We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday in Agadir”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Holiday in Agadir”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I travelled with my partner and two friends to the Riu Palace Tikida hotel in Agadir, Morocco. The hotel is exceptional, staff are amazing, food to die for, something for everyone, rooms were very spacious and the overall condition of the hotel was very clean. It has it's own private section on the beach. We went on the 22nd April and the weather was very good. If you are tempted to go there, then you must visit the Souk in Agadir, it is huge and 'yes' although they come out with all the chat like 'cheaper than Asda', '2 for the price of one', if you just browse and then say 'no thank you' they reply with 'no problem, have a nice day'. Do barter, the Rep told us to barter by 75%, it does work.

Room Tip: Can only say we stayed in rooms 3119 and 3117, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PammieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,361
    832
    265
    48
    27
See reviews for
841
1,947
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fab hotel, immaculately clean with friendly staff both waiters and pool staff. Pool staff (particularly Ayoub) and waiter (Tarik) are brilliant at their jobs, and were always very friendly. Met some amazing people and couples at the hotel whilst chilling in the bar areas, restaurants and at the pool. Only issues was with the problems of "bagsying" a sunbed by the pool by putting a towel on it first thing otherwise you cant get a decent sunbed. Also, a lot of guests seemed to fall ill at some point during their stay for a day or so. We met approx 6 couples who had had the same symptoms (flu-like). But I don't think this was anything to do with the hotel's food or drinks, as others ate/drank the same and didn't have any symptoms. Hot weather, windy some days, but went 29 April 2013 for 1 week and it felt like it was 30+ degrees each day. Rooms were gorgeous, but no view and no sun on our balcony at any time of the day. Can't compliment the variety of food and drinks available enough. Overall, we'd rate it 9.5 out of 10.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lou_Rob2016UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a really good hotel. Reception staff are friendly and efficient we were checked in and on our way to our room very quickly.
The room was very spacious and had free mini bar stocked with soft drinks, beer and water. There is also tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available and its free. The maid kept our room spotlessly clean. The public areas are kept spotless staff are always cleaning.
The food is great. There was always a good selection in the restaurants. We also ate in the Moroccan and Crystal restaurant which you have to make a reservation in order get a table. We tried everything and never had any problems.
The hotel manager and deputy manager were always available to the guests making sure that we were all enjoying the facilities in the hotel.
The bar staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. Local and branded drinks are available.
There is a heated outdoor Jacuzzi, outdoor and indoor pool as well as a normal pool with a swim up bar all very well maintained. The heated outdoor pool is really good.
We had never been to Morocco before but we will certainly be going again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheFlyers30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ockendon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent week 22-29 April at this hotel. We find it difficult to find a location where the weather is reliable in April but this is our second holiday in April in Agadir and last year we went to Marrakech and the weather for all three holidays has been fantastic where every day has been blue skies and sunny with a temperature of 26-28 degrees.

General: The lobby is spacious with so many very comfortable sofas. The décor is tastefully done and even if you look closely has been finished to a high spec. All the general areas are kept immaculate and spotlessly clean - especially the toilets.

We arrived at the hotel at about 11am. We had been given the hotel cards to fill in on the coach so check in was relatively quick but I would like to point out that most of the people on the Thomson flight were bound for this hotel and I think there were at least 3 coach loads so I think we were lucky to be on the first coach that arrived and we did notice a really long queue had formed by the time we left. Still our room wasn't ready anyway so we just dumped our luggage and went and had a drink and then a spot of lunch before we collected our key. I guessed from previous reviews that the beds were hard, which doesn't suit me at all, so when checking in I asked Mustapha to arrange for a mattress topper for me. By late afternoon housekeeping had put a duvet over our mattress and re-made our bed. I would like to mention the reception staff and particularly Mustapha who was courteous and so helpful.

Room: Our room was spacious with 2 twin beds pushed together. The set up was most unusual and is hard for me to describe but you had double doors leading into a walk-in wardrobe space and another set of double doors into the bathroom with his and hers sinks, a large bath, with a sunflower shower and also a movable hand shower on the wall. The double doors off of the bathroom led to the toilet and bidet. Just note there is no separate shampoo, conditioner or shower gel it is one product for all that is in a container on the wall. The soap are those tiny little complimentary ones so we took our own. The wardrobe had exactly 15 hangers between us, not really enough and there were only 3 drawers in the whole of a very large room and hardly any cubby holes so we got a little stuck for space. There is a mini fridge with a selection of soft drinks and a couple of beers and you are left with 2 large bottles of water but sometimes the
fridge was only replenished every 2 days. There are tea and coffee making facilities. From the area where the beds are there is a step down (we thought quite dangerous in the dark) into an area with a small sofa and table and chairs with patio doors to a very spacious balcony with a small sofa and soft cushions. After reading some reviews we decided to book a pool view room but, to be honest, it wasn't worth it because we spent all day by the pool and by the time we got back it was time to start getting ready for dinner. Everything about our room was spotless.

Food: The quality of the food was first class and more than enough choice for us. Nothing was cooked in large batches it was cooked fresh and then deposited on small trays - sometimes this meant that you had to wait for the next batch but that is far better than having food hanging around and being messed over and then getting cold. There was always fish, meat, carvery, pasta or pizza with vegetables such as cauliflower cheese, potato au gratin and spinach and all hot and very nice. The desserts were so good, lots of pastries, crème brulee, ice-cream and always a hot dessert being cooked fresh. There was always a good selection of fruit and a small selection of cheese. I would say that the selection wasn't as expansive as the all-inclusives we go to on Lara Beach in Turkey but, at the end of the day there was always enough selection for us.

There were a number of good things worth a mention about the buffet restaurant - most importantly, the staff, I have never been to a hotel where the staff were so courteous and attentive - you never had to wait for your drinks or for your plate to be cleared away. As well they always gave you a bottle of wine and a full bottle of water as well as remembering what your drinks order was from the previous day. The waiters have the same tables to wait on so if you particularly like a waiter you can make sure you take one of his tables every night. We would particularly like to thank Redouane and Charouk and Ahmad who waited on us with such good service every night. Also, as the guests were about 55% French,and 45% English and others there was no pushing and shoving and the queues were always orderly and you could be sat at your dinner table past 10 pm and you didn't feel like you were on your own and being pushed out.

The lunch time buffet was a bit more of a bun fight with only the one large restaurant to eat in and of course it was very busy and noisy. The food was OK but a bit samey and the service wasn't nearly as good as the evening.

Sun beds and pool area: We never get out until about 11 but never had difficulty getting a sun bed. If there weren't any available we just asked for the pool guy to get us an umbrella and beds, which they did. There were 5 star and 3 star sun beds - the 5 star ones had thick mattresses but you had to be up with the larks to get one of these unless you were lucky - the others were still comfortable enough for the day. The pool towels were also 5 star and 3 star, the 5 star (blue) were lovely new and fluffy and the 3 star (beige) were thin. There are lots of mattress covered sofas and sun beds around the pool and lots of large sofas around the pool bar. It is really irritating though when you see beds reserved from early morning and when you get back from lunch they still haven't been used. We found the bar staff courteous and friendly.

Animation and entertainment: There were lots of classes such as pilates, zunba etc and the water aerobics were for half an hour at mid-day and from what I saw all seemed to be very well organised - the animation people did seem really friendly. We didn't get to see any of the evening entertainment. We do like a bit of holiday music while we are having a drink in the bar in the evening but there was nothing like this in the lobby bar. There was a large room with a stage with live music and it seemed very good but we didn't stay because we found the room quite dull and soul-less. In the lobby bar they had a Moroccan duo for a few nights and it wasn't our cup of tea at all, everything sounds the same and drones on. So for us there was no entertainment but, to be fair, we did know this from our other two trips to Morocco.

There is a small gym which is adequate.

The assistant manager, Raphael, stood by the entrance to the dining hall to speak to guests and dealt with any queries you had to raise - he was so polite and helpful.

All in all it was everything we expected from an April holiday in Agadir, except, perhaps the staff were far more courteous and friendly than anywhere else that we have been. I would say the majority of the guests were over 50 so if you are looking for a lively holiday you are going to be disappointed and if you have teenagers just don't bother otherwise they will be bored.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a way from the lobby and restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank essexworldtraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

A very impressive reception area which extended into a large seating area for drinks. Extremely high ceilings and such a spacious room afforded a smoking area that was barely noticeable at all. The staff can't do enough to please you however, there seems to be a marginal preference to serving the French first?? Both of the buffet restaurants have an extensive variety of choice and good quality. There are also 2 themed restaurants which require booking a minimum of 24hours in advance. We were amazed that the Krystal Fusion Restaurant was not fully booked constantly. You also get slightly better wine in the feature restaurants.

The room was better than expected and very spacious and extremely clean as was the rest of the hotel - spotless.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed at the Riu Palace over Easter 2013 for a week with the family.
First impression was of the scale of the reception/bar area, which is a huge four-storey high area, cooly dressed with seating and sculptures, mood lighting and marble. It gave me a feel of an elegant old railway station, with people meeting, drinking, leaving, entering, without it feeling remotely crowded.
Staff on the holiday set the tone, polite, attentive, and always available. There is a good balance of efficiency and fun amongst just about all staff. which considering the size of the hotel is pretty good.
The facilities include a gym, little used indoor pool, two outdoor pools with jacuzzi etc. Plenty of sunbathing space around the pools (including great settee/cushions area if you are early), an area of private beach with loads of sunbeds. Food options include a main buffet restaurant with loads of food options, a great moroccan restaurant (to book), and another impressive bookable restaurant. Lunch is served from another large sea-side building, again loads of staff and the buffet constantly being refreshed.
Room are large, huge bed, dressing room, settees, flatscreen tv, minibar, balcony.
The hotel is adjacent to the promenade, about 2 miles from the foot of the Kasbah hill, with views in the evening of the lit-up Kasbah from our balcony.
We had a couple of days off-site. Went to the Souk, which was a huge in-your-face experience, great though, 30 minutes walk. Also went to the football, The Hassania Agadir stadium is 15 minutes walk from the hotel. Also ran up to the Kasbah a couple of mornings. So, I suppose the hotel location is 'in the thick of it', without feeling as if it is !
A great week, with the hotel and its staff playing a major part.

Room Tip: Rooms facing over the pools are probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoyDivOvenGloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay to the Riu Palace, I travelled with my daughter (23) and a friend. We had a lovely stay in this very nice hotel.

The first impressions are very grand with a huge lobby, reception and bar area all of which are sparkling clean and fresh. Check in was ok, and a glass of non alcoholic cocktail juice went down very well. Once checked in we were given directions to our room, which was on the 4th floor. The room was very clean the only problem being that we all sharing and although the spare bed had been made up there was only 2 glasses, cups, towels etc. A quick phone call to reception sorted this out and housekeeping some arrived with all the missing items. The minibar had 3 cans of coke, Fanta, sprite, beer and 3 lots of water in so that was all good.

The food in the hotel was , in the most part , very good some of the meat in the dishes was not of the best quality and was a little grisly but that apart there was masses of choice and everything was kept topped up by the chefs so you always had plenty to eat. The waiters would ask you what you would like to drink and if it was wine ( white, rose or red) they would fill a glass for you and leave you the bottle both at lunch and in the evening. The wine was ok, the white and rose being the most palatable, but the beer was fine and soft drinks were always available.

The hotel seemed to be constantly being cleaned to within an inch of its life, it was a pleasure to see such attention to keeping standards up I even saw the General Manager picking up empty glasses from around the sunbeds on one of his many trips around the hotel to make sure everyone was ok and enjoying themselves. On the subject of staff they were without doubt one of the main attractions of this hotel, they were so friendly, polite and funny especially the bar staff at the bottom pool bar they never stopped smiling ( yes Ali I mean you!!) and kept us well supplied with our drinks. The drinks package was good and you could have branded drinks, just remember to ask for them by name or you did tend to get the local ones. And as a big plus for me they had Jack Daniels... heaven.

We managed to get a steamer type sunbed every day, but we were up early and put towels down before going to breakfast, this is one of my pet hates, but as everyone seemed to be doing it you had little choice. However after saying that the pool boys soon found anyone who needed it a sunbed but the brollies seemed a little more in short supply.

I cant comment on the evening entertainment as we didn't go to any of it, we were happy to sit in the bar talking and taking advantage of the free Wi-Fi that you could pick up in that area, but not in the rooms.

On the whole we had a lovely week, with nice food, lovely drinks, fab staff in a clean and friendly hotel.

We would be very happy to visit again for a week of sun in either October or April.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheffieldSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
4.2 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 77 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#29 of 77 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing