We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget but Brilliant”
Review of Igoudar Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Igoudar Aparthotel
Ranked #54 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Budget but Brilliant”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I first went to the Igoudar Apartments in 2002 during the 9/11crisis. I had a fabulous holiday. First impressions were very good....I entered late at night into a lofty reception and was handed my keys promptly...I was shown up the steps past the pool to a small typically Moroccan apartment. It was clean and basic and colourful..it had beautiful shuttered windows overlooking the pool and was quiet dispite being nearly full. Next day I had a tasty typically Moroccan breakfast of bread and local honey and anything else I fancied from the fruit and cheese provided. The pool was clean and there were umbrellas around the pool as well as a mini restaurant.

Agadir itself is a pretty resort...the Igoudar is on the next street from the main strip of restaurants and bars. Ideally situated really as you are close but not too close to the nightime buzz....I travelled a lot during my first trip there...trips are available locally to Essaouira and Taroudant but you can actually get the local buses now far more cheaply and go independently...both places are beautiful. Its also possible to travel to Marrakesh by bus both on a tour and independently. I really enjoy Morocco and the people are wonderful...warm, friendly and being Muslim they are respectful of themselves and tourists...they don't tolerate fighting or arguing so it is a safe destination...it doesn't attract the mad party crowds. We have been to other destinations in Morocco however the real test is wheither I would go back...and we are going back to the Igoudar again in September...the resort has modernised a lot since we were last there as the new Marina is now built...so I am looking forward to seeing the changes...and will update after the trip.

If you want to budget a trip and spend money on the wonderful crafts and food...this is a great choice...purse friendly and gives value for the little it costs...if you want a luxurious holiday ...this is not it...but we had a great time there and had fun bantering and bartering with the stalls that visited on the premises a couple of times a week...where else would someone offer to buy you for a couple of camels...lol...

Room Tip: Its not high rise so all the rooms seemed good but there are steps so mobility for disabled might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Majella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    79
    37
    17
    22
See reviews for
56
53
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Really good little place to stay, it was cheap and cheerful, but more important it is within walking distance of all that Agadir has too offer.

Livkals review is pretty much spot on, including the music blaring outby the pool. My bugbare is it the same frickin cd played over and over and over and over and over and over.. Maybe someone should buy them a new cd?

The staff were very friendly and really helpful. If I was going back there I would certainly try and book into this site1st.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a basis aparthotel which also has a swimming pool -- as Agadir beach isn't that great, this was the reason why we booked to stay here.

The apartment rooms are large -- seperate twin bedded room with two wardrobes and a safe, lounge area (sleeps another two) with a table, four chairs and a fridge, kitchenette area which was stocked with pans, plates, cups, glasses and cutlery, and bathroom (with a seperate toilet inside this area). The furnishings need attention as they look tired and dated however everything worked. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed also.

The main issue with the room is a party of four were staying in the apartment is that the windows have a moveable board blind on a runner, so that if you want to shut out the light you move the blind along the runner in front of the window. The downside to this is that the runner was fitted and lay on top of the bed which reduced the sleeping area for the person occupying that bed - or the person would turn over in bed and hit the runner, scratching themselves etc.

The swimming pool was well appointed, with sun loungers around it. A pool attendant was on hand, and would move loungers and umbrella's for guests with a smile on his face -- The down side; music blaring from a speaker at a volume much higher than required for the size of the area. The pool area always looked clean, and the garbage bins were regularly emptied.

Reception was always manned, and the staff were very pleasant.

The Igoudar is within walking distance to the Beach, Independance Plaza plus the old town of Agadir. There are shops lining the street outside the entrance to the Igoudar, and restaurants are close by. We would stay again if returning to Agadir.

Room Tip: ask for a room toward the back of the hotel as you are then away from the swimminhg pool and also th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank livkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

stayed here last week very pleasant and staff very helpful,will definitely recommend this if you are just away for a place to put your head and catch the sun:) zak the pool guy is good at what he does,there was rooms being prepared for the season but was not an issue,the cleaning ladys are polite and come in everyday which I was very impressed with

Room Tip: we had studio and plenty of room for 4 people I personally found it quiet anywhere and I stayed in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wantage, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Not sure where to start because appearances can be deceptive and you shouldn't judge a book by it's cover and all that BUT I do have to start with where the hotel is located.

The hotel is right in between shops where they sell Jewellery/jackets/handbags etc etc etc. Be warned you will get hassled everytime you step outside of the hotel. Especially by the guy on the shop to the right when you come outside - he doesn't give up! Knowing your in the hotel they know they can badger you on a daily basis.

Anyway this review is on the hotel not the surroundings so here goes.......

Reception area is lovely and airy, smart and welcoming. Staff are brilliant, friendly, helpful. And this is staff from the reception guys down to the cleaners/poolstaff/porters/maintenance guys.

Lots of stairs all around the complex though so if you have difficulty walking I don't think this will be for you.

Apartment very basic - A little like Butlins 20 years ago in our country. Very dated and plugs falling off walls. Lights not working, hob not working even though we were self catering and needed these things. Maintenance quickly brought in a temporary hob that we could use so that helped :). Kettle is one you put on the hob which took forever to heat up and boil.

Quite spacious rooms though and the best thing about the apartment was the lovely white fridge that was brilliant at keeping things nice and cold. No complaints there. The room is basic and needs some tlc but the cleaners do a fantastic job keeping them as clean as possible. Everything cleaned daily to a high standard. It's just a shame the apartments aren't up to the same standard.

There is also a smell of sewerage around the complex, sometimes really bad and other times just a faint whiff. And it comes through into the toilet too at times. Shower was lovely even though it looked like it was on it's last legs. Very deep bath to step over into too which could be a problem if you have trouble with legs/kness/joints.

There is a huge area for sunloungers and a nice pool to keep cool. Kiddies pool seemed a tad deep I thought but maybe that's the Moroccan way.

Staff are amazing here, really friendly and helpful. Lovely guy on reception - forgot his name - Sorry. We didn't have to ask for our room number key as he quickly remembered. Little plus in my book :)

If you want a cheap and cheerful holiday with fabulous staff then look no further. If you require a bit more luxery with more mod cons then sadly this isn't for you, BUT if you could look beyond your mod cons then this hotel will suit you just for the sake of the staff.

I'm a little fickle over this hotel as to whether I would stay again or not, I really can't decide. Surely that can't be a bad thing?!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cjbunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This self catering hotel is is close to the beach, basic but comfortable and clean. Everything you need is supplied. The adequate apartments are cleaned daily with beds made and towels changed, unusual for self catering. The pool is cleaned daily and the reception is manned by pleasant staff 24/7. Wifi is not available but it can be accessed at the Tagadirt (a sister hotel across the road which has a pleasant reception area where you can sit - be careful if you're buying a drink the prices can be ridiculously high!). I'd recommend self catering at the Igoudar as many of the hotels in Agadir do not supply tea/coffee making and don't allow you to take anything in. We spoke to one couple who had moved into the Igoudar after a security guard at their hotel refused to allow them to take water to their room! Agadir has a great beach, lots of eating places and plenty to do in the evenings. There's plenty of car hire available and lots of excursions. As with everywhere in Morocco, check your prices before eating, taking taxis etc., and don't be afraid to bargain when buying anything

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathydougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The igoudour was a amazing clean friendly hotel the pool is lovely the apartment is so clean pretty i would recommend this hotel so much ,there is lots of beautiful sights and very friendly people i would rate this hotel 5stars because it is so welcoming lovely apartment and beautiful pool and activitys and 5 minutes away from the beach and 1 minute away from eatery's.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mall k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Littoral
Hotel Littoral
#40 of 77 in Agadir
51 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Agadir
Ibis Budget Agadir
#32 of 77 in Agadir
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Farah Hotel
New Farah Hotel
#42 of 77 in Agadir
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tagadirt Hotel
Tagadirt Hotel
#72 of 77 in Agadir
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Fleurie
Residence Fleurie
#19 of 77 in Agadir
105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sindibad
Hotel Sindibad
#18 of 77 in Agadir
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Igoudar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Igoudar Aparthotel

Property: Igoudar Aparthotel
Address: Bd 20 Aout, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Igoudar Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unsuitable for people with walking disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Igoudar Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Igoudar Aparthotel Hotel Agadir
Igoudar Aparthotel Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing