We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure why anyone would stay here”
Review of Palais des Roses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palais des Roses
Ranked #22 of 79 Hotels in Agadir
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here in March.

The hotel is poorly placed. It's beside the beach but a good 35-40 mins walk from anything other than more hotels.

The reception area is large and fairly well presented, however step into the rooms and it's all a bit tired and shabby. Mould in the fridge, ants in the bathroom and the bed (found in the morning!).

No hot water despite two phone calls to reception who promised to sort it.

There seemed to be some kind of industrial dispute going on in the morning as our bags disappeared for some time and made us late departing.

The pool and gardens were nice, but they didn't make up for the rest.

Be aware the hotel is dry (no alcohol) and all near and far hotels in the area only allow residents access, enforced by guards on the entrances.

Cannot recommend

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is situated on the beach, right next to Sofitel. Excelent location, 10 minutes fron the town centre. If you take the red taxis, it should cost you only 14-15 Dirhams. Always insist the taxi driver turns the meter on. At night (from 8 p.m. the taxi fares double). The hotel is good for families looking for peace. The hotel does not sell alcohol but people can bring their own booze and drink it in their own room. Because of this policy you avoid the drunk and the undesireable visitors to this hotel. Service of most departments is excellent. Swimming pool sis massive, they also have childrens play room.

Room Tip: View of the beach would be a good choice. You can sit in your own balcony if you did not feel like g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

thank you for your review

hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is nice but I think it is overpriced. It is not really a 5 star hotel. The rooms are average clean. The pool was very cold. We were told when we booked that we would have access to the pool inside the hotel but then when we arrived we had to pay 220 dirham for access for the pool inside?!?!

This hotel is very close to the beach. It is just at the front but nothing is there. No shops no tourists. You have walk up the promenade for about 30 minutes to find restaurants, shops and people at all!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfreaks2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's a rundown hotel. No paper to dry hands in bathroom. No napkin on tables or buffet. Way overpriced. I offered 1/2 price and they accepted and pocketed the cash. Gym's treadmill was broken. No light control in toilette stalls so you get stuck in the dark. No light in lobby - must check email in the dark. Low quality one-man-band for entertainment. Restaurant was suffocating of cigarette smoke during breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtraveler2392123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRIAAgadir, Front Office Manager at Palais des Roses, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

thank you for your review

we are sorry for any inconvenience you might have encountered and we assure you that we have a PR service during the whole day in order to deal with such issues

hope to see you again, in order to help you see the brighter side of our hotel which is visited every year by around 50000 guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We enjoyed our very short stay. Rooms spacious and very well furnished. Front desk staff friendly. We also managed to get a discount! The spa is great. Food varied and always edible. The self service restaurant has literally everything you may ask for.

Room Tip: Rooms gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claude020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked last minute. Hotel has very French Colonial feel. We were the only 'english' in the hotel for most of the time but it didn't really matter as most of the staff spoke some English.
All the staff were friendly and would say bonjour as they passed you. New years eve celebrations were a bit different with a live Berber band. No alcohol served at the hotel but it was perfectly ok to take a 5min taxi ride to the local HyperMarket and buy wine or beer and take it to have with a meal in the Hotel Restuarant.
Good resort for a quiet relaxing stay in the winter sun - pool not heated though so freezing... managed 5 minutes!
We went half board as we didn't know what to expect in terms of local restaurants - glad as it was long walk to eating places at Marina end of promenade. Plenty of food at Breakfast and evening meal served buffet style.

Room Tip: Rooms on North side facing pool in Winter time better as sun would 'warm' them up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay here. It was a really good stay with kind service. Especially the food in the restaurant at sea was good and the waiter was so kind. If we are going back to Agadir we would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladycath13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#34 of 79 in Agadir
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
1.6 mi away
Kenzi Europa
Kenzi Europa
#12 of 79 in Agadir
1,282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#31 of 79 in Agadir
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais des Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Roses

Address: Secteur Touristique et Balneaire, Cite Founty, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#15 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#16 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range: $44 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais des Roses 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Agadir, this hotel has access to a private beach. It offers an outdoor pool with 3 lagoons and a wellbeing centre specialising in specific body and face treatments. Each air-conditioned room comes with balcony; all rooms have a view over the Atlantic Ocean, the garden or the pool. They are equipped with cable TV, and a private marbled bathroom. Palais Des Roses Hotel & Thalasso has 4 restaurants, which serves Mediterranean, Moroccan and international cuisine. It also offers a bar that serves snack and soft drinks. Palais Des Roses features 5 different shops including traditional clothes and Moroccan spices. Also available are a children's playground, volleyball area and tennis courts. Free parking is provided. It has close access to motorways N1, N8 and N10. It is a 30-minute drive from Al Massira Airport, and an airport shuttle is available to take guests to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palais des Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Roses Hotel Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing