We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, shame about the resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here in mid November with my partner for one week.
The hotel has a large reception area, very grand, nicely decorated but for some reason is very dark.
Reception on the whole were helpful but definitely got the impression french speakers got better attention and service.
Rooms were adequate size and tastefully decorated, mini bar was replenished every other day.
We did however have a most unremarkable view of a car park from our balcony.
Food in the hotel was a disappointment, repetitive and frequently luke warm which was probably a contributing factor to both my partner and I getting a stomach bug.
The service however was in general first class, waiters were attentive with or without tipping and always friendly and polite.
The rest of the hotel had all the facilities you might expect from this class of establishment and was a refreshing surprise to see staff taking pride in keeping areas clean tidy.
Agadir itself is a very unremarkable place, very dirty in places, populated in places with very unsavoury characters and is not somewhere I would rush to go back to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kacer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,372
    835
    265
    48
    27
See reviews for
847
1,952
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

stopped here with my girlfriend at the back end of august, we were moved to this hotel from the riu tikida beach after complaining about the noise from the nightclub at the tikida beach. The riu brand also offered a room upgrade which was greatly recieved.

we were given a suite with a full beach view and i couldnt fault the room at all, 32 inch plasma in both the sitting room and bedroom. the bathroom was huge with a walk in shower and seperate bath. the room also had a walk in wardrobe which was a plesant surprise. it was kept immaculate by the staff and the fridge was always stocked daily. The food was always good in the main resturants and we managed to book into the crystal for one night and the food here was excellent and as good as ive had in any hotel. The hotel is very multinational, you will find people from all over europe and the belgians that i met had a cracking sense of humour and were a total bonus.

If you travel here, remember that morocco was a french conlony, so english is likely their third language at best. a friendly smile and a bit of banter always made sure i got served promtly and often got beckoned over to the bar and a drink put in my hand. i for one cannot complain about unfair or priority service for the french which i have read in a number of reviews, i was not witness to this at any point.

would highly recommend this place, had a very relaxing week with great company to boot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Where do I start?

Poor service; unless you're French. For some reason the British only get a glass of wine with their food, the French get a whole bottle! It took us a day or two to realise that not all staff can speak/understand English and so when we spoke to them in French we got a better quality of service. Obviously we don't expect or demand that other countries residents speak English but as a Thomson/TUI Group hotel we would have expected front of house staff to at least be able to converse in their area of work.

On several occasions we witnessed management chatting to only French guests in the lobby bar completely dismissing and ignoring anyone speaking English.

Clearing of plates from you table in the restaurants is very slow and often you have to sit with your used crockery for a while between your courses.

Bar service is selective, on several occasions we waited 10 minutes to be served even when we were the only people there and there were 3 staff behind the bar doing other things, none of which were preparing drinks for others.

The bedroom was extremely warm in the evening and the air-conditioning which only works from 6pm onwards blows warm air. We left the balcony doors open one evening to combat this but then awoke in the morning with many insect bites. Also at certain times of day there is a distinct smell of sewage around the outside of the hotel so we didn't leave our doors open too often.

Many of the loungers around the pool are reserved from very early on with towels and magazines. We only stayed by the pool for one day; getting our loungers at around 9:30am, we noticed that there were two reserved loungers at the side of us that only became inhabited at just after 3:00pm! Ridiculous!

We spoke to the rep about all of our concerns who said that she would speak to management. We were told that the air-con is centrally controlled and is set to 'warm' air as it is the winter season and therefore nothing can be done as the majority of guests had apparently complained of the cold! On several later evenings we walked the grounds of the hotel and noticed that many rooms had their balcony doors open; clearly not a majority were cold in their rooms!

We also witnessed a 'champagne' meeting that the rep had arranged take place with no champagne delivered so clearly the British rep has no leverage in this hotel. We knew from hereon in that we had to endure the poor service. We'd have flown back to the UK but unfortunately seats were not available.

None of our experience here is usual of a RIU hotel and should certainly not be for a RIU Palace however it will certainly make us think twice about about choosing the brand in the future. The rep suggested that as star ratings are only given on a hotels facilities that it didn't matter what the service was like; well, our opinion is that if the hotel/tour operator wants to keeps it's 5 stars and a constantly high room occupancy it should certainly think about the service and experience it offers too!

Terrible holiday; would never return or recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jamieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We travelled in mid september and despite a couple of cloudy start days the weather and temperatures were very pleasant. The Thomsons rep on the transfer (a local lad) was extremely 'enthusiastic' even at a 3 am arrival! His chat was amusing the first time round but lost something on a repeat performance on the return trip to the airport. The transfer time was approx 1 hour.

The hotel is extremely pleasant, it is very new and so there was little (but not nothing) wrong with the fabric or fixtures and fittings of the building and the large spacious reception area gives a nice idea of what to expect elsewhere. Our rooms (two twins) were excellent spacious, well equipped double sinks, shower that delivered lots of hot water plenty of storage split level with sitting area and a proper spacious balcony with plenty of room for four. The pool area was so nice and actually we broke a habit of a lifetime and....didn't bother with the beach!!! Despite the house rules about reserving sun beds it definitely goes on from dawn onwards....and a couple of quid in the right palm gets you a primo spot next to the pool! The pool bar was top notch and served excellent coffees properly made mint tea and good quality (not just local generic) spirits, the staff here were really helpful and friendly. All in a very nice way to spend your days.....and if you want to wander off to the shops there are plenty out front of the hotel and more along the promenade heading into town.
The high spot of our stay was the food...plentiful, varied and excellent quality with decent wine to accompany, this is all-inclusive you really want and feel like care has been taken to ensure quality and presentation. The management were in constant visibility and totally approachable and charming with it. I tipped regularly (pound coins) and we generally got very good service and only a couple of times were we not able to dine on the patio.
Not so great aspects were the fact that everything stopped at 11 at night.....like bar closed, drinks away and lights off.....What ??? I really didnt get this at all, the foyer bar was excellent the guys there served up lovely cocktails with much cheerfulness and then....everyone has to go off to bed ???
The 'shows' were not very engaging or really popular by the looks of the audience numbers and the local musicians got a bit repetitive after night 2 :( minor gripes but simply keeping the bar open a couple of hours more would have made this place superb!
There is a very damp breeze off the sea in the evening which makes sitting on the patio bar a bit of a soggy experience but apart from that I recommend it thoroughly, probably best for couples or friends as I think the kids might get a bit bored.
We used the spa and had mixed experiences some excellent some a bit off-hand and poor.
The fitness crew are very enthusiastic although some of the offerings are as authentically labelled as the handbags in the shops across the street.
We will go back...the overall experience was a really really nice relaxing time catching rays and enjoying food and drink...cannot knock that !!!

Room Tip: all the rooms we saw were excellent although our pool/sea view were a premium the standards were sim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marrakesh_Namur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Had a week at the Palace from 21st November with my mum (I'm 38 she's 69), chilly 1st thing in the morning but warm by 10am, no scrambles for sunbeds but I imagine in high season it's something that happens
Sun stayed until about 3.30, just past 4 on a couple of days, enough for a tan anyway, 1st thing in morning and late evening it does go chilly (more than I believed) if you go this time of year, take something warm to throw over your shoulders by the pool 1st thing :)

Hotel - It's lovely but I would say more 4* plus than 5 - I think it depends where your room is, we didnt have a sea view (no complaints as we didnt book one) there were a few drain smells here and there and a few loose light switches but nothing major, Balcony, room & bathroom all generous sizes, yes beds are hard but I didn't mind that
One issue was the soundproofing in the rooms, you can hear everything that goes on in all surrounding rooms which is a bit of a shame

Food is the most amazing I have experienced in an all inclusive, so much choice in the buffet, we didn't bother with the A'la cartes
Pastry was the best pastry I've had in a hotel, just fab !

Staff - What can I say? So friendly and always go out of their way to please, even without the need to tip (we did at the end of our trip obviously but didn't ever feel that our service was less than anyone who may have tipped daily)

Entertainment isn't the best but was only there for a week so didn't affect my experience.

All in all i would 100% go back to the Riu Palace - even if I was to go alone, I felt 100% comfortable there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Spent a week here in November for some summer sun and can highly recommend the resort.
Only 30 minutes from the airport (which in itself was a delight as it is so quick to get through) it is a lovely, clean, friendly resort with the beach right on the doorstep. The room was a really good size with air conditioning and a nice balcony. The staff can not do enough for you especially if you are happy to engage them in conversation. Whilst the food is standard buffet fare, there is a hint of Moroccan cuisine with a different tagine each mealtime. Basically the food will cater to all.
Fortunately the pool area, whilst not quiet, was not utterly heaving so sun beds were always available and the pool was never full.
There are many activities organised for each day including aqua aerobics.
Outside of the hotel there isn't much to do - a visit to the Souk and a few excursions (avoid the camel trek, its a very boring 2 hours), but there are a few bars and restaurants about. However if you are after some reasonably priced winter sun then come to the Riu Tikida!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozzak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

very nice hotel good holiday, but be warned if you go at the end of november the weather is not the best, we only had 2 days that we could sunbathe out of the week but still a very pleasant stay, the food was very good and the entertainment was not bad, the staff all very helpful

Room Tip: room 3146 was a great room, well its a suite that overlooks the sea and the pool, great room but far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
4.2 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#29 of 77 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing