nice outside area for lunch
Evening entertainment is ok,easy listening but the waiters are very attentive and remember your drinks.
We ventured out to the Souks but nothing really worth buying.
Would definitely recommend for a winter break

Room Tip: Request one away from the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My mother and I went to the Riu Tikida in November 2013. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with a mint tea and was quickly booked in.

Room - The room was large very clean and nicely decorated with a view of the sea and the promenade. The beds were two single beds which were not to soft but then again not hard, just right for a comfortable nights sleep. There was plenty of hanging space and plenty of coat hangers. A safe is also provided free of charge.The shower in the bathroom was powerful with hot water at all times and toiletries were restocked daily along with fresh towels (if required) and the toilet (which I like) was in a separate room along with the bidet. Dressing gowns were provided for each guest. The reception on the TV wasn't that great and only two British channels, but then at the end of the day who goes all that way just to watch the TV??

Food - there was a good choice of hot and cold food. Yes like some guests have said the hot food at breakfast time was cooked and then left to cool slightly under the heating lights and yes like most hotels the toaster was a little antiquated, very slow to toast and yes put the bread through about three times.. The orange juice in the morning appeared to be almost freshly squeezed and there was Cava available for those who fancied a 'Bucks Fizz' Saying that lunch times and evening meals there was plenty of choice, be it moroccon, English, salads and a fresh pasta station. The chef was in the restaurant most evenings helping with the serving and carving of meat. The choice of food was plentiful even the most fussiest would not have gone hungry.

Drink - there was a good choice of soft drinks, cocktails and most spirits.

Staff - the waiters and bar staff I could not fault they were polite, helpful and whilst there, we never had to ask for a drink because as soon as we walked into the bar they put their hand up to indicate that they would bring our drinks over. They were an asset to the hotel even to the point that when I fell ill, they did their best to suggest alternative drinks to make me feel better. The animation team I can't say that much about them, we didn't see them much and when we did they seem to gravitate towards the same people. From seeing what the animation team do in other countries I would have to say that they appeared to be a bit lax in their job.
Our rep Saad was very helpful at our welcome meeting and apart from that on the one occasion we spoke to him at the hotel didn't seem that interested in us. He may be very good at his job but does not to brush up a little on people skills, after all they are the customer and he is providing a service.

Entertainment - the evening entertainment got a little boring with a singer and pianist most evenings and then the wait for the show which was supposed to start at 09.30 pm but was always late. These involved professional acts brought in, some good some not so good. Then of course there was also the nightclub, not that we used it.


Excursions - We booked our trips prior to going out on the Thomson's. Website and found that due to exchange rates we saved around £6 each on the price. We did a day trip to Marrakesh, which is a very long day, but a lot is packed into it. The Bahia Palace is beautiful, the souk albeit the same everywhere you look, a little mind-blowing and the Market an experience in itself, Be ware of the snake charmer and the man with monkey who tries to con money out of you for taking photos, all you need to do is go to the café on the corner of the square, buy a drink to go onto the roof terrace, then zoom in and take those photo's for the price of a drink. One other word of advice is don't overeat at lunch because the evening meal comes just a little too soon. We also went on the 4 x 4 trip to the Atlas Mountains. Our guide was female, which is unusual in Agadir. She was great, very informative, friendly and approachable. The trip itself appeared a little hurried and lacked some of those photo opportunities that everyone wishes for but on a whole I would recommend the trip.

Overview - The hotel was good and if I went back to Agadir I would certainly return there. The beach linked to the hotel was lovely, plenty of beds and you don't get hassled by the locals. The sea was lovely and the area was clean. The promenade was really nice, and a lovely stroll to the Marina takes approx. 30 minutes. If you cut up by the side of McDonalds and cross the road you come to the free Bird Sanctuary. Yes it's smelly, yes the condition of the cages and surroundings isn't great. But if you have a spare 20 minutes or children it's worth a visit. There is also the Kasbah which you can see from the hotel, we took a taxi up the hill, who waited for us and took us back to the Marina. The driver charged us 150 dirhams, which I think was too much, so beware.

Weather - we went in November and found the weather to be cold and chilly some mornings until the sun came out about 11am then it was stayed warm again until around 4pm. Evenings you need a cardigan.

Room Tip: email prior to arriving for a room away from the nightclub. We did and had room 229 which although a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chipmumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a great time in Morocco, and this hotel is fabulous. The place itself is very clean and the staff are very, very, helpful and attentive. The pool area is lovely and the beachside restaurant has spectacular views. We went with Thomson holidays and our REP Saad was really helpful and knowledgeable.
There was entertainment every night and it was pretty good. I loved Marocco and would definitely go back again, especially to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Night club or it will be noisy. We were put at the other end of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 78 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#26 of 78 in Agadir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Beach

Property: Hotel Riu Tikida Beach
Address: Chemin des Dunes BP 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#5 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#11 Family Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Agadir* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the hotel's private beach* 4-story building* 12,000 garden* 1 km from downtown Agadir* 500 m to a supermarket and shops* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Beach Hotel
Riu Tikida Beach Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing