We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We chose the Riu Tikida Palace for our honeymoon in March for 10 nights and we are so glad we did! From arriving at the hotel and being greeted with a cocktail to checking out we enjoyed every minute. I had read some of the reviews before we arrived and noticed quite a few that said the age range of the guests was over 50 and wasn't really a hotel for the younger guests. Well we are in our late 20's and saw plenty of couples and families around the same age as us, it just depends what kind of holiday you are after. We wanted to relax in the sun all day with cocktails & enjoy a nice meal & a few drinks at night and this is exactly what we got. If you want loud music playing into the early hours and late night bars then this isn't the hotel for you!

The hotel is so beautiful, the entrance area joins with the bar area where there is lots of seating and was so relaxing to sit in the afternoon with a cocktail to get out of the sun (or the rain which we had on 2 days) was always cool in that area and you could pick up the wifi. It did get quite busy in the evening though.

Pool area was quite big, 2 bars, 2 pools (one heated which was ideal for the time of year) and plenty of sunbeds. As other people have said by 7.30-8 when we were going for breakfast the wooden sunbeds with mattresses already had towels on them. I think the hotel maybe needs to do something about this just because some days we had been around the pool all day and some of the reserved beds were never touched, its a bit unfair to other guests. Most days there were enough beds for everyone as there were stacks of the plastic beds around.

When the pool area got a bit crowded some days we went down to the beach, just through the gate & across the promenade. Plenty of empty beds on the beach and it is all roped off and only for the hotel guests to use. Always clean and tidy.
The locals do walk up and down the beach trying to sell you things but cant get any further than the ropes so if you don't want to be hassled pick a bed in the middle of the area!
I think maybe more people would use the beach if there was a beach bar or a waiter who could come over and take drink orders as we were going backwards and forwards to get more drinks throughout the day, not a problem though, just us being lazy!

You will never go hungry at this hotel! I think there is 2 hours between late afternoon and evening were you cant get food! So much choice and all really nice! Try the tagines they are lovely, every night it was made up with a different meat, chicken was my favourite!
The restaurant at night could be really busy at times, we found it was at it busiest around 8.30pm so started to eat around 7.00-7.30 when it wasn't as busy.

We preferred to sit on the far left as you enter the restaurant on the tables for 2 and after a few nights the waiter who looked after that side (Redouice I think his name was) noticed this and noticed the time we were eating and always had a table free for us. (without tipping!!)
One night we walked in and he showed us to a table set up and there was even a bottle of wine chilling in the cooler by our table, we felt like royalty!!
I have never seen anyone work as hard as he did, he was never still, as soon as someone got up to leave, he had the table cleared, cleaned and ready for someone else.
We didn't feel the need to have to tip all through our holiday, we left it until the end and tipped our favourite staff who really did go out of their way to look after us.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, which was the same floor as reception, the restaurant & the bar so very convenient for nipping to the bar and taking drinks back to the room! We were towards the bottom end of the 3rd floor so could see the sea to the right of our balcony, really pleased with our room as we didn't pay to upgrade to a pool view.
Rooms are so big, big comfy bed (not even sure what size beds they were, we could have got four people in our bed!), a step down to a sort of living area with a table & 2 chairs and a sofa & coffee table. Balcony with table & 2 chairs. Wardrobe area, drawers, safe & mini fridge (which was restocked every 2 days) bathroom with his & hers sinks, bath with overhead shower and separate toilet with doors the same as the wardrobe (Felt a bit like you were going into the wardrobe to go to the toilet!)

The 2 days that we had rain we had no problems staying in our room relaxing with a few drinks and were so impressed that we had 2 film channels that showed English films! Makes a change to having a TV with just news channels. You can also order food to your room, breakfast, a selection of baguettes & salads and cake. We ordered breakfast to our room one morning which was nice change, can't comment on the baguettes as didn't order any.

Had such an amazing time, hope the hotel keeps up the same standards in the future.
Thank you for the most amazing honeymoon!

Room Tip: We didn't pay to upgrade to a pool view but were lucky enough to be towards the end of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank EmmG_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,951)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,402 - 2,408 of 3,952 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

How to judge this hotel? It’s not going to be easy because overall it is very good and offers great value for money yet holds itself out to be 5 stars and then probably doesn’t quite deserve this accolade - difficult!
To try and be constructive and helpful let’s consider the various hotel components as being contestants in a talent contest. “Agadir’s Got Talent”. The contestants for this competition being: meet & greet service, housekeeping, entertainment in showroom, entertainment in main bar, reception, bars & bar staff, speciality restaurants, main buffet restaurant, cleanliness, pool & pool areas, gardens, private beach area, management, and overall ambiance & public areas. In the end there will only be one winner and some will not make the final cut.
Eliminated at the semi final stage are the following areas and the reasons why: Entertainment in show room – poor amateur performances belies the overall standard of the hotel, but easy to avoid, you do not need to go to the shows. Meet & greet service, no porters/bell boys available to take luggage and carry up the ten or so steps into hotel, needs resolving as many guests are middle aged/elderly or young families with babies, push chairs etc. Reception, pleasant on arrival but not that efficient, often slow to answer the phones and not that customer friendly, some customer service training would help. Speciality restaurants, not special and lacking in atmosphere, needs attention as the main buffet restaurant is much better. Pool & pool areas, pools are great, the bad point here is the availability of sun beds caused by the persistent reserving of beds before 8am by the guests and the pool boys who are obviously breaking the rules by doing this for tips!!! If you can’t beat them you have to join them, but the hotel should either ensure the ‘no reserving’ policy is controlled or admit it is a free for all. Hotel guest private beach area, little management of this area, no service to it of drinks etc., could do better and then more guests would use it and this would also reduce the pressure on sun beds around the pool. Let me be clear these about these criticisms, these areas of the hotel are not bad by any means, just not really up to the five star service received elsewhere in the hotel.
Now to the finalists: Housekeeping, spotlessly clean rooms, friendly and chatty chambermaids, nothing too much trouble for them, a credit to the hotel. Entertainment in main bar is provided by a good pianist and a super saxophonist who each plays on various nights throughout the week and provide nice easy listening and not overpowering background music to the area. Bars & bar staff are very efficient, very friendly and quick to serve you. Main proprietary brands are offered and waiter service is quick, pleasant & friendly. Main buffet restaurant can be described with one simple word, excellent. Cleanliness, the hotel is constantly kept spotlessly clean with a team of cleaners ever present. The hotel gardens are beautifully maintained by a team of enthusiastic gardeners who obviously take pride in their jobs. Management team & overall ambiance of public areas, the team lead from the front and are always available for a chat and willing to listen to suggestions and minor complaints. The public areas reflect class and a hotel which takes pride in its' appearance.
The one area I have not included in this ‘competition’ are the actual hotel rooms. That is because there are a number of room categories and each room category offers something different, be it sea view, pool view, street view or suites. Suffice to say our room was excellent – totally as described in all the hotel promotional information, larger than average and as previously stated kept spotlessly clean by the chambermaids. Two little niggles, not enough drawer space and mini bar ‘top up’ service woefully inadequate. The rooms will not disappoint you.
The competition winner is the hotel as a whole. It offers great value for money, it is a happy place to spend one or two weeks, it is somewhere which can, and will improve as minor glitches are removed and is a credit to RIU and the local management team. We will certainly consider visiting again for a winter/spring/autumn sunshine break.

Room Tip: Even numbers overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank potsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Impressed by the quality of service, foods, and customer service orientation, really recomended place where we can enjoy our self, and spend wonderful Time, the all inclusive concept with this quality of service remain interesting. Unfortunately i fall in windy week, couldn't really enjoy the swimingpool and beach.
Should congratulate the management...keep up the High level standard!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 4cv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were at this hotel last year. It was disappointing to find that the hotel was not complete on arrival. Having said that the staff did their very best to provide us with professional caring service. The assistant manager ( whose name I forget) was extremely polite.

The promenade is brilliant. You can walk along the sea shore and it's a vibrant area.

The rooms were extremely clean and we probably were the first guests in he room. The maintenance team sorted out the few "glitches" extremely quickly. I am sure that by now the hotel must be fully complete and a truly five star experience

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Zuher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Went for a short break with some girlfriends and was very impressed with the hotel standards. Lots of staff around keeping everything clean and tidy both in the rooms and pool area. The main restaurant had a fantastic selection of food and as well as a great choice on the buffet, there was always something being cooked fresh. Staff extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly recommend to friends and would love to return with my partner later in the year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SheilaMathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

What a great way to be introduced to All Inclusive. The hotel is very well staffed, only once in the week long stay did the dining room staff seem to be overwhelmed by the volume of diners at peak time. We paid a little extra for a pool view and it was nice to wake up and spend time on the balcony. The grounds were very well maintained and the whole area gave pockets of seclusion so it never felt crowded. We enjoyed relaxing in the bar/lounge area with some live music and of course free drinks. I'm not sure what there is to do in the nearby area, we walked along the promenade to Agadir which was very pleasent, this was a Holiday for us to relax and this hotel complex certainly fitted the bill.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Iamyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I returned from Morocco today, after spending a fabulous week at the Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir. If you are thinking about going there, please do, you will not be disappointed. Everything was amazing, we could not fault the food, the rooms or the brilliant staff. Excellent value for money and we met some lovely people - especially Chris and Anne..
Both my boyfriend and I are very fussy when it comes to choosing a holiday, we like the best - only 5 star will do!! The Hotel Riu Palace Tikida lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
4.2 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 79 in Agadir
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 79 in Agadir
799 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#30 of 79 in Agadir
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range: $151 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Splitty, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing