We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday September 2013 and stayed at this amazing hotel which exceeded our expectations by far.
From the minute you arrive, from the door staff to the reception staff, we were greeted with a refreshing Morroccan whiskey (mint tea) and some complimentary patisseries and a warm smile.
The comprehensive knowledge of Bacha the concierge, who went out of his way to make our stay exceptional as well as all the other staff.
During our stay, we experienced that not only all the staff going the extra mile, but also that senior management were extremely hands on in making everyones stay enjoyable and special. You know who you are Raphael :)
This was most definitely 5 star at its best

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed review on Trip advisor.

We were delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa and and particulary bacha services.

Thank you for staying with us and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel KARBOWNIK
Directeur Général

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,370)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Water_Baby2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JIrv80
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have such mixed views of this hotel it is a shame I feel the need to write a dissapointing review. The hotel is at the opposite end from the marina 9km walk or taxi ride 15 min. There is only two restaurants within 5 minutes one good and one not so good (subject to other reviews).We booked a hotel transfer the driver was late and we had to wait. Good welcome on arrival but had to wait for our room to be ready booked a pool and sea view could barely see the sea and no sight of the pool. Lower floor looking over the air conditioning unit with regular visits from maintenance crew so lacked privacy. Great pool area and hotel itself is stunning and spotlessly clean in all communal areas. Lacked consistency in room cleanliness free mini bar and milk not always replaced and we had to ask for this. Room turned down only 3 times in a two week stay despite us being out from 7 - after 10 most nights. Toiletries and towels not consistently replaced hit or miss.Ate at pool bar ordered roasted veg in fresh pitta bread received cougettes drowned in olive oil and flat bread which was inedible. Moved to Sofitel next door to try lunch menu ordered veg skewers with fresh veg received cougettes and onions with chips asked for fresh veg and received frozen peas. Complained to waiter asked to speak to a manager didn't materialise wrote my concerns on the bill still got charged a pricey fee for inedible food. Despite having 5 restaurants chose not to eathere again. This hotel has all the facilities of a five star but needs to learn some customer service lessons from other sofitel 5*

Room Tip: Don't accept room 074
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SuzyQScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

If you're new to holidaying in Agadir it's worth preparing yourself for the sea mist. In our one week stay we experienced three days with hardly any sun, it was still warm and didn't bother us, but one of the main things you want from a foreign holiday is sunshine!

The hotel was beautiful and well designed. We took a walk along the promenade and considered ourselves thankful for our choice in hotel, very few could match it.
The hotel kindly upgraded our room on arrival, as it was the end of high season and few guests were there (which we loved) and the customer service was very good as a result.

Overall we found the hotel good value for money, especially for the large room we were given and the complimentary mini bar, espresso and tea facilities in the room.
- remember to tip the mini bar guy so he comes by daily.

The pool/ lunch menu is overpriced for what it is, we ventured to the hotel next door most lunch times.
The hotel buffet dinner (just shy of thirty quid) was great, and the female run restaurant opposite also good, but more worth a visit for its beautiful decor.

Must say, our favourite place for dinner was the Riad blanche at the top of the hill, no more than five minutes walk from the hotel.

Our spa treatment was good. I'd recommend paying the 200 dirhams for the use of the high tech spa pool and steam room access.. Very relaxing and affordable.

We enjoyed our stay and returned home very relaxed, so thank you Sofitel!
I'd go back, but never in peak season, I think it'd lose it's charm.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SqueakySwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Your comments with regards to the service and facilities at the hotel are greatly appreciated.

It was pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to a distant future.

Kind regards,

Daniel KARBOWNIK
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Arrived after a easy drive from Marrakech on an empty motorway thru dramatic scenery of the Atlas
Really happy with the location on a private beach with no road to cross to get in the sea
First time its happened to me,,when I checked in told we were guests of the day/week so upgraded to 80 sq m suite which was great,funky lights in shower, large terrace with sea view,free soft drinks coffee etc WiFI free and efficient many hotels could learn from this!
The bed like most sofitls was supremely comfortable
Went to pool side restaurant for 15.00 lunch superb oysters but it is a new season followed by delicious fish and 2 bottles of good Moroccan gris
Whilst there we had a hamman and massage great spar also aqua gym which for me was new
That evening Elena was given a bunch of roses and we got a free 1/2 bottle of Champagne , 80 euros on the carte
Loved the beach,sea service food room ,in fact can't wait to have another w/e there

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms have full sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomaskerr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

It was a pleasure to have you with us, and we are delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your stay at our Resort.

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for taking the time of writing such a positive review on Tripadvisor.

We hope to welcome you back shortly.

Best regards,

Daniel KARBOWNIK
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We just spent ten days at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa (August 27th – September 6th) and here is our review.

General feeling : great hotel, very modern but with a sort of Moroccan spirit in the architecture. Main colors are white and black, with fountains, waterfall, and the likes. Basically, this new Sofitel is clearly in the line of the recent openings of the brand elsewhere.

Situation and premises : the hotel is situated at the end of the Agadir’s promenade, meaning that there is some walk to reach out restaurants and animated places (5 minutes by taxi, or a 30 minutes’ walk). This is a good thing if you are looking for calm. The hotel building is formed as a sort of ‘u’ (with 2 floors) in front of the ocean. In the middle, there is the pool area, some gardens and a restaurant. The hotel has a direct access to the beach (this is the only one in Agadir to have this privilege so far as we know) where some space are privative for hotels guests.

Rooms : as a Platinum Le Club Accor member, we were upgraded in a Deluxe room with a full ocean view (rooms have normally a lateral pool/ocean view, except 5 of them, which are more expensive). The room was modern, with the bathroom being in front of the bed, and aligned to the ocean view. That means that when you take a shower (there is no bath) you see the ocean – in the morning or in the evening, this is particularly great. The bed is a MyBed one with full comfort. There is a flat-TV with a lot of different channels. The room is also wifi-friendly with a very decent connection (free). There is a mini-bar (free, refilled daily) with different non-alcoholic beverages. There are also coffee/tea facilities, but as written previously by someone else, we find it strange that those are not Nespresso ones as in other Sofitel elsewhere. As our room was on 2nd floor, we were not distributed by any noise. There is also a terrace, with seating facilities ; it was however very difficult to use because of the (strong) wind coming from the ocean ; some kind of ‘glass’ protection (on the barrier) would have been very useful. Bathroom amenities were Lanvin ones – no idea why we did not get the usual Hermes ones. The turn-down service is great (when they don’t forget to provide it) as they prepare the room for the night. Cleaning services were fine ; but don’t hesitate to speak with the personnel to get what you need (if you don’t, well, you could face some issues – see below). All in all, the room is typically what you can expect from a recent Sofitel.

Restaurants & bar : we tested “The Market” which is the buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner ; enough choices and great food, supervised by Executive Chef Martial Clément – a very nice person. Prices are in line with other Sofitel : 22 EUR for breakfast, and 35 EUR for dinner (excl. beverages). We also tried the pool restaurant for snacking : plenty of choices (salted or sugared food) at reasonable prices. We did not tried the Moroccan food restaurant lead by Chef Fatima Tagra, but her reputation is great. There is also the hotel bar where a couple of singers/music players come every nights – if those guys are really kind, the sound is too jazzy, and there are not a lot of people around.

Pool & beach : the pool is at the heart of the hotel. Very nice looking. There are seating facilities all around, and as the hotel was far from being crowded, you find your place quite easily. Two issues, however : 1- the wind remains quite strong, even in this area (the ocean is not far away) ; that causes the umbrellas to fall/fly away, which could be pretty dangerous ; I would suggest that the hotel changes those pools umbrellas by some that cannot fly away in case of wind (if someone gets it on his/her neck, that would be more than painful). 2- the service varies a lot from one personnel to another : some personnel are talking together, ignoring arriving guests or guests fighting with the above mentioned umbrellas ; when you ask for something, they forget half of it, and execute the other one the wrong way ; other personnel (for instance lifeguard Youssef) are really attentive and kind, and look to help you ; probably the staff needs more training so to reach the ‘next step’ which guests are expecting for a 5 stars Sofitel hotel (i.e. the personnel considers you as a guest, accompanies your needs and anticipates your requests by taking the initiative).

Spa & fitness : we didn’t tried the spa facilities, so we cannot comment. We however tried the So Fit room (fitness) : this is a modern place to make fitness ; one or two guys are there if you need help ; however, if you don’t ask, they don’t do anything (see next point).

Service & personnel : this is the weak point. The hotel opened pretty recently (March) and some personnel still need to be trained ; there are a lot of personnel around ; while some are really taking care of guests, other speak together, and forget that they should take care of guests. This has been observed at any time : breakfast (you don’t get your coffee or your juice, neither your basket of bread), pool (umbrellas, towels, food), dinner (plates, beverage), bar, room service, … To our opinion, the ‘Ambassadeurs’ (this is how they are named) are doing their best, but someone (really) needs to provide them with the appropriate strong training so that they realize what guests are expecting, and why a Sofitel is different from another brand. The issues we faced were so annoying, at some point, that we had a discussion with the person in charge of Guests Relations/Satisfactions (Sarah) and from that moment, we really saw that efforts were made and, sometimes, delivered. We however regret that we had to show that we were very annoyed by those issues (despite different signals delivered before to the Gust Services).

Personal note : have a discussion with the hotel’s operating officer (COO), Raphael, who is a very remarkable person. We appreciated the conversations we had together during our stay, incl. the feedbacks shared on our experience. That would be wonderful if all personnel would have is ‘guests-minded’ orientation and understanding. His challenge is there : upgrade personnel’s capabilities to reach this ‘next step’.

All-in-all : this is a Sofitel, providing more or less the same experience than other Sofitel elsewhere in the world. Premises and facilities are great, but service could be improved. We rate our experience there with a 4 for that reason.

Room Tip: Take a room with a full ocean view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arbre_Sage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
3.2 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
408 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#31 of 77 in Agadir
952 reviews
0.4 mi away
Robinson Club Agadir
Robinson Club Agadir
#2 of 77 in Agadir
781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Address: Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range: $146 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing