We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Aurassi Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$231
$192
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$176
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Day(Algiers)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Night(Algiers)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Suisse(Algiers)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lalla Doudja(Algiers)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveler rating
83
181
114
47
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
181
114
47
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsview of the baynice swimming poolitalian restaurantlarge balconiesnice bathroomastonishing viewhot dishesapple piealgerian winerooms are spaciousstar servicetennis courtsthe ground floorbad foodsparkling waternice viewmediterranean sea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 451 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel back in 2008 and found it thoroughly depressing and soviet-style! Now, four years later I find it has been totally redone to a very high standard. However, for a 300 euro-a-night hotel, it is still lacking in several respects. The rooms are well-appointed with a Samsung flat screen TV and very good mattress on the bed. However, the hotel lacks a wifi internet connection (although they do provide a cable connection) and there is no walk-in shower, which would be expected in a recently renovated 5 star hotel. Breakfast is on the Spartan side, with practically no fruit. It has to be said nonetheless that they do serve a scruptious freshly-squeeze orange juoice, with I vividly recommend. But 2500 dinars (25 euro at the official exchange rate) for a skimpy is just too much! The hotel is located in a privileged vantage point over the Algiers bay and I assume that the rooms overlooking the bay (mine was not one of these) command gorgeous views ( although the bay area tends to be covered in mist). A special mention needs to be made of the staff, who are exceedingly attentive and go out of their way to help you. Sometimes, they lack the means to do so. For example, when we asked the concierge for a city map he just gave us an apologetic smile (none were available!!!)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed here for work, choosing it notably for the high speed internet, they don't have wifi but the cable connection in the room is top notch...or at least was until it was cut completely 15 minutes before the results of the legislative elections which is when as a journalist we most needed it to send footage back.
The view is impressive and the hotel has pretty much all the trappings of a luxury resort. The rooms are spacious, clean and perfectly functional. There are a choice of restaurants within the hotel: traditional algerian; italian; fish. They were all fine but I did eat better in town for a lot cheaper. Breakfast is an extra 22 euros, the buffet is pretty bare but you can order omelets', eggs and fresh orange juice, you just need to know to ask. The pool is not yet done and while you are very close to the centre it's still a bit of an uphill walk, I think it's best for those with cars or ready to use taxis.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bay side are pricer but the view is the biggest selling point of the hotel, plus these rooms are bigger so it your going to go there....
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This huge hotel has a beautiful view overlooking the bay of Algiers, it has been newly renovated, rooms are spacious and very comfortable, service is great and quick.
Buffet Breakfast has a wide variety, they have a nice terrace on the E level, no wirless internet though. A bit expensive, but really worth the stay.

Room Tip: Take the rooms overlooking the bay, very nice view in the evening
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WissBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed at the El-Aurassi Hotel in mid-April 2012. The complete renovation of the hotel has nearly finished. The rooms have been completely refurbished to a five star hotel standard: comfy beds, spacious rooms, plasma tv, separate bathroom and toilet, great water pressure, lots of details like heated bathroom mirrors...absolutely no complaints, the comfort is comparable with any top five star hotel, and the rooms are very generously sized. The view is amazing, so are the hotel gardens.

The shops within the hotel complex are still being built, but I did not notice any noise associated with the ongoing construction. At least three restaurants, two bars and a nightclub are open for business. The breakfast restaurant served a quite ordinary looking buffet breakfast. The coffee is t excellent. The Italian restaurant served a couple of very good fish and lamb dishes. The canneloni received mixed reviews from my fellow diners. Expats based in Algiers told me the Algerian restaurantwas excellent.

The El-Aurassi is now a popular wedding reception venue, so the nightclub was booked out the night we stayed. The bars served a range of alcoholic beverages, including a good local beer (Tango).

The staff: The staff were generally pretty amazing, although it's obvious they don't get a lot of tourists. The concierges and reception staff went out of their way to help me, including organising a sight-seeing tour of the city at short notice and giving me the hotel's copy of a map of Algeria (because they didn't have a tourist map of the city). They were super-friendly, even when trying to check-in a plane load of guests who had all arrived at 1am.

The bar and restaurant service was friendly but not particularly attentive. In general, the bar staff don't wait on tables, even during quiet periods, so you have to fetch your own drinks.

Possible improvements: The minibar only has water in it. I had trouble getting connected to an international phone number. The breakfast is expensive: about EUR30. A cheaper, lighter breakfast option would be appreciated. It would be useful to have an ATM machine in the hotel (or even the airport) that allowed cash withdrawal from a range of European credit/debit cards. As it is, the best option is to travel with lots of Euros or USD. The bank service (located in the basement) has very helpful staff (they kindly advised on taxi and souvenir costs), but it is time consuming and only open during business hours.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

It is an experience. Being in this hotel remind me an old James bond movie taking place in Moscow in the 60 or 70's.
They build the hotel and then every thing stopped in the 70's. People, service, quality standard...
If you look for an experience during the cold war age... Why not... Otherwise heads up for return to the future at Hilton, Sofitel, mercury...

Stayed: June 2011
2  Thank luc t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews