We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel close to beach”
Review of Hotel Kamal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kamal
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Luang Prabang
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel close to beach”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Agadir is a lovely seaside resort and the Kamal is very close to the beach and town.
We enjoyed the ease of the streets and the beautiful promedad walkway. The
Evenings were very safe for strolling and of coarse the food was great. The hotel has a
beautiful pool and is very well kept and clean.

Room Tip: Any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham5665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    112
    26
    18
    14
See reviews for
55
143
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Still can't believe how cheap this holiday was over all. Two weeks (peak Easter time for us here) was just under £1000 for 2 people, including flights from UK.

Bed and breakfast basis (there are plenty of restaurants near by serving good food). Room cleaned every day; clean sheets and towels every day. The room was comfortable and fine for the amount of time you spend in it. There is an en suite bathroom with shower and bath. Some rooms have balconies also. All rooms have tv and sockets for that all important travel kettle (ok, I'm sad; I like my tea on hols!).

Lunch is available and there is a snackbar by the pool open between 11 and 5pm, with a reasonably varied, reasonably priced lunch snack menu. The pool is a decent size and is very clean; cleaned daily. In fact the whole hotel is spotlessly clean and staff are very welcoming. We could not belief how quiet the place was during our 2 weeks there. On the 2nd floor, there is a huge balcony with a few sun loungers, which was unused the whole time we were there, except by us. Occasionally, we took lunch out with us and a bottle of wine; very pleasant!

Agadir is not the most attractive of places in the world but there are plenty of opportunities to see the local culture and a visit to the souk (market place) was an experience. Red taxis are the way to travel around here and are VERY cheap; all trips are metered (make sure you check they have put the metre on). Only use white taxis for great distances and agree prices first.

Hotel Kamal is fairly central to most things in Agadir. Short walking distance for shops (including a 'fixed price' shop so no haggling if you tire easily of this 'game'), papers (limited English ones if you want those), restaurants and bars etc. THere is a great restaurant a couple of doors away (the Scampi) with a fantastic menu for evening meals; very useful as the Hotel restaurant was closed in the evenings when we stayed. The beach is about 15 minutes walk (or less if you're in to speed walking). The beach, as you would expect on the coast there, is quite breezy, so pick your days there carefully or prepare to get sand blasted.

The weather was glorious, as it is almost all year round. Temperature charts state 20 - 23 degrees in April but it was much hotter than this many days we were there (nearer to 30), which with the breeze from the coast, was very pleasant.

All in all, if you want a cheap break for sun, warmth and almost constant blue skies, this is a good place to go; not quite as far as the Canary Islands, and in my opinion, much better weather. If you want more culture and more things to see, then you would possibly not enjoy it. There are a few places to visit, eg a trip up to the Kasbah is a must for the views. Our Rep said it was in walking distance (gees, she must like hiking long distances!); we took a red taxi, which waited while we took in the views (30 mins or so, agreed a price). There are camels up there so be prepared to say 'no' and sound like you mean you don't want to ride one, otherwise they can harrass you quite a bit. Also, don't accept 'helpful guidance' from anyone anywhere as they will charge you for their advice and 'tour' !!

Room Tip: Go to lastminute.com for a fantastic deal. Ask for a balcony room or room near the top (3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

we stayed at kamel end of march ,staff were friendly and helpful we went at a quiet time so wasnt so busy ,we stayed b&b and found breakfast bit boring but hotel clean and exellent location agadir was very pleasant evenings very chilly but plenty of sunshine through out the day
would def go again

Room Tip: get top floor over pool fantastic views of kasbah
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andie1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for a week in mid March to celebrate her birthday and we are so glad we chose the Kamal. The customer experience here is one of the best you'll find at any star rating of hotels. (Constantly, for the last 20 years I've travelled on business worldwide staying in 3 - 5 star hotels so I have a lot to compare to)

Everyone here seems interested in saying 'hello' and helping you have the type of holiday experience you personally want. The hotel is neat, very clean, with a boutique feel but without the boutique decor or prices.

Its conveniently located to everything and the rear of the hotel with its pool is a little oasis with bird song and palms dominating. If you want a change of restaurant to the ones on the promenade, try restaurant 'Scampi' a few doors along from the hotel; another great experience.

You really can't go wrong with this hotel and its no wonder people want to return.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies overlooking the pool and the bigger rooms downstairs lead onto the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We wanted somewhere to stay for one night having dropped our car and before flying home. Hotel Kamal is very convenient, being 5 mins walk from the car rental offices. Clean, large room and simple but wholesome breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful - a very good choice for our needs. For a longer stay it seemed fine, there being a pool and restaurant on site.

Room Tip: Our room (428) was on the back of the hotel and overlooked the pool - it was quiet and very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend 7 nights and I have to say it is the best hotel I have ever been!! The personal is great, it is very very clean and quiet, near to the beach and so on!! The rooms,reception,corridors,everything were so clean always and personal made our trip much much more graceful!! I recommend that hotel for everybody!

Room Tip: We stayed in room no. 201 and we had a great view to the famous mountain and to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ergi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is our second year in a row we have stayed in the Hotel Kamal and I think we enjoyed it even more this year. We stayed 20-27 March and the weather was perfect. Our room overlooked the pool (Room 234) as was perfect for us. I can't praise the staff enough, from the gentleman on reception was always so helpful and had so much patience, nothing was ever too much trouble; the gentleman who keeps the pool spotlessly clean and just seems to appear from nowhere with the sunbed matresses, he is always cleaning, the two waiters who are so professional and always know what you want without asking, to the lady who kept our room so spottlesly clean. Breakfasts are pretty basic, but OK for us, it would however be nice if a menu could be put on the tables to let people know what extras are on offer for breakfast. We ate in the restaurant one evening, and I can honestly say it was one of the tastiest meals we had during our visit, we ate grilled sole which was soooooooo good and for desert chocolate coated strawberries. Another good place we ate at was Las Palmiers which is just round the corner from the hotel, this was our second favourite and very reasoneably priced, their chicken tagine was the best we had in Agadir, another good place which is a favourite of ours is the Ibtisson which is in the old part of Agadir, very, very cheap and the food is good as are the staff. Our worst meal during our visit was at Queens. I had grill chicken, my husband grilled fish and I can honestly say it was awful and I would definitely not recommend it.
We love Agadir and will be back again next year--to the Hotel Kamal too of course. The hotel is very central and a short walk to the lovely sandy beach. If you visit Agadir then stay at the Hotel Kamal, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for the pool view rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MistyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.3 mi away
New Farah Hotel
New Farah Hotel
#42 of 77 in Agadir
108 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Agadir
Ibis Budget Agadir
#32 of 77 in Agadir
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Fleurie
Residence Fleurie
#21 of 77 in Agadir
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Littoral
Hotel Littoral
#40 of 77 in Agadir
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Studiotel afoud
Studiotel afoud
#38 of 77 in Agadir
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Agadir
Ibis Agadir
#33 of 77 in Agadir
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamal

Property: Hotel Kamal
Address: Avenue Hassan II, Agadir 80020, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#7 Family Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kamal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kamal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamal Hotel Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing