We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous receptionist and just bread for breakfast” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agadir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kamal
Save
You added Hotel Kamal to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Hassan II, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Agadir
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrendous receptionist and just bread for breakfast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is probably one of the most depressing hotels I have stayed in, I admit that we visited Agadir out of season (Nov 12) so it wasn't at full capacity, however the place had a very tired and unloved feel to it.
We parked our hired car outside the front of the hotel as the reception directed us to on arival, which was driven into one night - certainly not the hotels fault, but the receptionist couldn't have been less proactive in assisting, to the extent that she was extremely rude and unhelpful. If I managed the hotel the receptionist would be fired on the spot in the way she conducted herself, lying to our faces, stating that noone saw or hear the crash, when the night porter and receptionist had all the details. We were informed by another hotel guest that there is a hotel car park to the rear of the hotel.
On the plus side the room was clean. The bathroom needs a hook to hold the shower head, as it's difficult to wash your hair otherwise.
Breakfast - they couldn't have made less effort. Two sticks of stale french bread and a few solid pain du chocolat.
There are better located hotels closer to the waterfront.
The reception doesn't stock maps or any tourist information, so print off before you arrive
The wifi only works in reception - not in the rooms

Room Tip: Pool side with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidbHanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    110
    26
    18
    14
See reviews for
53
142
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel looks nice until you go up the stairs, the corridors are like walking through a hospital & the rooms are depressing. Very outdated hotel. The website & pictures are deceiving.
Breakfast, what breakfast? You are paying for a buffet of bread, butter, jam, tea & coffee- worst breakfast ever!!! They have extras that you have to pay for, but there are far better options outside the hotel.
The bed is like sleeping on a rock & the covers have been patched up where torn instead of being replaced.
You could be offered a room overlooking the pool or with a view that looks like the slums. Like most of the guest you may prefer to spend most of your time at the hotel in reception- one of the places they do have wifi.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegularTravelEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went to Agadir for a week in October. Hotel is very clean, friendly staff. Someone was burgled in the hotel while we were there. Had someone go into their room in the middle of the night and access their safe.

The pool side cafe is ok. Expensive, and one day i ordered chicken skewers, and some of the chicken wasn't fully cooked.

Whilst in Agadir i was very poorly, so stayed in the hotel for most of my stay. The cleaner was very helpful bringing fresh towels on a regular basis.

To be honest i wouldn't go back to Agadir, taxi drivers take advantage of tourists, taking you to their cousins shop, and their brothers restaurant. Certainly not how i want to spend my holiday.

But as i said, clean, cheap hotel. staff are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed a total of 5 days at hotel kamal agadir it was a nice hotel well located staff ok but on bus back to agadir found my backpacks sidepocket had been broken into. nothing taken but had to cancel my credit card. Had a good time in morrocco this was the only worry i had.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just returned from this hotel our eighth visit.it is spotless.friendly staff.and a lovely pool area ,contrary to the other report there has always been lovely hot water any time of day .the last review,i disagree with every word .you only need to read the other reports ,but as they say you always get one,i would be curious to know which other hotel they went to.for less price ,and as clean and friendly as the Kamal
. Thanks everyone for a great holiday judith Geoff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candymanLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I'll resume our experiences quickly (in order of importance):

The hotel is old and more expensive than any of the definitely better equipped new hotels in agadir. We changed to a better one paying about 2/3 of the price!

Room: No hot water and only a bathtub in the bath without an option to hold the shower head... that does not make foe a comfortable shower experience. The bath and room smelled not very good because of the humidity in the room.

Reception: I did an online reservation, which apparently had not been confirmed, so instead of the discount we had to pay the full price. Additionally, the night receptionist was not cooperative and couldn't help us find some place to have dinner...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ufcdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights. The staff were very friendly and offered a good informative service of all the local places. Hotel Kamal is perfectly located and the beach only a 10 minutes’ walk away. The swimming pool is probably the cleanest I have ever been. The sun beds are wiped down before you sit down every morning and the lovely relaxing pool area is spotless. A great place to stay and excellent value for money. Special thanks to Brahim from reception, Abdellah and Hamza from front bar nad pool bar.
All the best
Anna

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annakhomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.3 mi away
New Farah Hotel
New Farah Hotel
#37 of 78 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sindibad
Hotel Sindibad
#22 of 78 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Agadir
Ibis Agadir
#30 of 78 in Agadir
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Agadir
Ibis Budget Agadir
#25 of 78 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tildi Hotel & SPA
Tildi Hotel & SPA
#16 of 78 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Studiotel afoud
Studiotel afoud
#35 of 78 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamal

Property: Hotel Kamal
Address: Ave Hassan II, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Agadir
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#7 Family Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kamal 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Also Known As:
Kamal Hotel Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing