We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“More accidental than occidental” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Allegro Agador

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agadir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Occidental Allegro Agador
Ranked #63 of 78 Hotels in Agadir
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
“More accidental than occidental”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Bad experience all round.

Rooms were infested and dirty. Had to chase chambermaid for toilet roll.

Food was dreadful/cold/bland. Terrible to find empty table. Scrum to get fed.

We arrived with on a coach with people we never saw again till it was time to go home. It transpired that dozens had been struck down with deli belly. Suppose its ideal if you want to lose a stone in a week!

Water in pool was green.

Service at bar was poor unless you tipped.

Entertainment was total rubbish.

Purchased some spices on site. Got them home and they had worms in them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liamshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    36
    15
    24
    21
See reviews for
39
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
morocco,agador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

our stay at the hotel was fantastic - we went 2 twice in 1 month and going back to the same hotel again in december ... the hotel was always clean the staff are always nice and friendly the animation team were the best (kazo,ali g , walid and the rest ) me and my family become really close to all the staff and each time we go it just gets better. all the staff work really hard day in day out with children starting at a young age . i would advise this holiday to anyone - the shows on a night time were really funny great entertainment for everyone . the weather was brill the stores in the hotel had lovely gifts you could buy for family at home . overall we feel this is the best holiday we have EVER been on and we would go back to this hotel with all pleasure. dont listen to some of the reviews on here i feel it is unfair and a bunch of lies you would love this holiday as i did.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

this hotel is the worst i have ever stayed in,the rooms wouldn,t even get a 1* rate in my eyes,this is a honest coment, my wife was so upset with it we got a flight home after 2 days.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank postiemanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agadir hotels

Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

This was our 10th time back to this hotel, we go every year at the same time as a family. Every year we have seen it getting worse and worse, the food was cold and the same choice for lunch and dinner every single day. They closed the pool bar on quite a few nights because of bad weather which was supposed to be open till midnight due to bad weather (fair enough) but did not keep the bars open in reception, they closed at 11. I can not fault any of the staff because as usual they were all very very friendly.
We had already said as a family that we would probley not be returning back to this hotel next year. Once we had returned home i received my mobile phone bill for £175 which i never used once. The maid had been taking advantage of the fact that i used to leave my phone in the room on the side. Like i said i have been to this hotel many many times and never experienced anything like this before, in fact i used to stick up for the morrocians saying how honest they all were but i have found out a very expensive way that they are not.
This experience has surly made up our minds that we shall not be returning to this hotel and anyboby who is going DONT LEAVE YOUR MOBILE PHONE LAYING AROUND

  • Liked — the entertainment team were great and all the staff very friendly
  • Disliked — the food and chamber maid running up £175 bill on my mobile phone
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

i had a very pleasent and peaceful stay here the food was very nice and the hotel was very clean and had lots of nice flowers around the grounds the inside market was very pleasent and had some very nice stalls on it i think it was only on on a thursday but still it was pleasent thank you to all staff at the hotel who made my stay a happy time and i was very sad to leave it.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kylec91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

April 2007 was our first week long stay in the Occidental Carribean Village Agador and we were absolutely amazed by the amount of hardwork that goes into keeping everyone happy. We decided as soon as we arrived home that one week was not enough! So we booked for two weeks to go in April 2008.

We have just returned from yet another perfect holiday. The animation team are absolute stars. They start work at 9am and carry on through all day, all night untill sometimes 3am as I was told by the members of them team I became friendly with. Yes, the shows are mimed to a tape but there is not enough hours in the day for the team to learn so many lines and songs! There is a show every night of the week and the majority are hilarious sketch shows, which are not mimed, but are created by the animation team themselves and are so clever and funny. They can all speak at least three languages which i find astonishing and you will often find them having a chat with a guest or taking youngsters off to play mini golf or volleyball etc.

This year there was so much more to do, we went on two excursions out of the hotel: Essouaira and 4 x 4 Safari.

Essouaira is an amazing place and our guide was so knowledgable and was happy to answer any questions we might have had. Same with the 4 x4 , these aren't just some randomers picked up off the street and paid to vaguely describe a cactus. They DO know what they are talking about! Although there is alot of travelling involved I advise you to do as many excursions as you can! Last year we went to marrakech, a must go! Absolutely incredible! And again, the guide was so helpful and friendly.

The Moroccan culture maybe a shock to the system what with the hassling you with goods or having to haggle your way to a good price! But it's not as bad as you may think, a simple " No Thankyou" and they won't bother you again! There is no need for rudeness, as I heard some guests getting rude and cursing at the porter for carrying their luggage up the 3 flights of stairs! Everyone is so friendly and simply cannot do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay.

You could easily come to the complex and not need to spend one single dirham (the moroccon currency) however, it is recommended you give tips to the waiter, maid and porter. But they deserve it! everyone works so hard and are always smiling and happy to help.

We have just booked to go again next year.
An amazing holiday had by all.
Our party consisted of 3 adults ranging from the age of 40 - 68 and two teenagers - 13 and 16. and there was no point in the two weeks we were there where anyone of our party said they were bored or wanted to go home. There is something for EVERYONE!

There are a few facilities which you may like which you have to pay for such as: massages, henna tattoos, towel hire etc.

but they are not overpriced and you're on holiday! so treat yourself!

i sincerely hope this review has helped anybody contemplating on going to stay in the resort. i hope you enjoy your holiday! i know we did! and will do again in the future!

  • Liked — The hardworking staff, The food, the location and the all round friendliness.
  • Disliked — N/A - nothing to complain about at all.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fuzzylionfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JONI1234
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

My 2 week stay at agador, agadir was a complete nightmare.
The food was terrible and I had food poisoning by the second day, luckily the room was quite nice as that's where I spent the next 3 days. After recovering we mostly ate at pizza hut and mcdonalds (even though it was an all inclusive holiday and I don't really like fast food). The staff at the hotel were very rude and unhelpful, they reserved tables for people that tipped highly and yelled at others who tried to sit in them (even though you couldn't tell they were reserved) The eating hall was a complete free for all with no where near enough room to seat everyone. We made a trip into town in a taxi, which were told would be safe. The taxi driver refused to take us to the destination we asked for, instead taking us on a tour of his friends shops, when he eventually took us to the market he tripled the arranged price. At the local market we were greated by more rudeness. Although my boyfriend and I were respectful of local customs and were covered up (in jeans and long sleeves) locals covered their faces as they passed me, spat and shouted insults. I have never felt so uncomfortable. Unfortunately the hotel was not much better. The evening entertainment was awful, the highlight was a re-inactment of the lion king which involved people miming along to a tape!! Everyone wants you to buy things including the sellers that are allowed to hassle you by the pool, in the lobby and on the private beach, some of these sellers can also become rude and threatening. The all inclusive package was not as inclusive as many other holidays I have been on, most things were additional including water (which was said to be inclusive in the brochure), towles, locker, sports equipment (basketballs and tennis rackets). There were also hardly any sun loungers, we didn't even get a look in on one the whole stay. I really can not stress enough how awful this holiday was, back packing in Thailand was more luxurious!!!

  • Liked — The room was o.k
  • Disliked — rude staff, awful food, bad facilities, lack of entertainment
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JONI1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.2 mi away
Agador Tamlelt
Agador Tamlelt
#45 of 78 in Agadir
3.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tagadirt Hotel
Tagadirt Hotel
#68 of 78 in Agadir
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adrar
Hotel Adrar
#56 of 78 in Agadir
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Agadir
Hotel Royal Agadir
#61 of 78 in Agadir
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Agadir
Ibis Agadir
#30 of 78 in Agadir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#22 of 78 in Agadir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Allegro Agador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Allegro Agador

Property: Occidental Allegro Agador
Address: Boulevard du 20 Aout, Agadir 90000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 78 Hotels in Agadir
Number of rooms: 406
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Agador Agadir
Occidental Allegro Agador Hotel Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing