We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as everyone makes out!”
Review of Hotel Le Tivoli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Tivoli
Ranked #69 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Booked last minute as we left Marrakech, driving over the Atlas Mountains to spend a couple of nights in Agadir before heading up the coast.

The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful and we got a basic, but clean room
The bathroom has seen better days, but what do you expect for £30 a night.

Breakfast was fine. Coffee, juices, croissants, bread, cold 'meat', cheese, fruit salad etc

If you're the sort of person who like to spend all day in your hotel by the pool with your kids being entertained by the staff, I'd look for somewhere else, but if you're looking for a basic room to sleep and shower in after you've been on the beach all day and within walking distance to all the local restaurants, this place is perfectly fine

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaylord-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Tivoli, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy that you had a good stay in our hotel and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Tivoli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 918 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel needs some upgrading to do. There are some aspects to it we liked. Such as pool area and its landscaping. The hotel is aging, and is in need of major upgrading. And it seems there is new management and they are working on that. But as of this review, bathrooms needing to be redone, old fixtures, including cabinets falling apart. They need to put a small fridge in each room, none right now. Not even a garbage bin. Breakfast is same every day. pretty boring. Staff is nice and polite. They don't even have phones in rooms. So you cannot call and request anything or complain about anything. Have to walk you front desk to get anything. Its close location to the shore (walking distance) is another aspect of it I like about this hotel. Oh and the beds are the most uncomfortable ever. I think they are filled with stones or pebbles.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Tivoli, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your review as your comments are useful to us in order to know the things that need to be improved. We are pleased that you enjoyed aspects such as the pool and the service from our staff. As concerns the rooms and bathrooms, we have on-going interior maintenance work in place - mattresses have been replaced in most rooms, we apologise that you did not have new ones in your room, and telephones are being installed. We apologise that all was not in place when you visited us and we hope that you will visit the hotel again and see the improvements being made.
You should know that we take note of all the suggestions made by our clients and send them directly to our management team. Our team is available at any time to help if you have any more queries.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I've just returned after 1 week and I was very pleasantly surprised after reading all the historical slaggings off ! Such a friendly hotel with a young and enthusiastic group of entertainers making you very welcome and
the service from all the hotel staff was second to none.
The room was very spacious and clean and hot water never a problem. The hotel grounds were also pleasant and tidy. They did start to build a new poolside bar while I was there but 10 out of 10 for their efforts to minimise disruption.
Food was plentiful but a little limited in choice, but hey this is a third world country and don't forget that ! Like any all inclusive holiday it does get a little monotonous but you will certainly not starve.
So all in all an enjoyable experience. Thankyou le Tivoli for such a welcoming stay and if you travellers expect luxury then I suggest you pay for it and travel to a more affluent country because this lot have done a great job with their resources !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP-travelsfrequently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Tivoli, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your positive review. We have recently had various maintenance projects (and aimed to always minimise any disturbance to guests) and some re-organisation in our teams, in order to make the Tivoli experience even better and we are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

After some lovely hotels on our travels through southern Morocco, it was a shame to have to spend the last couple of nights at this hotel. It may have been the time of year, but the place was almost empty, except for a small group of Russians. The three large blocksare not very attractive, although our room, on the top floor, was adequate, with views over the Casino and to the distant coast. The whole place looked as if it needed a complete refurbishment. The food provided was poor, inadequate in quantity and of low quality. There were few staff in evidence too, who did not go out of their way to make you feel welcome. In all, a place to avoid.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Tivoli, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
We regret that your stay in our hotel was not up to your expectations. You should know that we take note of the comments of each of our clients, and we always pass them on to our management team.
During this Spring and Summer refurbishment and maintenance work took place (and we aimed to always minimise any disturbance to guests, but realise that this was difficult at times) and we have also made some changes to our team in the hotel, but regret that the service given when you stayed with us was not up to the standard we hope and aim to provide. With these changes now underway we hope that you are not deterred from considering the Tivoli for a stay in the future.
Thank you for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were expecting more of a "chain" feel to this place but it does manage to still feel local with typical architectural styles and loads of flowers etc. Staff were v friendly & helpful as we had quite a few questions for things to do in area. The hotel bar was nice and had good atmosphere most nights. Food generally what you'd expect from an all-inclusive but we did find the wine of a much higher standard than normally get in similar places.

Could tell that there was some building work that had recently finished as some bits were still being cleared away behind our building, but it all seemed pretty much sorted now. One of the lifts broke down at one point which kept us fit with the stairs, but was fixed after a couple of days and we could have used another one further down corridor.

The pool is big and was good to chill around. The balconies were really spacious too. We had a great holiday all in all & this is a safe bet. We were a couple but it's ideal for families.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RodneyUPlonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Tivoli, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you had a good stay in our hotel and that the ongoing maintenance work didn’t affect your holiday. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I've stayed in the hotel for almost 2 weeks. I must say it looks nothing like pictures because it is not horrific. We came 2 children and 2 adults and we booked a twin room we thought that would be two rooms but it turned out to be one room with 4 beds which is horrible! Turns out they overbooked alot of people. Don't eat the breakfast! The lunch and dinner is decent though, the bathrooms are very filthy! But the staff there are tremoudoulsly nice!!!!!!!! The animators there are super duper nice and I have got their numbers and we had lunch and dinner together also! The entertainment in the lobby is also excellent! But this hotel is currently going through construction and the owner is there a lot! So if you see him definitely speak to him because he is very helpful but definitely coming back next year!!!! LOVE THE ATMOSPERE OF THIS HOTEL


P

Room Tip: Get all inclusive! It will save you a lot of money and is way better then half board! Trust me!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Tivoli, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your review as your comments are useful to us in order to know the things that need to be improved. We are glad that your overall stay at the Tivoli was an enjoyable experience. We have a choice of rooms, suites which are large and very comfortable for 4 people and our standard rooms for 2 people with possibility 3rd person or 2 children, we apologise if you did not get the type of room you were expecting and shall try to ensure our room descriptions are clearer now. We did have some on-going maintenance work as well as changes in some of the teams through the summer but we tried to keep the disruption to a minimum and we hope that this was the case with your holiday. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the work of the animation team and the staff and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked this hotel based on some good reviews written in July. Two weeks after we booked bad reviews started to appear and we were really worried. However, we decided to take the risk.

On arrival we did have a big problem. We arrived at 12.05am and were tired and hungry. Before we were allowed to check in we had to pay 10% accommodation tax. This was the first we had heard of this. We pulled out our reservation confirmation to check for small print but there was nothing to advise us we still had more to pay. We had not been able to exchange currency at the airport as the exchange was closed and we had no money. So we asked if we could pay in the morning once we had spoken to our travel agent. They said no. Pay or get out! When we pleaded with them for the sake of our small child to let us check in until morning we were threatened with the police. Unfortunately our credit cards were not working (or the cashpoint was not) we are not sure which. We were totally screwed and no one cared! We were forced to beg money from the other guests at which point we were eventually allowed to check in. We thought this was really bad but why should they care they already had our money?

In frustration we started polling the other guests. No one else had been asked to pay this check in tax. The following day we eventually got to the bottom of it. Thomson had booked the accommodation through a lowcostbeds.com and this site tax their guests ln Morocco. Fair enough but why not warn us??? Why embarrass us on arrival? Also, why would a 4 star hotel be on a low cost website? BE WARNED take care who you book through if you want to stay here.

The following day when we saw the room in the light of day we were shocked. Our "sea view" was of concrete and a non-functioning fountain. We had no shower curtain in the bathroom and our drawers were stuffed with rubbish although the room itself was immaculate. We demaded a new room. We had to move our own luggage to the new room and the lifts were out of order. We carried our bags up 2 flights of stairs to this new room but the room was much better.

Breakfast was okay but nothing special. Buffet and mainly cold. Coffee was really good though. Things started to improve and we were starting to feel better until lunchtime. When we went to get lunch we were told we needed to pay for it. However we had booked on an all-inclusive basis. When we queried this they claimed to have no record of this and told us we needed to contact our agent. We had been trying to contact Thomson since the check-in issue but with no success. Fortunately, we were able to find our booking confirmation and this time they accepted their mistake.

Lunch was a choice of chicken, beef or vegetarian with rice or potato. There was occasional variety with pizza or meatballs (but the meatballs were a little uncooked in middle). Lots of cake and fruit for dessert.

In the end we enjoyed ourselves but it was really hard work to begin with. Restaurant staff were great as were the Animation Team. Staff on Reception could use some more people skills. There were no reps on site probably because they knew about all the problems.

A lot of people had reported ongoing construction at the hotel. We saw a little rubble out of one of the back windows and there was evidence of construction recently but nothing that disturbed us.

Lots of kids activities. Not much to do in the area though unless you mind a coach trip. There was a casino but not really our scene. Definitely a place for relaxation. Beach was good, clean and really busy.

I may go there again if they get their act together but would book with someone else to make sure the accommodation had been paid in full!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a little too distant from the sea to be worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann156780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Tivoli, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
We thank you for your review as your comments are useful to us in order to know the things that need to be improved. We regret that your experience with your booking agent caused you problems and that some aspects of your stay weren’t as expected. We equally take note of the lack of understanding at reception when you arrived concerning the payment of the local tax, apologise and shall ensure that the staff are more patient over such misunderstandings. Over the Summer maintenance work has continued (and we have tried hard to limit any disturbance to guests) and changes in some of the teams have been made to make the Tivoli experience even better and we hope that this will encourage you to stay with us again in the future. You should know that we take note of all the suggestions made by our clients and send them directly to our management team. Our team is available at any time to help if you have any more queries.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.7 mi away
Anezi Tower Hotel
Anezi Tower Hotel
#38 of 77 in Agadir
553 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Club Al Moggar
Hotel Club Al Moggar
#46 of 77 in Agadir
967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#27 of 77 in Agadir
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kenzi Europa
Kenzi Europa
#11 of 77 in Agadir
1,225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Al Madina
Ryad Mogador Al Madina
#58 of 77 in Agadir
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Tivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Tivoli

Address: Avenue 20 Aout | Secteur Touristique, Agadir 40055, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
Price Range: $42 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Tivoli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-storey Blue Sea Hotel Le Tivoli Agadir enjoys spectacular views of the surrounding area in Morocco, thanks to its position on a hilltop. Despite this luxurious seclusion, it is a mere 10-minute walk to the centre of Agadir, and 5 minutes to the spectacular beach, where visitors can immerse themselves in Moroccan culture and sunshine. The hotel even enjoys a private beach area where guests can relax in absolute comfort. The 280 guest rooms at Hotel Le Tivoli include 24 stunning suites and are all immaculately decorated in traditional Moroccan style. Every room is equipped with a king-sized bed and an en-suite bathroom, as well as complimentary toiletries to help residents relax in a little luxury. Furnished private balconies offer views of the hotel gardens, pool or ocean and fill the rooms with light. A sun terrace equipped with beds is available to guests wishing to lounge under a parasol in the warm days and there is a glistening swimming pool for cooling off or enjoying a relaxing swim. There is also a children's pool for plenty of aquatic fun. Activities at the hotel range from the ultimate in relaxation to those for fitness fanatics, with a full-service health spa offering a sauna, Hammam and a range of treatments. Hotel le Tivoli boasts a gym, as well as tennis, basketball and volleyball facilities. Please note: Tourist tax is not included; 1.80€ per person per night to be paid directly at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Tivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Tivoli Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing