We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid”
Review of Palais des Roses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palais des Roses
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“avoid”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

bad and unfriendly staff .very bad service and need to refurbish the hotel lot offff ant on the batroom aircon not working. towel are stinky. its just 2 star hotel.
in the end they will charge you tax for nothing .avoiddddddddd

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jhon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, August 2, 2016
thank you for the review

hope to see you again so you have a new of the advancement we did

best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    218
    130
    113
    138
See reviews for
259
246
59
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel itself is very beautiful. We stayed here after getting transferred from a hotel gone wrong and were so grateful to finally see staff who understood the concept of customer service.
The pools are voluminous and you do not have to worry about crowding or being packed like sardines on pool loungers.
I agree with some people that it does not necessarily constitute as a five star (especially when you consider breakfast is just yoghurt, pancake, rolls and cereals - no fruit) however it is certainly relaxing and everything is close by.

The main concern for potential travellers is this - because it is breakfast only, you will definitely struggle with the food situation. We went to the Oasis bar daily for lunch (it has fair prices, but not a great choice or any Moroccan cuisine) yet we were often sneaking out to restaurants or sneaking back food covertly as it is frowned upon by the hotel to purchase bottles of water, coke, or salads from outside the hotel *I am unsure why*

Only hiccup we had was check out, we purposely went a few days early to settle our room tab however when we tried to check out we were held back and charged further, we couldnt be bothered to argue and were in a rush so we just settled it. Also, landings are VERY loud at night and I was often woken up at 2 am or 3 am by inconsiderate guests howling.

Anyway, the fitness centre is great, the spa looks nice *didn't use it but still seemed peaceful* the room was comfy and we had very little stress.

Room Tip: Select one on the top floor so that you don't hear footsteps in the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunSeeker26_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, September 12, 2015
thank you for your review

hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omsk, Russia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there over one night on the way to Marakesh. The service was quite slow and relaxed. It took the 30 min. To give us the room. The hotel is awfully shabby, it badly needs renovation. The territory is big and quite well-kept. The restaurant is surely not a 5 star, no variety of dishes and moreover you have to hunt for food, because there are more people than food there, waiters are impossible to get, they're always rushing by. But it looks they don't care, it's just for a night and they don't need any reputation.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, August 2, 2016
thank you for the review

hope to see you again so you have check whats new
best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived july 2013 and was welcome at the airport by the taxi we had booked as transfer to our hotel. he had our name upside down. good job we know how to read.
At the hotel staff were friendly and took us to our room, it was very old traditional hotel. It needs up dating, and new décor needed. the pool was chipped in side and tiles cracked very dangerous, for children and adults. the food was so boring in the end our son was having bread rolls and butter for breakfast in the mornings, in the end I joined him as I was fed up with the same every morning and dinner was no better.
although the staff were friendly it was a shame that the rest of the local people were so greedy for money, it is disgusting how we could not walk down the beach or shops without getting hustled for money. we would walk straight pass them and keep on looking forward. the other hotel our relatives stayed in was the beach club hotel again staff there were very rude, but the entertainment was better than our hotel palais de roses which had none and no alcohol. the beach club hotel we went to every day to meet up with the rest of our party and stayed there for alcohol cocktails and live entertainment which was better than none. both beaches at these hotels were ok. beach club hotel we would rate a 3 star not a 4 and palais de roses we would rate a 3 star and not a five. the other good thing about the hotel was it spa which was good. would we go back to Agadir morocco again???????????????????? further more local tax at the hotel they did not tell us about we found out from other guess.
we were also charged 1,500 dirhams = £125.00 for 52 items of laundry which they refused to tell us the price in advanced. Brilliant hotel if you like bread, butter,watermelon and hate alcohol and hate entertainment. Then this hotel if for you but it was not for us even though we enjoyed the peace and quite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, August 2, 2016
thank you for the review


best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I just returned from a two week stay (July 2013) at the Palais des Roses. Both my girlfriend and I have mixed feelings about the place.

Before the actual review, I wanna say that 1) we had found a very cheap offer, so we were in general happy with the hotel and 2) that we travelled in off-season. But since we could theoretically have paid more for the exact same product had we booked on other websites (we booked through LMX on Lidl.de) and off season is no excuse for the staff to get sloppy I feel that a review has its justification for those who wonder if this is worth the money.

+
Pool, Garden and location of Oasis restaurant:
We thought the pool, unusually shaped, large, and with great clean water is great, the garden area spotless and the location of the restaurant Oasis inside the hotel area fantastic (it is perched between the pool and the sea promenade and partly overlooking the pool, giving you a constant feeling of 'Hurry up with the bill waiter, I wanna jump into the pool right from my table').

General Location:
Whether or not the location of the hotel in Agadir suits you or not depends on your needs. It is a 25-30 minute walk on the sea promenade from where something is happening on the sea promenade, but we didn't mind that...most of the time. If you don't want to party like a 12 year old or a senior, on the other hand, you might mind that. So I guess this is more like a family hotel, really. Also there is no alcohol served. No, really. There is no alcohol served. Bring your own is tolerated, though.

Style/Interior:
I had never been to Morocco before and was amazed by anything from the beautiful mosaic tables on the balcony of the room, to the huge lobby with it's estimated 1000 couches (I guess it is a Palais), the decoration and pretty vases, plants and lamps.

+/-
Rooms:
We had booked a normal standard room without sea view and upon arrival found ourselves in a room with an ugly view, facing the street, no balcony. Definitely not a room to relax in and take in the view, and definitely not for 2 weeks (unless you like streets, of course). When we asked for a much much better one we got a room with a balcony facing the beautiful garden and the sea, no extra charges (except tips, of course). We tipped and were happy to have a proper room for much less than the online price for a room with sea view. However, we wondered if the reception had done this on purpose to provoke room change and ensuing tips for them as the hotel was near empty at the time, but in any case the rooms not facing the garden are no good, whatever cheap price is offered.

The room we ended up with was very nice and well looked after by the cleaning staff. One down side is that you have to endure all the noise coming from the corridors.

Food/Room Service:
The food one was a constant surprise, and a bit like the lottery. Sometimes we lost, but most of the time we won.
The breakfast buffet was always the exact same for 14 days (oh no, wait, once they changed the lentil stew for steamed tomatoes) and nothing to write home about. The dinner buffet at Restaurant International, on the other hand, which we only had twice, was quite good, but with 220 Dirham (21 Euros) overpriced.

Room Service and Restaurant Oasis (which presumably also cooked the Room Service food) was not always reliable. Once we had Bolognese that were about as good as any ' day old warmed-up I can't cook student grub' and once we had a burger that was fantastic. Once we asked for simple pasta with tomato sauce and it was very tasty, and next time we did that they weren't so tasty anymore. The burgers & sandwiches were always good.

- There were pretty much just two types of staff: Those who genuinely cared about you and the jobs they were doing and those who didn't. There were about 3 or 4 of the first type, all of them in some sort of higher position (head waiters etc.). We felt like most of the time the staff just didn't care, or actually listen to what we said. A few things I remember: once we ordered two coffees over room service and just got one (but paid two), another time we ordered three coffees and got one coffee, but with three cups.

But what bugged us most about the staff was that nobody explained anything to you: One night there was a power breakdown (no biggie). We sat in the lobby, surrounded by lots of staff, none of them explaining anything to us, or any other customers except those poor souls who had been trying to check in when the power broke down. They were given explanations and food. We weren't (no real biggie). An hour later the power came back. An hour later it was cut off again. Since again nobody explained why, we asked..again. Apparently the light in the lobby is cut off at 12:30. When we asked the staff to turn the light back on, it took a manager and 5 minutes to get the other staff to turn on the lights for us again (biggie).

Another biggie: 3 days before our departure someone pulled the plug of the awesome swimming pool. We noticed that by there not being any water in the pool anymore. Again, no explanation by any staff member, no excuses and no water in two of the three pools.

Too long didn't read: The rooms facing the garden are good, the ones facing the street aren't. The breakfast buffet is standard, the dinner buffet quite good. Restaurant Oasis has a great location, but the food quality is unreliable . I'd ask for things off the menu to force the staff to cook fresh, or go for the sandwiches and burger which were always good. Staff are mostly inattentive, with remarkable exceptions. Basically if you want something you have to ask for it as staff is unlikely to offer service unless asked. This is not a five star hotel, but a three star at best. Perhaps it's better in high season. We got a very cheap deal, and for the prize we paid it was fine. But I wouldn't pay more

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street, only take those facing the garden. Perhaps you can book a cheap one f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tullica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, August 2, 2016
thank you for the review


best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Arrived at the hotel on 30th June 2013, nice friendly welcome and given Moroccan tea. Then got shown to our room which smelt stale, old and dusty. Could not hang clothes in the wardrobe because of the smell so ended up living out a suitcase for a week.

The location of the hotel isn't great if you want to go and explore the city, it is about 40-45minute walk to the main area, so I ended up taking a taxi everyday.
I went to the supermarket one day to buy water (which is much cheaper than the hotel prices) then when I returned back to the hotel I was told I could not take the water to my room as only water from the hotel could be purchased and consumed on the premises.

The phone did not work in the room so every time I needed assistance or wanted room service I had to go up to the main reception which was quite annoying.
The breakfast wasn't great and most mornings I never bothered with it.

Then things got really bad...
When checking out we was told that we would have to pay 400 dirhams for local tax. On our booking form there was nothing about this and the hotel manager said that we should have been told when we arrived but we wasn't. I did not have enough money left to pay so I had to use my debit card which I was charged for to use. The reception staff were rude and aggressive and locked my baggage away in a room until I paid.

Don't waste your time or money!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agadir hotels

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at palais des roses hotel in april for a week, the hotel is very beautiful it's overlooking the ocean and it got it's own private beach it got huge lagoon pools and an amazing spa with very affordable prices it provides the hammam and it has warm salty water indoor pool. My stay included breakfast it was a huge selection of different kinds of dishes I really enjoyed it. Other then that room is spacious, clean and had a beautiful view, staff at the hotel are very friendly and warm, the service was really beyond my expectations. I definitely recommend this hotel for a gateway in Agadir.

Room Tip: when asking for a taxi to the airport it's better to pick it up yourself in front of the hotel b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Gb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this review, September 12, 2015
thank you for your review

hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#23 of 77 in Agadir
842 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#32 of 77 in Agadir
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais des Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Roses

Property: Palais des Roses
Address: Secteur Touristique et Balneaire, Cite Founty, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#13 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#14 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais des Roses 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Agadir, this hotel has access to a private beach. It offers an outdoor pool with 3 lagoons and a wellbeing centre specialising in specific body and face treatments. Each air-conditioned room comes with balcony; all rooms have a view over the Atlantic Ocean, the garden or the pool. They are equipped with cable TV, and a private marbled bathroom. Palais Des Roses Hotel & Thalasso has 4 restaurants, which serves Mediterranean, Moroccan and international cuisine. It also offers a bar that serves snack and soft drinks. Palais Des Roses features 5 different shops including traditional clothes and Moroccan spices. Also available are a children's playground, volleyball area and tennis courts. Free parking is provided. It has close access to motorways N1, N8 and N10. It is a 30-minute drive from Al Massira Airport, and an airport shuttle is available to take guests to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Palais des Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Roses Hotel Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing