We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth avoiding excursions and guides but lovely place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ourika Valley

Ourika Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.81*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour to Ourika Valley including Guided Trek and Lunch from...
Ranked #83 of 635 things to do in Morocco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ourika valley situated at a short distance from Marrakesh 60 km. While traveling along the Ourika valley you will enjoy beautiful landscapes, from walnuts, wiping willow and poplar trees, to its mountains and rocks varying in color from red to green.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth avoiding excursions and guides but lovely place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go it alone with this trip as we had heard it could be done. We got a 'grande taxi' from town. This was hard to find (a mini taxi took us, we think it was rue oqba-Ben nafaa) but worth, the journey there was 60 dirham for two of us, squashed onto the front seat. This was done in two parts, the first taxi dropped us at a junction about half way there. The final destination, if you want the waterfalls, is a town called setti fatma.

When you get there its easy enough to follow the crowds to the cascades (possibly worth a guide if you're not as agile as you once were, but plenty of elderly women in burkhas managed it when we were there) and to arrange a taxi back.

The scenery and escaping the city was lovely. Great day trip out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    257
    100
    36
    35
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wisbech
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I hope u are fit and sure footed.. but worth the walk ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a route march up the mountainside on slippery rocks... ! If u are a mountain goat no problem but if not .. well just persevere as it is worth the walk... wear sturdy shoes , boots not flip flops tho ...its lovely and cool in the mountains. Go on do it..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WalRusofLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We took this tour on a relatively cool day, took about an hour to get to the base and a tour guide took us up. Lots of steps so take good shoes.

Also lots of sellers along the way of gifts and drinks and some ingenious fridges.

Dinner by the river on the 'beach' is an experience on it's own!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hayley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relax, swim and have a tagine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved the man-made pools made in the river out side each restaurant..We had a great driver who took us further up the mountain to a more quite location - there were less tourists and a lot of morrocan families...ladies who wear hijab will feel comfortable going in for a swim and then airdry or use the toilets as a changing room. Our driver also took us further up the mountain were we went to see the waterfalls...I wouldn't make the effort to do this as its not a great big waterfull really...just stay by the restaurants, swim and relax and have another tagine instead!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaraNamvar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great day trip to escape Marrakech”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked a private trip here through our Riad and glad we went - is a lovely spot and really started to feel more like I was in Morocco once we came out here. Lots of picturesque spots, and lunch in the river was great.

But having to pay a guide 200dh (just under $30 AUD) to show us the waterfall was a massive rip off - if you can avoid paying someone, do so and follow the lines of people heading up. The 'guide' didn't really do much and I know 200dh is a lot of money for an hours work for us and them!

The water was quite clean and very refreshing to paddle in (swim if you are game.. As a woman i didn't want to strip off to a bikini in front of all the locals!). And the guide and driver huddled us into a particular restaurant for lunch, rather than let us choose one, but it ended up being fantastic food anyway, so this was a bonus. Just hate being treated as a cash cow, which I feel in Morroco more than any other country I've been to.

Would love to have spent more time in the Atlas Mountains as they are lovely. I'd recommend doing a longer trip than this one as its really close to Marrakech and the whole thing was only 6 hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 980ginab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ourika Valley also viewed

Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ourika Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing