We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Beach
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels ever.”
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Just back from our second stay at thei hotel, having been 3 years ago previously.
Still rates at the top of our list of favourite hotels. This year the promenade, which was under construction 3 years ago was finished and what a bonus it was. It is a lovely way to walk into town, and one day we hired bicycles and cycled along it. So flat and safe, but wouldn't risk the roads !
The Animation team excelled themselves this year. There were activities on offer each day, but they didn't put any pressure on guests who obviously just wanted to relax. The team were great and I loved the water aerobics classes each day. ' Betty Boo ' and 'Kneesup' were very professional and with a keen sense of humour !
The quality and availability of food was excellent and the staff, without exception, were friendly and efficient. Small tips give regularily obviously helped, but the service was great anyway. We especially enjoyed eating in the seafood restaurant overlooking the beach. Lovely to watch the local families out for evening strolls along the promenade.
We didn't find the fact that the majority of guests were French in any way a problem. We even managed to communicate quite well with them !
We encountered one problem which was quickly resloved. We had requested a quiet room with a pool view. ( Having been aware that on our last stay the noise from the Club disturbed a few guests ). We arrived at the hotel at 11a.m. on a flight from Manchester and unfortunately our room wasn't ready till 2pm. This meant that we had to sit about in the clothes we had travelled in which were obviously more geared to British weather ! In future we will take swimwear in our hand luggage. The room we were then given was in a quiet part of the hotel, but the pool view we had requested turned out to be a close up view of the service area on the next hotel. Apart from being a very ugly side of an otherwise attractive hotel, the noise from delivery vans, laundry and kitchen entrances, was just totally unacceptable to us. We enjoy sitting on our balcony looking out over the pool, grounds and sea in the evenings.
We returned immediately to the Reception desk and told them that we weren't happy with this room. They were unable to move us that day, but the following morning a room was available to us which fully suited our requirements.
Once in a lovely room, our holiday was perfect.
Be warned about the HUGE queues at check in at Agadir airport. We were surprised to be taken to the airport 3 hours before our flight, but it soon became obvious why. We queued for 2 hours just to check in. After that no problems.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank di dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    616
    196
    67
    32
See reviews for
297
999
64
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norwich england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

This is common practice - but you will be moved for the second night. But in our case to an inferior room adjacent to a delivery bay so you are woken by machinhery/lorry noise early.The laissez - faire attitude of the receptoion staff is disappointing.
The hotel and facilities are excellent with other service and food first class but the Chirinquito restaurant is not large enough to cope with the number of guests.
Beach is superb but the whole holiday was spoiled by that first night.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank brundall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Just back from Hotel Riu Tikida Beach, stayed for one week and i wished i had booked two. A very relaxing time. Food is excellent with a huge variety ( we were all inclusive) and loads of it, in fact just continous eating breakfast, lunch and dinner and snacks in between really good.Pool is lovely with plenty of sunbeds and if you could not find one or two together just ask a memeber of staff and they are so willing to help they will lay ones out for you where ever you want to lay. Weather was lovely had a few scorchers and then slightly milder days, but that was nice not having to sit under umbrellas so you dont burn.
Room was excellent and very clean and the maid service brillant, clean towels and linen every day. rooms nice and big, we paid a little extra to have a sea view room and that was amazing. Did hear of horror stories of poor soles who were unlucky to get the rooms above the night club ( not good) so do try to avoid those and i do believe if you are put in one of those rooms, just ask to be moved and they do so the next day as this is a situation they are used to.
The staff are lovely helpful people, tipping is quite normal, around 10 - 20 of their monies is alot to them as they are so badly paid but that is pennies to us and is a lovely gesture to nice helpful people.
The entertainment crew !!! are fun nice people, who try very hard to involve you in activities eg archery, darts, aqua gym etc its all good fun.
I most certainly will be going back as soon as i can really had a great time that went very quickly.
Only down fall the hotel is very popular with the french, english are in a very small minority, but they leave you alone just say "bonjour " to everyone and you will be fine !!!!
totally recommend hotel
Julie and Warren

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaybird143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

The hotel Riu Tikida Beach, Agadir, Morocco is A nice hotel that meets the Riu standards. The rooms were spacious and airy. The food was very good with a choice to suit all tastes. The service from the staff was excellent. Ask for a room with a balcony sea view that also overlooks the pool . The beach is blue flag standard with sun beds and parasols. The only drawback is the sea mist in June to Sept. The small island disappears when the mist comes inland and the temperature drops 10-15 degrees with a cool breeze. The travel agents don’t advertise this but the Reps say its normal and the Moroccans’ go there to cool off. Two miles inland It is baking hot. Do go on the trip into the mountains. The best time to go is November to March. It a great winter break

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTWinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Just returned from a two week break at the Rui Tikida Beach hotel in Agadir Morocco.
It is well situated backing on to the new prom and beach,about 30 minutes walking takes you to the main town,you can walk to the centre either via the prom,or leave the front of the hotel,and walk on the streets..the town is worth a visit or two,but not that interesting.(this is my third visit to Agadir,so perhaps I am used to it!!)I stayed all inclusive
at the hotel, and found the food to be adequate,and fairly varied each day.There are several restaurants to choose from.
The rooms are of a good size and very clean,with very comfy beds,and soft dressing gowns.
The gardens are well kept and interesting.
There are a many beds around the pool area,and beach towels are provided in your room when you arrive.Some sun beds are double four poster types .BUT by 10am all beds were taken with towels EVERY DAY !!(I think the attendants were tipped to see to this...as every day the same people had the same beds)I found it better to use the hotel's private area on the beach,less noise,no kids and always a free bed...and there was a bar service there as well.
The entertainment bar is too small for the size of the hotel...and kids are allowed there until 10pm when the entertainment ends.Not a hotel or a resort suitable for kids,most of them appeared to be very very young..the majority under 10years.In fact the holiday was somewhat spoilt by the amount of young french children in the hotel .
Overall a leasant hotel,cleanand efficiently run

Room Tip: The rooms over the front entrance are a no no,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pib48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Spent a week with my wife for a week's R&R, mainly rest! Our first experience of all inclusive, but I had stayed in RIU hotels before and have had good experience. The part of Agadir where we were was kept very clean, there was high level security on the premanade. Alcoholic Drinks outside the hotel were expensive. The Hotel itself was very good, there seemed to be food available all the time. Most of the staff were freindly and obliging. Some were a liitle off hand. The guests were a mix of nationalities but mostly French - some seem to tip staff in advance. To be fair this only seemed to influence some but not most staff. Food was very good. Apart from the buffet restaurant there was a Moroccon & a Fish restaurant. Places need to be booked in advance but is included in the price. Watch the cocktails - the barmen are rather generous with alcohol! We had requested a quiet room based on previous reviews- it was mostly quiet but the walls are not sound proof. Overall definitely good value and a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BRB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Booked an all inclusive package for 7 nights with Thomson. My purpose was to chill and boy did I chill. The food is absolutely amazing. The variety of cuisine was of exceptionally high standard. Before I went to Morocco, I did not care much for the food. I have changed my mind. The service at the hotel is also exceptional. The rooms were comfortable.

The guests at the club are also very friendly.
When you book a room, get a room away from the Nightclub.

Try the body scrub at the Spa. Highly recommended.

Agadir reminded me of teh South of France. I cannot say enough about the quality of the food at the hotel.
I understand from regular visitors that jan - march is the best time to visit as teh heat is very bearable at this time.

If you go to the Souk, make sure you haggle. I used a policy of paying no more than 25% of the initial asking price.

My only regret, I wish I stayed for 15 days instead.

Nightlife - The Papagayo nightclub (very loud) is the place to be if you like computer generated style music. But be careful though - the drinks are really expensive (Red Bull £7) and quite a lot of the very attractive girls are women of the night!! The club starts buzzing from about 1:30 a.m. Before then , you can relax at Zanzibar - agin expect to pay London nightclub prices for drinks.

I will definitely be returning to this hotel.

PS: I heard that the food at the other hotels might not be so great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pendergrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.5 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#22 of 77 in Agadir
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Beach

Property: Hotel Riu Tikida Beach
Address: Chemin des Dunes BP 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#5 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#11 Family Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Agadir* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the hotel's private beach* 4-story building* 12,000 garden* 1 km from downtown Agadir* 500 m to a supermarket and shops* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Beach Hotel
Riu Tikida Beach Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing