We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Depressing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ourika Valley

Ourika Valley
Book In Advance
$91*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour to Ourika Valley including Guided Trek and Lunch from...
Ranked #73 of 601 things to do in Morocco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ourika valley situated at a short distance from Marrakesh 60 km. While traveling along the Ourika valley you will enjoy beautiful landscapes, from walnuts, wiping willow and poplar trees, to its mountains and rocks varying in color from red to green.
Gryon, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Depressing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is a really disappointing place. I'm sure there are beautiful parts to this valley but the waterfall we were taken to (late in the day after being paraded around various shops and tourists traps for most of it!) has been really spoilt. Cafés and tacky shops cover every inch of the river banks (and some even in the middle of the river too!) as well as the trail leading up to the waterfall. There is litter everywhere and graffiti on the surrounding rock walls. It's a real shame and really depressed me. I realise that morocco isn't a wealthy country and maybe they haven't the resources to invest much in the environment but marrakech and the surrounding area has been a tourist destination for a long time and they make money out of their natural environment. It's disappointing that they just seem to exploit it without any respect or care for it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    223
    93
    30
    31
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wear the right shoes !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A great day (we negotiated down to 250 DH each- £17ish) bit foggy and damp at first but ended up beautiful. Berber village was quaint ,Argon oil huts was interesting .However before the walk to the summit (ish!) we was pushed into a terrace top restaurant for lunch , where we paid for a tajine and coke (about 90 DH) HOWEVER THE WAITER TRIED TO PLAY DUMB when it came to giving us and our German neighbour our change....left a sour taste!!!...We then started the climb with some of the ladies dressed for a day at the races ,or in flip flops !! The climb IS DANGEROUS ,however exciting ...WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IF YOU ARE UNFIT,or in flip flops !... Got to the bar by the waterfall and had a coke or mint tea !!The Guide was good the views fantastic....this was the highlight of our Marrakech trip .MAKE SURE YOU HAVE LOTS OF DIRHAM COINS to give to the Berber's kids as thank you for letting into their village .!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank giggsywiggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worth the climb !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Warning be prepared wear suitable shoes as the climb can be slippery. We had a lovely guide who held my hand most of the time. Beautiful views the downside being having a mint tea for 2 and charged 60 DH. When quiried was told the charge included sitting at their dirty plastic table to enjoy the view !!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This valley is very charming and easy to climb to see the 5 cascads (out of 7). It's better to be equipped with appropriate shoes though.
Ask your driver to stop on the way and you will discover berber villages, traditional argan exploitation and... tourists-oriented camel riding (a few minutes for 50 DH :-)).
You definitely need a guide (we paid 150DH).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worst ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The trip organized by Sanikel Tours was the worst ever. They brought us to a Berber house and offered tea and bread and then asked everyone to pay 10 dirhams at the end of it. And then there was the camel ride that only a handful of us were interested in. Next, they brought us to this garden, which really is a store selling oils and perfume. And then there was the overpriced lunch by the river. And then finally, a waterfall that was so dirty and unimpressive. The hike up to the waterfall though was a good one. On the way back, we were brought to a souvenir shop and one of us was coerced into buying something. Overall, I was really disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gboi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ourika Valley also viewed

Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Oukaimeden, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ourika Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing