We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not 5 stars”
Review of Palais des Roses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palais des Roses
Ranked #22 of 79 Hotels in Agadir
Reviewed November 5, 2010

I was in that hotel 26-31 jctober 2010. From peoples, who live in Agadir we knew that this hotel have 4 dtars, coz they dont have license for alcoholю In travel agency we bought it as 5 stars.
Very old furniture and not clean towels create a bad impression about the management :-(
Near swimming pool there are so many gools. No any animations, but every evening in main restaraunt sing very nice man. Territory of the hotel very nice and green...

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadyashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

Although didnt like Agadir as a holiday location we really enjoyed this hotel. We were meant to stay at another hotel but our reservation was not put through so we were advised to stay at the Palais Des Roses. The room was lovely with a great view of the huge swimming pool and gardens. We could hear the frogs at night but just got used to them. The bathroom was lovely and cleaned to quite a good standard but their drain system is a bit smelly. The food in the restaurant was great especially the freshly cooked meats and the breakfasts were great. French is the main language in Morocco generally so you will feel very isolated if like us you don't know a word of French. Also beware of the local sales people (local men and children) around Agadir we got hassled alot whenever we went out of the hotel and I got very upset with the way they would keep shouting at us and try and sell us things. In the end we just stayed in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swinkle20033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

After having read all the bad reviews we were understandably concerned about what we would find when we got there - we were expecting rude staff, the whole place being over-run with frogs and ants, rotten rooms, being ripped off for drinks, a disgusting pool etc etc etc.
What a load of rubbish!!!
When we arrived, the staff could not have been friendlier. They helped us fill in our registration cards and then showed us to our suite, which was fantastic. We had a massive balcony (2 in fact) overlooking the sea and the room was very clean.
Our room overlooked the 'pond area' where all the frogs were, and yes you could hear them, but not when the balcony doors were closed, and they certainly didn't stop us from sleeping.
The pool area was great. There was no fighting for sunbeds in a morning (maybe because there were very fews Brits and Germans at the hotel). The pool itself was massive and cleaned daily - yes there were a few patches where the paint had come away, but nothing too bad. My kids spent most of the week in the pool and say it was the best they have ever seen.
The enertainment was pleasant if a little low key, but be honest, hotel entertainment is normally pretty poor at the best of times, so the fact the hotel only had a singer was no bad thing in my view.
It is true that they don't serve alcohol at the hotel, but again, this actually made for quite a pleasant ambience at the hotel and gave it a very relaxed feel.
Drinks prices were reasonable, as were the food prices. About £2 for a large bottle of water, the same for tea and coffee and about £5 for a pizza at the poolside restaurant.
The staff at reception, in the restaurants and by the pool were all very pleasant and courteous. We didn't meet one person who could be described as rude.
We were on a B&B basis, and whilst the selection at breakfast was basic, there was plenty to keep you going well into the afternoon. I am however glad I wasn't staying on a half board basis, as the restaurants in Agadir are generally of a very high standard, clean and extremely good value. The best is La Scala which is a 20 minute walk from the hotel - fantastic.
Maybe 5-stars is pushing it a bit, but it is certainly a good 4-star. We found it very difficult to fault anything and any little niggles we had are not even worth mentioning here.
Agadir itself is a very nice place. The beach is massive and the promenade is wide and very safe to walk down in the evenings.
The locals are pleasant and whilst they all want you to look in their shops, they are not pushy (unlike the Egyptians) and will leave you alone if you just walk past.To sum up - do not be afraid to go to this hotel. It is absolutely great. Expect a relaxing atmosphere. If you need a drink that badly, bring some with you or go into Agadir.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jclees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

thank you for your review

hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Palais Des Roses
==============
Nothing special. 3 star at most.

ENTERTAINMENT: Zero entertainment. Perhaps I was expecting a bit too much but the night we arrived it was one guy singing into a mic with a backing track and 3 people watching. There was a nightclub in the Sofitel next door but it didn't start until midnight and a tiny bottle of water was £5. Oh, and it was empty, not a soul in there.

ENGLISH GUESTS: Very few English guests - I counted 2 others.

POOL: The one good thing was the pool but as the weather was overcast most days the pool-side experience was a bit lacklustre.

OTHER: No internet PC for guests, only WiFi for your own laptops. No tennis courts, 1 hour massage 600 Dirham (almost £60) which is UK prices. Has it's own beach but it's a 3 mile walk to the happening beach. I asked the doorman how much a taxi to the town was, he replied 100 Dirham. I then asked a taxi driver outside who said 50 Dirham, implying the doorman of the Palais was doubling the price just to fetch the taxi for you, or he couldn't care less about seeing you right.

Because of the lack of things to do at the hotel, especially on overcast days, you have to venture out....

Agadir
==============
If you've ever been hassled in Dixons by a pushy salesman, then you are someway to understanding the experience. Now make the salesman 10 times pushier, make him stare at you, give him a foreign language, mark up the prices by 20 times, add some desparation to his demeanour and you are still nowhere near how bad the Moroccan tourist sector is once you are outside your hotel. I must have been wearing a t-shirt that said "I've just stepped off the boat".

AIRPORT: Your introduction to Morocco is queuing for an hour or two at passport control, after a 4 hour flight. 150 people to process at 5 minutes per person with just 4 tellers.

TAXIS: It's another battle of wills getting a taxi, unless you just accept the asking price AND say yes to the obligatory Marrakech trip which every taxi driver tries to sell you for 'a velly, velly good price'. And they don't take 'no' for an answer.

SHOPPING: So you've got some spending money, take a stroll into town. You won't get far before being hustled into every shop, selling mostly the same stuff at inflated prices. The idea is to haggle the price down, but it took me half an hour to buy a leather Gucci belt at the price I thought it would be in England, and it was of questionable quality (and origin). I disagree with the comment I read about it being a WIN WIN situation. It's a LOSE LOSE situation because I obviously paid too much for it (I lose) and because we Brits like fixed pricing we stop going to these places (they lose).

FOOD: We were all ill with the Jelly Belly, we think from freshly squeezed fruit juice in a restaurant, but not sure. The restaurants we visited on the 'Where to eat' list were OK, maybe not that authentic. Prices more or less the same as England.

FINAL THOUGHTS: If Agadir wants to take advantage of the Pound/Euro situation they have to run the resort more like in Spain or Portugal. They have to stop staring and they have to start fixing prices. If you could have only see the faces of the other passengers on the return plane you wouldn't book up this place for a holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bright-steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

the palais des roses is a brilliant hotel, lots of things to do their such as swimming in the wicked pool, chilling on the private beach and relaxing in the spa. The rooms are very nice and clean with huge an comfortable beds, breakfast is great and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaDboytraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Overall this hotel was a real disappointment.I've stayed in 5* hotels across the world and this definitely doesn't measure up.It's a poor 4* at best.Everything that you'd expect from a 5* was lacking.There was a very poor choice of food, the pool was dirty, general cleanliness and repair was poor and the staff were unhelpful and often rude.I would advise choosing another hotel.Of the ones we saw The Atlas and the Sofitel looked best.

The first thing to note about this hotel is that it's not central.It's right at the end of the strip which means a 20 - 30 minute walk to the restaurants and bars in the main part of town.The best way to walk is on the boardwalk by the beach at the back of the hotel as it's better lit and paved than the main road.

The hotel doesn't serve alcohol.At all.The hotel's website doesn't state this and in fact mentions a bar.Very misleading.There are a number of hotels beside it but they all require wristbands to enter and you won't be able to get in there for food or alcohol.The exception is the Sofitel to the right of the hotel, where you can get in.It's worth a look, even if you don't eat there.I've never seen a poorer choice of food in a 4* let alone a 5*.The breakfast buffet, to be fair, was above average.For lunch there was only a buffet.The hotel's website lists five restaurants.Don't be fooled.There's just one for lunch and a snack bar by the pool.The menu there is also very limited and it was closed for the first 6 days we were there.We never got a proper explanation for this. Service at the pool was pretty non existent.You really had to seek the staff out and then the service was slow and poor.Plastic cups for drinks, no napkins.Not 5*. For dinner there's the buffet (again) or a Mediterranean restaurant. The menu there was also very limited and over priced.No sign of a Moroccan restaurant which was mentioned on the site.

The service in the hotel was very much lacking. The toilet in our room was broken and we had to call reception four times to ask for it to be fixed.Each time we were told someone was on their way. Eventually someone turned up at 12, didn't apologize for the
problem and left the bathroom in a mess afterwards with water all over the floor.
The staff told us restaurants were open when they weren't, told us the spa was working and open when it wasn't, couldn't tell us when the poolside restaurant would be open, or why it was closed and didn't make much of an effort overall to make our stay a pleasant one.

The worst thing about the staff was the pool boys.If staff in a 5* hotel anywhere else behaved like that they would be out of a job.We were a group of three Irish girls in our thirties. They constantly harassed us and made us dread going out to the pool. They openly ogled us, made inappropriate comments to us, annoyed us by trying to talk to us all the time and even asked us out on dates (!). It was a complete nightmare. Every time we were changing by the pool they gathered around and watched! No matter how many times we told them we weren't interested they kept coming back. When they finally got the message they were openly rude and surly, throwing our towels at us and refusing to give us more towels when we asked.

The hotel itself is huge but in need of a facelift. Corridors need painting, there are lots of broken tiles by the pool and overall it looks tired and run down. The pool doesn't appear to be chlorinated and was full of seagulls every day. You don't really expect to swim in a bird bath at a 5* hotel.We saw the pool staff washing away bird droppings and washing them in to the pool. The rooms are a good size but the showers in both rooms we saw didn't work properly. The floors are tiled and the maids start dragging tables and beds across the floors above you from about 7 in the morning.It's very loud.Not somewhere to go if you want to sleep in.

The beach that the hotel website boasts about is another disappointment.In general we found the beaches in Agadir to be filthy and covered with stones and mounds of rubbish.The beach staff were just as leery as the pool side ones.

Honestly I would struggle to find anything good to say about this hotel.The only saving grace was that they offered us a room to shower and change in after check out, as we had a late flight.When we got to the room though it turned out to be just an uncleaned room that someone else had checked out of that day with unmade beds, no toilet paper or towels and full bins. I am baffled by the positive reviews on here.I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug7776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

I spent one week with a friend and we had a really great time, friendly service, nice people and much respect. We were 2 women alone and were not bothered. The Thalasso is great as well and the team excellent. We are planning to go again around September/October and we strongly recommend it. If you want to go horse riding go to Etrier d'Agadir nice horses and excellent guide.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monti63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#34 of 79 in Agadir
908 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kenzi Europa
Kenzi Europa
#12 of 79 in Agadir
1,283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#30 of 79 in Agadir
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais des Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Roses

Address: Secteur Touristique et Balneaire, Cite Founty, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#15 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#16 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range: $44 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais des Roses 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Agadir, this hotel has access to a private beach. It offers an outdoor pool with 3 lagoons and a wellbeing centre specialising in specific body and face treatments. Each air-conditioned room comes with balcony; all rooms have a view over the Atlantic Ocean, the garden or the pool. They are equipped with cable TV, and a private marbled bathroom. Palais Des Roses Hotel & Thalasso has 4 restaurants, which serves Mediterranean, Moroccan and international cuisine. It also offers a bar that serves snack and soft drinks. Palais Des Roses features 5 different shops including traditional clothes and Moroccan spices. Also available are a children's playground, volleyball area and tennis courts. Free parking is provided. It has close access to motorways N1, N8 and N10. It is a 30-minute drive from Al Massira Airport, and an airport shuttle is available to take guests to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palais des Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Roses Hotel Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing