We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have fun, dont be caught out”

Agadir Oufella Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.10*
and up
Agadir City Tour
Ranked #12 of 64 things to do in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Have fun, dont be caught out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

100 dirhams around £8 return by taxi. As soon as we got out of the taxi we were offered our photo with our camera by a camel, which soon became "better with wife on camel, even better with you also on camel" and then we were off down the road. No bartering had been had & I'm think this is going to cost us. At the end we had to pay for the camel ride and our photos which after bartering cost us 350 dirhams then we were picked up by a guide and shown around the ruins & there goes another 100dirhams. So overall a costly trip around £40 but looking back great fun and learnt a bit about the area. You could definitely get it cheaper if you are more aware as you arrive and barter before you do anything. A great trip all the same

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank redy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    102
    40
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“not so special except the view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

There is a nice panoramic road long the mountain which takes you to the top. Parking space available. Guides vendors and Moroccan people with camels for camel rides will overwhelm you pushing you to purchase their goods or services. The ruins are absolutely not worthwhile visiting, lot of garbage or bad odor of whoever did not use the public toilets.

The view though is very nice looking onto Agadir, the beaches and the ocean.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DutchmanFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungary
Level Contributor
217 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice view from the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you want to have an excellent view of the whole Agadir and the ocean you must go up there. There is not much left of the Oufella but as we saw last month they are beginning to restore it or only to explore the ruins?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beabrigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“On Top of the World”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

You won't truly see Agadir till you do Oufella. It was the original city....it is today a fort like structure with a pile of uninteresting rubble and dirt. However, perched high up on a tall mountain overlooking the Agadir, the city views are spectacular. See the port and it's fishing boats, the curved, endless coast line, the busy city, resorts, beaches and tiny cars on the main city road moving round like ants.

But at the site, they won't leave you alone. Peddlers, tour guides, and camel drivers pestered us for coins, even for a photo with the camel. There were at least ten hobbled camels waiting to ride tourists around the small car park. You can walk up the mountain with the many goats along the narrow winding road. Phewwww...Much prefer though to walk back down. Glad we did it and will do it again when we visit in August.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Abu Hamza Baraa... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great view over the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

agadir oufella means in berber the upper agadir .this is by the way the first settlement in agadir
it was build as a fortress against the invaders tribes ,and the foreign invader specially portuguese
you can take a taxi all the way to the top the cost including waiting will be about 10£ , visit the ruin had a great camel ride and take your time to enjoy the spectacular view over the gulf the marina and the city og agadir , fantastic

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank imad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agadir Oufella Ruins also viewed

Agadir, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Agadir, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 
Agadir, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
Agadir, Souss-Massa-Draa Region
 

Been to Agadir Oufella Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing