We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Ranked #30 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real mixed bag”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a difficult hotel to work out...

The frontage, internal communal areas and swimming pool are very impressive.

Service from most of the staff was friendly if not always effective with breakfast and housekeeping problematic despite large numbers of staff (which may be part of the issue). For example almost daily there were problems with either the cleaning not be done or more commonly towels being taken and not being replaced despite phone calls and visits to reception.

The biggest issue however was with rooms and in particular those on the top floor. On the first night we had to move because of noise and vibration from a air conditioning unit on the roof above. This issue was repeated when we were offered an upgrade to a poolside room with balcony again on the top floor. (This is an issue which other reviewers have highlighted)

Having looked on the roofs the problem appears to be large numbers of air conditioning units resting on a not very substantial frame which lies directly on the flat roofs.

We eventually finished up in a 2nd floor poolside room with a balcony getting the afternoon sun which was perfect. The senior manager who dealt with us was very civil and in the end very helpful.

Key to enjoying the undoubted strengths of this hotel are therefore getting the right room.

Those strengths unfortunately are undermined by the pricing policy of the hotel which meant that, whilst we were there over Xmas, neither of the two main bars were much in use. This is because a small bottle of lager is £7! I expect to pay more in a hotel and more in a 5* establishment but this was way over the top! A shame because they are great spaces.

Within 5 minutes walk there are 2 good bars/ restaurants* where the drinks are much more reasonably priced including we were pleasantly surprised very good Moroccan reds at about £12. The food is good as well. * Le Maresque & Le Maxwell.

So overall a mixed experience with issues with the rooms and the effectiveness of the management of the basics eg housekeeping but nonetheless a memorable place to stay (for the right reasons!)

Morocco & Agadir itself are a brilliant destination for winter warmth both climatic and from the Morocco people (even if they are always trying to sell you something). Service everywhere was good.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Not top floor. Poolside with balcony- great views or overlooking the gardens which are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick31Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialAtlantic, Directeur général at Atlantic Palace Agadir, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Patrick31Uk,

Thank you for taking time to write a comment on Trip Advisor.

First, I would like to apologize for all the inconvenience that you faced during your stay. I have well noted all your recommendations and remarks. Those will help us to enhance our quality.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.

Sincerely,
L. Le Baud - Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    300
    132
    82
    59
See reviews for
185
381
48
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had been there at the end of february to play golf. This period is great - it`s not so hot ,that you get grilled, but enough to lie in the sun by the pool. At the beach it`s rather windy and cold. That`s why we choose this hotel . It`s ca. 300 m from the beach, just a few minutes walk down there. The hotel is a lovely place to stay in Agadir. It`s a charming, moorish style hotel. The welcome is very friendly.They do give you a help whenever you need so. Breakfast is good sorted and dinner is perfect.- a good mixture of marocain and european food. The staff is always friendly and prepared to give the utmost energy to make your stay comfortable. I recommend the rooms with a view to the swimmingpool (opposite the restaurant). they have a good size, clean, and sunny. If you want to spoil yourself with massages etc. it`s a lovely,clean place. All in all it was a fantastic stay. We would come again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renate04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialAtlantic, Directeur général at Atlantic Palace Agadir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Renate04,

I would like, on behalf of all the Atlantic Palace's teams, to thank you for your very nice comment on your vacations.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future.

Sincerely, L. Le Baud - Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We recently stayed here for a week holiday during the February half term. It was booked via Secret Escapes and it did not disappoint. The wow factor on arrival was certainly there and we were greeted with a lovely glass of Moroccan Mint Tea to enjoy whilst we completed the arrival forms at Reception. The hotel is beautifully decorated and extrememly oppulent in all the public areas. There pool area is stunning and fresh towels are available to use on the sunbeds. The rooms were also very nice, although our balcony was very small. The food, service and friendliness of the staff in the buffet restaurant was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome. We will certainly use this hotel again. It was a lovely place to stay and enjoy Agadir and some welcome February sunshine.

Room Tip: Request a room with terrace on ground floor or a larger balcony if you want to enjoy the outside spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiRuns10k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialAtlantic, Directeur général at Atlantic Palace Agadir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear JacquiRuns10k,

On behalf of all the Atlantic Palace's Teams, I would like to thank for your very kind comments on us.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.

Sincerely, L. Le Baud - Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel was fantastic, the facilities were fantastic but the staff were only focused on people that spoke french, for example at the buffet style breakfast the selection was fantastic but on this occasion there was no fresh milk, I asked the waiter for some and he said ok, I sat down at our table and waited 10 mins only to see the waiter I asked was serving a french family, with the help of the restaurant manager they carried everything from coffee, to boiled eggs in egg cups(10 days we never saw an egg cup). If you are french and rich you don't need to bother with buffet service, also I never did get the milk. this type of two tier system was carried out all over the hotel, oh and the casino was just the same fantastic place but very unfriendly.

Room Tip: I would pick a room in the hotel across the road The Tikkida something I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialAtlantic, Directeur général at Atlantic Palace Agadir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Martinwoody,

I would like to thank you for your time in writing us your comment.

I would like also to apologize in regards of the treatment you received during your stay. I can promise you that there is no discrimination between nationalities either French, English or Arabic. Probably a misunderstanding of language. Once again I do apologize for that.

I hope we have a chance to welcome you back in your next stay in Agadir.

Sincerely, L. Le Baud - Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

As usual in Morocco all the hotels have a very impressive entrance, and you realy think that's the place to be.
But once I arrived at my room I was quite dissapointed, standard old furniture, the beds are o.k. but sill a 5 star hotel should not use woolen blankets covert by a sheet.

Breakfast is not bad, food o.k.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialAtlantic, Directeur général at Atlantic Palace Agadir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Gerhard1961,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.

Your comments are constructive and will help us improve the quality of service we provide to our customers.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon and show you and the efforts that have been made.

Sincerely, L. Le Baud - Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A beautiful hotel with real Moroccan character. The staff were excellent, friendly and made our party of 8 Girls on Tour very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and the cleanliness of the rooms and general service was outstanding. The Breakfast was a feast in itself and something for everyone - just what we needed before 18 holes in 24 degrees! I am confident that we will return to the Atlantic Palace for more winter sunshine and Moroccan hospitality. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: A room with a large balcony would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vics37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialAtlantic, Directeur général at Atlantic Palace Agadir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear VIcks37,

I would like to thank you for your kind comment on us. Please also say thank you to the rest of the girl's team.

I hope having the pleasure to welcome you all in the near future.

Sincerely, L. Le Baud - Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nivelles, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are just back from a one-week holiday in Atlantic Palace Agadir with our four children. First stay in Morocco. Wonderful experience on all accounts. Our two rooms were spotless, daily cleaning was perfect. The restaurant for breakfast and dinner was delicious : choice and quality. I suggest you add labels to clearly identify the different ingredients of the dishes. We tried the Taj Mahal restaurant : unique atmosphere and plenty of delicious moroccan food. We did not try the bbq restaurant next to the swimming pool but it looks and smells delicious as well. And more important, the staff everywhere was helpful and very friendly. Sincerely friendly with the children and us. Youssef, concierge at the reception, was particularly helpfull and friendly. I had a long and interesting discussion with him as our family was waiting for our bus to the airport ... unfortunately ... our stay had to come to an end !!!

Room Tip: We had two rooms overlooking the swimming pools and they both had a nice terrasse, but oriented to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubert651400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommercialAtlantic, Directeur général at Atlantic Palace Agadir, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Hubert651400,

I would like to thank you on behalf Youssef and of all the Atlantic Palace's team for the very nice comment on your vacation.

I hope having the pleasure to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely, L. Le Baud - Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
Hotel Agadir Beach Club
#22 of 77 in Agadir
842 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.9 mi away
Royal Atlas & Spa
Royal Atlas & Spa
#23 of 77 in Agadir
914 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Palace Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Palace Agadir

Property: Atlantic Palace Agadir
Address: Secteur Touristique et Balneaire, BP 194 | Secteur Touristique Et Balneaire, BP 194, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#13 Family Hotel in Agadir
#19 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#20 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantic Palace Agadir 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantic Palace Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Palace Agadir Hotel Agadir
Atlantic Palace Hotel Agadir
Agadir Atlantic Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing