We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Agadir
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel. I have to say the employee service was outstanding, with nothing being too much trouble. While it's a little way away from the main part of Agadir, it's a very pleasant walk down the beach promenade or short petit taxi ride away. Food is fresh and beautifully presented. Rooms and the broader hotel are kept to a very high standard. Initially we had been placed in a room which overlooked the Sofitel next door, which was undergoing renovation, which was very noisy in the early in the morning. When we asked to move rooms, this was done quickly and without fuss. The only minor frustration (& it is minor) we had, was the long check in time. It can take about 10 - 15 mins while they serve Moroccan tea, local sweet treats and complete the necessary paperwork. While hospitable and welcoming, we just wanted to get to the room and sort ourselves out. Overall we had an outstanding week long break at this hotel. Outside of this minor issue, we couldn't have been happier with the service, experience and beauty of this place. We'd highly recommend this hotel to others looking for a little luxury and would definitely stay here again. A truly beautiful location with genuinely lovely staff.

Room Tip: When there is no remodeling work being done next door, there are no bad rooms. Overlooking the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Thalassa Sea & Spa during your recent stay in Agadir, and for taking the time to share such a positive comment on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your positive review.

Our team is working hard every day to make our guest feels happy and your satisfaction is the best reward they could receive.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

Kind regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Many thanks to all the staff at the Sofitel, especially Mouna, Edoardo and the concierge. We had a wonderful holiday and would go back in the morning if possible. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we were upgraded to an ocean view room upon request!!!!
Agadir and the hotel surpassed all expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blank50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Madame, Sir,

We are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We will share your kind feedback with all our ambassadors. It will serve as an encouragement to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Once again, thank you for kind review, and we look forward to welcoming you soon at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

Kind regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Heaven and we shall visit again. Food excellent service excellent. Easy to get into town by petit taxi just 20 dirhams, you need to use this as it can be a long walk and there is little around the hotel. We did have to move rooms as we were next to Royal Bay which they are refurbishing and the noise was awful but we were soon moved to a lovely room, balcony and king size bed. Be warned the beds are so heavenly you won't want to get up!!! Small irritations room not always made up early enough, missed turn downs, shower leaked very badly, not always had flannel etc but this was minor. Robes and slippers lovely and ideal for using round pool. Excellent to be able to lie around pool and not hear any noise but the ocean. Staff utterly delightful and so friendly. Excellent hotel for escaping from the world, can't wait to come back later in year. A word of warning, if your room is not ready, as ours wasn't, lunch in the Atlantique is expensive, very nice but 800 dirham for two beers and two salads. We would recommend Hotel and loved the peace and serenity.

Room Tip: Ask to go to left of hotel numbers 200 up not right of main entrance where work is going on at adjac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were particularly satisfied with the quality of the food and the service provided by our team members.

I would also like to personally thank you for your constructive feedback, which help us to monitor and improve our standards.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

Best regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Amazing five star hotel, clean and spacious. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms good size and good views. Got to be one of the best hotels in Agadir. Good choices for breakfast. Main negative is the outdoor pool being so cold! Asked several times to see if it can be heated with warm water but apparently it's automatic temperature controlled... Very helpful receptionist Mouna who arranged flowers and cake for my partners birthday and also if you want to visit Marrakech book with Said very good English spoken guide.
Agadir- not much to do but best if you are looking for a hot relaxing get away.
Marrakech- approximately 3 hours from agadir- nice to see but hassled a lot by beggars

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeetm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Madame, Sir,

We very much appreciate your positive review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

We are glad to read that you were satisfied with the service provided by Mouna at the Front Desk and generally by all our Ambassadors.

With regards to our outdoor swimming pool, I would like to inform you that it is heated 24/7 at a temperature of 27/28 °C, however during the winter season it is possible to find it a bit colder in the morning, due to the chilled nights (10 °C).

Once again, thank you for taking the time to recognize the friendliness of our Ambassadors and the quality of our facilities.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I spent two nights in Agadir at the Sofitel in total luxury. The rooms were amazing, the pool area impeccable, the food was fantastic and the vibe was heavenly. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who is seeking affordable luxury. It was a great value - the quality of the facilities were world-class.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Madame, Sir,

We very much appreciate your positive review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback, which I will definitely share with our team.

On behalf of all of us, I wish you a wonderful 2013 and look forward to welcoming you back to our property.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sofitel Thalassa for five days over the Eid Holiday. We had a great time and would highly recommend this hotel. The restaurants, bars, outdoor pool, rooms, and spa were all top notch. It has a great indoor (therapy) pool and gym that my wife and I used frequently. The service was commensurate with what one would expect at a 5 Star Hotel - staff were very attentive, responsive, and fast. Overall the rooms were great but there was a small issue with the shower - it leaked past the door and would periodically spill over into the room. Regardless, the maids always had it taken care of by the time we returned. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for the luxury option in Agadir.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following to your recent stay in our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided by our team as well as the facilities of our resort.

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for recommending our hotel and wish you a wonderful 2013.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Black and white design hotel, wonderfu and impressive architecture. Well kept gardens. Clean pool. Rooms of sufficient size with wonderful bed. Long stretch of clean beach. Extremely attentive staff. Breakfast room turns into buffet style restaurant in the evening. The choice is staggering for breakfast. At evening the buffet offers show cooking with wonderful fresh fish. And the 'patisserie' is unbelievably good.
A little goodie is provided in the room every afternoon.
Unfortunately the SPA was closed and we had to frequent the SPA in the hotel next door which is quite small and a little old.
Only criticism: Check-in is slow

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indigosky_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

We were pleased to read that you were fully satisfied with our facilities and the service provided by our team members.

We would also like to thank you for bringing to our attention your constructive feedback about the speed of check out; we will investigate this situation very seriously in order to increase our efficiency.

Once again, it was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
0.3 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 79 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
2.0 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#27 of 79 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Taghazout Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Address: Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing