We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fading glory”
Review of Palais des Roses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palais des Roses
Ranked #19 of 79 Hotels in Agadir
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I wish I had more positive things to say about this hotel. The beach side location is wonderful, but the rooms could use a bit of love. There were some cracks in the plasterwork in my room. My understanding is that this hotel isn't very old, so it's disappointing to see that it doesn't appear to be very well looked after.

The breakfast buffet was very nice, with many options. Unfortunately, wifi in the rooms was unreliable, so you have to go sit in the lobby if you want to go online. It's not a major hassle to do that, and the pay-off is that you have a view to the promenade and beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Director of Sales at Palais des Roses, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2016

thank you for your words

hope you have the possibility to visit us again to see all the improvements in the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

On arrival at this hotel in May/Jun 2012 (not May 2013) we were greeted by a grand view to the entrance of the hotel. Walking inside we weren't at all disappointed as it looked just as good as the pics we saw online. Walking through the hotel to other end and onto the balcony, the view was astounding, overlooking the hotel pool below to the beach and ocean opposite, it was simply amazing!
The welcome was lovely, we were offered some Moroccan tea and water before checking in and being shown to our room. As we made our way to the room, suddenly the lush carpeted rugs and surroundings disappeared and we walked along stone floors bare paint stripped walls to a room that was definitely not 5*!
The room itself had an amazing sized bed and balcony facing the pool below and sea but lacked cosiness. The floors were tiled and felt dusty as you walked on them with bare feet. The bathroom was the same and did not feel clean. It was as though the room hadn't been refurbished in a few years and was in need of a serious uplift. We were assured however, that the room was one of the best and were shown other rooms to prove it!! Nonetheless, it was fine and we adjusted pretty quickly.
We'd taken our son along on this holiday, who was just a year and half old at the time, so we quickly found ourselves in need of hot water to dip his milk bottle into to warm his milk. That's when it started... the start of what was to become the worst service we've ever received in a long time! It took over an hour with more than 5 calls of chasing reception before someone turned up with a "teapot" of luke warm water. Trying to explain that to a the non-english speaking waiter was futile... so... back to the phone calls to reception. Along with other requests from reception, they were sometimes not so bad and the rest of the time, pretty damn bad.
Being vegetarian, my wife actually called the hotel before we left and enquired about vegetarian meals. She spoke to a chef who spoke good English and assured her that we would have no problem... yeah right! We soon discovered that Moroccans do not class anything that's not red meat as meat! When we complained, the head waiter said, and I quote "It's not meat sir, it's chicken"! Seriously?! To continue with the theme of food, I like my breakfast, whether it be english, european, eastern or western. The european or english breakfast contained no beans, no mushroom....etc. When we asked, they said no problem and served us a plate of white broad beans in a funky tomato tagine style sauce! Oh well... Expect to be laughed if you're a veggie and unable to eat nothing other than the vegetables in their tagine!
Food aside, my wife headed down to the spa and massage parlour but no one was there. She inquired at reception and someone walked her back to find a few moody women sitting around having a fag and chatting. One of them was summoned to show us the facilities - she grudgingly took us round half raising her arm like it was being weighed down to each section as if to say 'here it is, take a look'. The facilities everywhere were in a shoddy state to say the least and we decided against them.
We then walked down the beach front and had a look at some other hotels and facilities (3 and 4* I might add) only to find that we'd definitely been screwed over! We found ourselves visiting the other hotels during the day and coming back to sleep as it was too late and too costly to change or move elsewhere.
We managed to make the best of it but it would've been so much better if we'd picked a more touristy hotel rather than going for the traditional local feel, which is what we tried to do (I'm a follower of the saying 'when in rome...').
Agadir is a tourist state with locals from Marrakesh and other areas of Morocco coming across for months at a time purely for work. The locals don't quite cut it it the stakes of service so if you fancy a comfortable break, stick to the heavily tourist laden areas - an english 3* hotel is ten times better than a local 5*!

Room Tip: If you're going to stay here, try and find a room on the ground floor for easy access to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nishchalpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Director of Sales at Palais des Roses, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2016

thank you for your words

hope you have the possibility to visit us again to see all the improvements in the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I think this hotel was 'the' place to stay in it's day? Sadly the Sofitel and Riu have taken over I. Terms of 5 star hotels. This hotel am no longer be categorised as 5 star except for its roses!!! Reception are and lounge are lovely and be- decked in any rows which look and smell lovely!!! However hotel is now very tired outside if immediate lounge area and a refurb is overdue- in bedrooms particularly. Grounds and swimming pools are fab but not many guests evident at time of my stay. At ''quiet' end of beach - not all restaurants were open and amazingly an alcohol free zone!!- only hotel I have ever experienced in morocco that doesn't serve wine with meal?? By that alone, it cannot be five star in a modern , international resort ?! Oasis restaurant overlooking beach is a great place for lunch but service is rather slooooooooooow!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Paulsmithcasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Public Relations Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2016

thank you for your words

hope you have the possibility to visit us again to see all the improvements in the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

bad and unfriendly staff .very bad service and need to refurbish the hotel lot offff ant on the batroom aircon not working. towel are stinky. its just 2 star hotel.
in the end they will charge you tax for nothing .avoiddddddddd

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jhon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

thank you for the review

hope to see you again so you have a new of the advancement we did

best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel itself is very beautiful. We stayed here after getting transferred from a hotel gone wrong and were so grateful to finally see staff who understood the concept of customer service.
The pools are voluminous and you do not have to worry about crowding or being packed like sardines on pool loungers.
I agree with some people that it does not necessarily constitute as a five star (especially when you consider breakfast is just yoghurt, pancake, rolls and cereals - no fruit) however it is certainly relaxing and everything is close by.

The main concern for potential travellers is this - because it is breakfast only, you will definitely struggle with the food situation. We went to the Oasis bar daily for lunch (it has fair prices, but not a great choice or any Moroccan cuisine) yet we were often sneaking out to restaurants or sneaking back food covertly as it is frowned upon by the hotel to purchase bottles of water, coke, or salads from outside the hotel *I am unsure why*

Only hiccup we had was check out, we purposely went a few days early to settle our room tab however when we tried to check out we were held back and charged further, we couldnt be bothered to argue and were in a rush so we just settled it. Also, landings are VERY loud at night and I was often woken up at 2 am or 3 am by inconsiderate guests howling.

Anyway, the fitness centre is great, the spa looks nice *didn't use it but still seemed peaceful* the room was comfy and we had very little stress.

Room Tip: Select one on the top floor so that you don't hear footsteps in the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunSeeker26_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

thank you for your review

hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed there over one night on the way to Marakesh. The service was quite slow and relaxed. It took the 30 min. To give us the room. The hotel is awfully shabby, it badly needs renovation. The territory is big and quite well-kept. The restaurant is surely not a 5 star, no variety of dishes and moreover you have to hunt for food, because there are more people than food there, waiters are impossible to get, they're always rushing by. But it looks they don't care, it's just for a night and they don't need any reputation.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

thank you for the review

hope to see you again so you have check whats new
best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived july 2013 and was welcome at the airport by the taxi we had booked as transfer to our hotel. he had our name upside down. good job we know how to read.
At the hotel staff were friendly and took us to our room, it was very old traditional hotel. It needs up dating, and new décor needed. the pool was chipped in side and tiles cracked very dangerous, for children and adults. the food was so boring in the end our son was having bread rolls and butter for breakfast in the mornings, in the end I joined him as I was fed up with the same every morning and dinner was no better.
although the staff were friendly it was a shame that the rest of the local people were so greedy for money, it is disgusting how we could not walk down the beach or shops without getting hustled for money. we would walk straight pass them and keep on looking forward. the other hotel our relatives stayed in was the beach club hotel again staff there were very rude, but the entertainment was better than our hotel palais de roses which had none and no alcohol. the beach club hotel we went to every day to meet up with the rest of our party and stayed there for alcohol cocktails and live entertainment which was better than none. both beaches at these hotels were ok. beach club hotel we would rate a 3 star not a 4 and palais de roses we would rate a 3 star and not a five. the other good thing about the hotel was it spa which was good. would we go back to Agadir morocco again???????????????????? further more local tax at the hotel they did not tell us about we found out from other guess.
we were also charged 1,500 dirhams = £125.00 for 52 items of laundry which they refused to tell us the price in advanced. Brilliant hotel if you like bread, butter,watermelon and hate alcohol and hate entertainment. Then this hotel if for you but it was not for us even though we enjoyed the peace and quite.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

thank you for the review


best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#34 of 79 in Agadir
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kenzi Europa
Kenzi Europa
#12 of 79 in Agadir
1,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#28 of 79 in Agadir
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais des Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Roses

Address: Secteur Touristique et Balneaire, Cite Founty, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#14 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#14 Spa Hotel in Agadir
Price Range: $45 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais des Roses 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Agadir, this hotel has access to a private beach. It offers an outdoor pool with 3 lagoons and a wellbeing centre specialising in specific body and face treatments. Each air-conditioned room comes with balcony; all rooms have a view over the Atlantic Ocean, the garden or the pool. They are equipped with cable TV, and a private marbled bathroom. Palais Des Roses Hotel & Thalasso has 4 restaurants, which serves Mediterranean, Moroccan and international cuisine. It also offers a bar that serves snack and soft drinks. Palais Des Roses features 5 different shops including traditional clothes and Moroccan spices. Also available are a children's playground, volleyball area and tennis courts. Free parking is provided. It has close access to motorways N1, N8 and N10. It is a 30-minute drive from Al Massira Airport, and an airport shuttle is available to take guests to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palais des Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Roses Hotel Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing