We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent week away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Beach
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent week away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Room: Excellent. The bed had an incredible effect of inducing comfort and a perfect nights sleep. Cleaned every day. Nice room location at opposite side of hotel to night club.
Food: Excellent and varied menus. Even me as a fussy eater had plenty to choose from. Yes Agadir is famed for fish, but there was plenty of meat and other dishes also.
Pool: Excellent.
Sunbeds by the pool: plenty to go around.
Beach: Hotel has its own section of beach with sun loungers. Again, very good. Only down side was having to go back to beach bar inside the hotel complex for drink etc.
Hotel bars / lobby: Excellent, with tentative waiters who constantly check to see you have sufficient drinks etc. The free wi fi is useful from the lobby area.
Trips: go with your tour operator to Marrakech and the Atlas Mountains. Well worth it, and very thought provoking.
All in all, a great hotel, that was welcoming, clean, and catered even for my fussy tastes. This hotel is now on my lists of my own nicknamed "British Consulates" abroad.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NormanLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    581
    190
    63
    32
See reviews for
287
943
59
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just returned from a two-week stay in this hotel which is set in a lovely location, being just off the main beach & just a 40 minute walk away from the centre of Agadir.

We have stayed in a Riu hotel before & have gone all inclusive on a number of holidays so feel we are in a good position to judge & review.

The staff are lovely – whether you are local, English or French they make an effort to speak to you, particularly the bar staff & restaurant waiters. We felt the animation team let the rest of the staff down though – compared to another hotel we’ve been to through the same hotel chain, they were simply not interested & came across as being quite lazy – unless of course you were in a large travelling group & they tried to get in with the crowd. The day-time entertainment was poor & the staff were reactive to people wanting to have games instead of proactively going out there & encouraging people. At night, they had external acts come in from 9pm-10.30pm ish. It begs the question what they do all day.

The quality & choices of the food were high. There is plenty of choice for the boring brits who don’t want to try new things such as pasta, pizza & chips, but where the chefs really came into their own was the abundance of seafood & local tagine dishes. Some of these really were fantastic. There was always a lot of choice for salads, fruit, deserts & ice-creams too. Wednesday lunchtimes they also cook extremely large paella’s outside – full of seafood which was a really nice treat & spectacle. The let-down on the food side though was that the main dining area was like a school canteen (busy, queue jumping, manners) & unfortunately we noticed a number of meal-times that certain dishes had just ran out. It was clear that there are not enough people behind the scenes preparing the food to cope with demand & people often had to queue up whilst other food already on their plate was left to get cold. When dishes were topped up, they were soon gone again.

We had read negative comments about the reception but had no issues at all. We had problems with the safe, air con & the Thomson’s rep during our stay & the reception were very helpful & pleasant at all times.

The single swimming pool was often crowded but there were plenty of sunbeds around the outside. Weather was good - misty some mornings for the first few hours but it quickly warmed up by late morning at the latest. Despite what others have said about the mist/weather, you should not let this put you off coming to the area - take advantage of the odd misty mornings & get out of the hotel.

Summing up, this is not a four star hotel & was somewhat of a let-down from what we had expected of Riu. A few extra staff would go a long way to remedying this. We had a nice stay in Morocco & this is a nice “base” to do some excursions but we wouldn’t return here if we went back to Agadir.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JasonandLynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Many highlights of our stay, the fantastic food the seafood dish was topped with lobsters!
The entertainment staff Hatim, Momo, Khalid, Talik, Sotiye, Nezha made us feel comfortable and welcome with archery, bowls, water exercises, evening entertainment.
The waiters worked so hard, the maid kept our room fantastic we were room 122.
In-fact I felt all the staff were very professional- except reception who did not always listen or give clear instructions .
Had some fun bartering , the guide to Marrakesh was knowledgeable and the overall experience is one I will remember always!

Room Tip: We had no children with us, but a good children club appeared to be available! Not many full sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

It's been so nice to look on here and be reminded of our time in Morocco and our stay at the Riu Tikida.
Our holiday was 10 days all inclusive in August 2012 and we came away with only one regret, we didn't book longer! We couldn't fault anything about this hotel, staf, service, food, drink, facilities, location were all excellent.
Our time here coincided with Ramadan, and although we were fully respectful of the locals and their traditions at this time we ourselves were not treated any different and were encouraged to be as normal.
All in all we couldn't recommend this place enough, and would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend visited the hotel early August of this year, while on the plane you are given a card to fill out which includes your name, age, occupation and reasons for visiting the country. Once inside the airport you have to hand over the card and receive a stamp in your passport this also applies on your departure. Outside the airport there are people willing to help you with your suitcases to your coach I would advise not letting them take your bags as they will expect a tip and will be quite insistent on it. The transfer time is around 25 minutes and upon arrival we were greeted with a non alcoholic cocktail, we told we could visit our room or go down to the buffet we chose the buffet.

There are 3 restaurants to choose from at Tikida Beach the main buffet which has a wide selection of food including breakfast and main meal we found ourselves visiting most nights as every night there is something different, the food mainly consists of lamb tagines, beefs, fish and other meats. The fish restaurant was a welcome change which we had to book at the main reception before 12 midday here you have a selection of two menus and you receive top class service while dining. The Moroccan restaurant did not appeal to us but from what we saw it looked ok the lighting is dark and you have to dine as a traditional Moroccan family with other couples or families with you. Lunch is served in the fish restaurant as a buffet and outside is a Italian lunch buffet which was nice.

The hotel website does state that men need to wear trousers to the restaurants, for anyone unsure of this the hotel does not put this in effect for any restaurants, I took trousers just in case but there was no issue.

The pool facilities were brilliant I couldn't fault them at all. There are two pool bars one was a swim up pool bar which you walk up to from the rear. The entertainment staff extremely friendly and will joke around and always remember a face, they offer a wide range of activities such as water polo, archery, volley ball, yoga and aqua aerobics. The staff are not persistent which I believe is a good thing if you want to be left alone to relax and simple "no thank you" and they will leave you alone.

In the evening we had a choice of the Zanzibar lounge bar or the main bar just beneath the reception we visited the main bar every night as the staff are extremely friendly and will continually ask if you would like another drink. They will remember your drink, we didn't have to move at all.

The reception area is huge with plenty of seats and free wi fi. Saad the rep was always willing to help people out with any questions or trips that people would like to book up. We didn't go on any trips but there is a long list of places to visit and things to do such as 4x4 jeep trips, camel rides, Marrakesh and a trip up the mountain with the text that translates to "God King and Country".

Overall We had a brilliant time our room was big with a balcony over looking the sea the only down points to this hotel are that the food can become boring towards the end of your holiday and the waiters can tend to favor the french but its not much of a problem.

4 stars from me and would definitely visit again in the future :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jackus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I arrived home on the early hours of the 12th august 2013 after spending 11 nights here.
When we arrived our first day it took the hotel 3 hours to get our room ready and the woman receptionists were terrible apart from one woman as they do not give you hardly any help and guidance, although the men are very helpful.
Out of 11 days we got maybe 5 sunny ones which were extremely hot but the others were colder than England and so misty it was unbelievable.
Our rooms were fantastic and could not fault them, the maids done a great job and also make little decorations on the bed which were nice and replaced your 2 waters everyday.

Our of 11 nights we ate at pizza hut and mcdonalds because we thought the food was a disgrace, the buffet covered with flys and most looked stale and tasted even worse, i have been home 2 days and i still can not eat proper due to an extremely upset stomach which i will have to attend the doctors about and i have no doubt it was the food in the hotel as i spent the last 3 days very ill so trust me on this when i say the food is no where near a 4 star standard not a chance!
When it came to the night time the entertainment was ok but is the same thing after 7 nights so staying for 2 weeks meant the same week was repeated, then you get stuck with a moroccan midget trying to sing frank sinatra which was funny but boring after 2 nights.
All in all i would say to have a good time in morocco the night life is pretty awful, you need to make the most of the day time excersions/trips as these were excellent and easy to book through the thomson rep Saad, recommended would be the dirt buggying, fantasia dinner show, the spa in the hotel is outstanding, agadir experience but we did not get to attend this because of the ramadam feast so we were refunded, and also you might see these sort of segway scooters going up and down the beach which are great fun.
The marina is about an hours walk from the hotel right down the promonard but is so deceiving with all the lights as there is only about 3 shops and a lovely ice cream shop but that is it.
This hotel is no were near a 4 star hotel, maybe for looks but quality is more a 2 star b&b for food and other qualities.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyHefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

On arrival at Agidir airport the passport control was very slow.The drive to the hotel was about 30 minutes. Checking in at the hotel was a bit manic, but we were offered a meal in the buffet area.
The hotel is set in lovely grounds and is right on the beach. There are two restaurants, one for lunch and one for evening, plus two speciality restaurants, Moroccan and seaford. The main buffet resturant had a huge choice of food at breakfast and in the evening. There were limited tables and chairs outside and can unfortunately be reserved by large groups. Advice is to get there early if you want to eat outside.
Hot tip.. Look out for the sparkling wine at breakfast, by the orange juice.. Not highly advertised!!!
The Moroccan speciality was excellent, often sharing with other guests which was a good way of getting to know people. The ambiance was lovely and had a traditional feel to it. The seafood speciality was a little disappointing as it was held in a large canteen and had no atmosphere. There was no limit to the amount of visits per week.
Our room was spacious and there was always hot running water and always air conditioning.
The service around the pool and restaurant was excellent and regular tips made it even better.
The entertainment team were very enthusiastic and beach volley ball, water aerobics and water polo were god fun and again a good opportunity to meet people.
Outside the hotel there are two taxis, orange and white. The orange ones are cheaper, but only take three people. It's worth bartering with the white taxis.
During our stay the pool showers did not work, which was unhygienic. The jacuzzi also was not working during our two week. This was brought to the attention of the manager by e-mail, however no response was received. The pool was also not always open at 9am due to the cleaner not attending on time!
There are plenty of sun beds, however, to obtain the "cabana" type, you had to get up at stupid o'clock!!
The waiters provided a great service and were very friendly. Whilst there we were celebrating a special occasion and although couldn't purchase sparkling wine, one on the waiters decorated our table outside with flowers, obtained a bottle of sparkling wine. He did get a good tip!!!!
On the day of our departure we checked out at 8.00am and booked a courtesy room for the end of the day. Unfortunately this turned out to be a shower room by the fitness centre with no power points. It was very unsatisfactory and was not what was expected from a Thomson holiday. It was said that the hotel was fully booked and there very several un satisfied customers
Agidir airport on departure is not good. It is very small, hot and it took 3 people at the exchange to change money for one person at a time. Very frustrating.
The weather in Agidir was very disappointing. We had 4 days sun out of 14, due to the sea mist

Room Tip: Chose a room away from the night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christopher l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 78 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.6 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#26 of 78 in Agadir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Beach

Property: Hotel Riu Tikida Beach
Address: Chemin des Dunes BP 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#5 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#11 Family Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Agadir* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the hotel's private beach* 4-story building* 12,000 garden* 1 km from downtown Agadir* 500 m to a supermarket and shops* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Beach Hotel
Riu Tikida Beach Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing