We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bits were poor, bits were good and bits were very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Agadir
Laindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Bits were poor, bits were good and bits were very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A taxi from the airport is cheaper than the transfers - the fare for 4 of us was 240 dirhams. Carry your own bags to the taxis outside or you'll end up tipping the porter and like us you won't have any change! The taxi ride is an experience in itself! There is a guard outside the hotel which we're not used to but it wasn't particularly obtrusive, there were local taxes to pay and you're given an armband - make sure its not too tight or it will drive you mad. The lobby is quite luxurious looking and the dining room is great. Our room had a lovely huge bed,clean linen and towels. The bathroom was a bit small and the bath a bit narrow - the shower was great although it went at 3 speeds, full blast and warm, slow and hot and then medium and cold and then round again - it was lovely though! No complimentary shower gel etc. although there was a soap dispenser on the wall. The safe in the cupboard worked in our room but not in our daughter and son-in-laws room. We didn't find the aircon until after a couple of days but it worked and cooled the room. All rooms seem to have a balcony which you can sit out on. The stairs down are made of stone and when wet are quite slippery, one of our party slipped on them as the hotel don't put signs up when they've washed them. The rooms and corridors are cleaned every day, even on the days we left our room quite late they came back and did it. The food is dull, if you want a late sunny holiday and you have a tight budget you won't starve but you will get bored. By Wednesday we'd abandoned the hotel food and went out to eat. They do make fresh omelettes in the morning and will fry you an egg so if egg on toast is ok for you you'll survive. The food looks plentiful but it all tastes the same, the wine is drinkable and there are plenty of soft drinks. There is no hope of an alcoholic drink so if you're relying on all inclusive for a drink don't bother - you can't buy any either. Gin and tonic, Vodka and tonic is fine although not very alcoholic. The whisky has never seen Scotland and was unrecognisable. Cocktails - stick to Jungle Juice or the last one on the list without the wine in it (Vodka, lemon juice and tonic) - all the others are weird combinations and apparently if you have vodka, coke, pineapple juice and red wine in the same glass it counts as a cocktail! The pool was lovely, we spent a lot of time in the smaller island shaped pool as the big square pool was a bit austere. the poolside music was horrendous most of the time and a bit loud so we chose sunbeds on the sunset balcony outside the dining room. It wasn't hard to get a sunbed and the four of us got to lay out whenever we wanted to - we did put towels on the sunbeds if we specifically wanted to spend the day in the hotel. There are 8 sets of about 10 steps down to the road which you cross to get to McDonalds and the beach. They're fine on the way down but a bit daunting on the way back. The hotel has a reserved bit of the beach, roped off with a member of staff there to ensure you are looked after, no sales people come in that bit so you're not annoyed. Sand is lovely, sea was clean, volleyball net got used. You do get pestered by people on the way to anywhere, come in their restaurant, buy a watch, buy sunglasses, give money to children, give money to old people - my daughter is blonde and pretty and I got offered camels, fake watches and allsorts for her which was funny the first time but got pretty annoying and even worrying on occasion. My husband was offered camels for me and I'm lucky I'm still here to write this! Go on the little white train tour, it costs 18 dirhams for an adult and takes about 35 minutes. You get to see the other hotels you might have considered, the fixed price shops, The English Pub - sells drinks you recognise and food you might be missing! and delivers you back to the bottom of the stairs to the hotel. Men dressed in some weird national costume with a hat which looks like a lightshade might try and put it on your head, they then ask to take your photo with your own camera and then want 100 dirhams for it - unless you want to feel obliged to give anyone your money say 'no' to any photo opportunities! We spoke to a tour operator in the hotel about an excursion and went on the one we wanted on the day we wanted rather than following the programme advertised. We were taken out in a 4x4, it cost us 100 dirhams each less than advertised and we got to see a bit of Morocco. Again we stopped to see some goats up a tree and made the mistake of getting out of the car to take photos, the goatherd asked for money! The last part of the tour was to visit an Oasis but we discovered we were expected to travel by donkey and it would cost extra so we didn't go, the man then wanted some money as compensation! No-one in the hotel expected a tip which was great, there was a box in the dining room where you could put a tip if you wanted but no-one bothered us for money at all. Our worst experience was the Spa in the hotel. They have an offer of 299 dirhams and offer 4 things for this, scrub, sauna, massage and jacuzzi. My daughter and I decided to treat our husbands as a relaxing surprise for the last day and it was a nightmare. Firstly we were charged 300 dirhams (only 1 dirham extra but not what was advertised). We booked ourselves in for the scrub and jacuzzi for 200 dirhams. It was disorganised, the staff had little English, we had no clue what to do, where to go, what to take off or leave on and no-one could communicate well enough to tell us. The staff seemed to have lots of discussions and walked off half way through treatments. Our husbands went off for their massage and we asked how long their sauna and jacuzzi would take, the staff indicated they wouldn't get it so my daughter walked to the hotel Reception got the leaflet showed what they were supposed to get and it was agreed they would. We left to sunbathe and they were shown the door so didn't get what we paid for. We argued to get some money back but were told as the other two treatments were free we hadn't lost anything! It became very threatening and worrying and as it was our last day and we didn't want to ruin our holiday we gave in but it did spoil what was supposed to be a lovely treat. The evening entertainment was rubbish, thank goodness we took the Uno cards! Man on keyboard with man on guitar and Mustapha (cheesy host) and a girl forcing people to get up and dance with them. My husband found Mustapha (mentioned in another review) really annoying and creepy around me and our daughter but other people seemed to like him so each to their own! The entertainment is in the lobby and you have to be quick to get a seat inside where you can see what's going on. There were a lot of older people who seemed to enjoy the evening but it definitely wasn't our cup of tea! For a late holiday where you want guaranteed sunshine it'll do but we probably wouldn't go again. The hotel looks really good but isn't as good as it looks, its clean, you won't starve (well only through boredom), you certainly wont get tipsy and you should take something to do in the evening.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view and got 6th floor odd numbers. Saw earlier review on here saying choose eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneandWobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heshmat K, Directeur général at Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to share all these impressions on Tripadvisor and to tell us in detail your trip in Agadir.
We hope to welcome you among us very soon for another stay in Agadir.


Cordially,
Khadija Rouamzi
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    511
    181
    62
    53
See reviews for
354
553
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Stayed here last year. We were given a beautiful room with a sea and beach view. Try to get the even numbered rooms on the pool side. They have Internet and not noisey. There was 4 of us in 2 rooms. They put us on the same level, which was very handy.

The food is good but last year was better. The tagine restaurant was really good. We loved it. Glad to see the crepe stand added in the afternoon. That was a real treat. Loved it

Entertainment was crap. Sooo much better last year. Sad to see Amine go. The nightly shows last year were fab. This year only 3 things were the same. They were good but the rest was rubbish.

The reason why I put "lock up your daughters", or in our case your sisters, was because the stupid animation guy after 20mins of meeting them asked 1 out on a date???? Then tried to lurer her out of the hotel.

I understand it is his job to talk to people in the hotel and to involve people into games but to take people outside the hotel is ridiculous. It caused a big divide in our group. It is completely true about people commenting on him pushing the girls into the pool and going to just the girls ect.

I think management should take this very seriously as if something happened to her it's on the hotels head.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monib50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice hotel nice staff and animators :) service is very good, everyone help you and they are very friendly. Food is good, sun is hot, private beach, everything is ok. Maybe small problem was noise from traffic in the night for sleep. But I think, this hotel was good choise, we stayed here for 15 days and dont wanna go back home. We hope see you again in next year!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Noisy,dirty,bland,ignorant,smelly! Can't even bring myself to have to think about it all again so in short......NEVER again. Was counting the days till the holiday was over, was only acknowledged on arrival and on departure, oh and by the maid two days before we left, to ensure we tipped, seeing as we didn't tip there and then our room was left! If you're a light sleeper, you won't stand a prayer as the noise goes on till at least 6 am.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank crookycrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice hotel a nice pool. Very friendly a smiling staf :) food is goog! Maroco is nice country a in go back next time and this hotel is my favourite on the Maroco!!!! Thanks Beach Albatros, my room is nice bungalov 7015! By

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zdenek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A basic hotel which could be so much better. Food was very basic and completely tasteless. Rooms were not cleaned thoroughly as the bathroom wall still had splashes of vomit on the walls. Chemicals were thrown in by hand every night therefore leaving a layer on the base of the pool by morning. The large pool was full of algae by morning. Hotel caters more for the French, Russian and Germans, so if your English you are over looked, in two weeks only the female from the animation team spoke to us and warmly welcomed us. It's an experience to visit here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bladders50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hi

I’ll make this brief as I can.

4-5 star lobby and pool area. 1-2 star rooms and could do with an upgrade. The maids the restaurant staff, the animation team were all great and deserve 5 stars. The staff at reception – some great some just ok, but overall nice. The food a bit monotonous after few days and breakfast the same every day without variation. Bit of a ground hog day experience for us but the people made it bearable. I would recommend this place if you can eat out few times in the week and use the hotel as a base for exploring the region.

Thank you to Loubna Fathi for sorting out some chips for our kids who got bored with the food after few days. Also thank you to the maid on 2nd floor who looked after us and the animation team who were always smiling and uplifting.

As I said, the staff were great but the room we stayed in on 2nd floor was average and hence the 3 stars on my review.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the swimming pools if you want peace and quite during the day as the music is loud a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
1.7 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.2 mi away
Kenzi Europa
Kenzi Europa
#15 of 78 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#20 of 78 in Agadir
3.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#21 of 78 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel

Property: Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel
Address: Bd Mohamed V - BP 339, Agadir 80000, Morocco (Formerly Beach Albatros Agadir)
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#13 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#15 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prestigious place in the city centre of Agadir, facing the bay and its beautiful fine sand beach that stretches as far as the eye can see, warmed by the sun of Agadir and close to the medina and few kilometers only from the Dunes golf. The Beach Albatros **** (Ex-Sheraton) is home to well-equipped rooms with Moroccan decor and a balcony or terrace overlooking the sea, or pool. This property offers recreational facilities like a fully equipped fitness center, and an outdoor pool with an adjoining pool for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Royal Mirage Agadir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Albatros Agadir Hotel Agadir
Royal Mirage Hotel Agadir
Agadir Royal Mirage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing