We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Newly renovated hotel”
Review of El Aurassi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Aurassi Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Algiers
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Newly renovated hotel”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This huge hotel has a beautiful view overlooking the bay of Algiers, it has been newly renovated, rooms are spacious and very comfortable, service is great and quick.
Buffet Breakfast has a wide variety, they have a nice terrace on the E level, no wirless internet though. A bit expensive, but really worth the stay.

Room Tip: Take the rooms overlooking the bay, very nice view in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WissBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    159
    104
    45
    25
See reviews for
19
30
14
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed at the El-Aurassi Hotel in mid-April 2012. The complete renovation of the hotel has nearly finished. The rooms have been completely refurbished to a five star hotel standard: comfy beds, spacious rooms, plasma tv, separate bathroom and toilet, great water pressure, lots of details like heated bathroom mirrors...absolutely no complaints, the comfort is comparable with any top five star hotel, and the rooms are very generously sized. The view is amazing, so are the hotel gardens.

The shops within the hotel complex are still being built, but I did not notice any noise associated with the ongoing construction. At least three restaurants, two bars and a nightclub are open for business. The breakfast restaurant served a quite ordinary looking buffet breakfast. The coffee is t excellent. The Italian restaurant served a couple of very good fish and lamb dishes. The canneloni received mixed reviews from my fellow diners. Expats based in Algiers told me the Algerian restaurantwas excellent.

The El-Aurassi is now a popular wedding reception venue, so the nightclub was booked out the night we stayed. The bars served a range of alcoholic beverages, including a good local beer (Tango).

The staff: The staff were generally pretty amazing, although it's obvious they don't get a lot of tourists. The concierges and reception staff went out of their way to help me, including organising a sight-seeing tour of the city at short notice and giving me the hotel's copy of a map of Algeria (because they didn't have a tourist map of the city). They were super-friendly, even when trying to check-in a plane load of guests who had all arrived at 1am.

The bar and restaurant service was friendly but not particularly attentive. In general, the bar staff don't wait on tables, even during quiet periods, so you have to fetch your own drinks.

Possible improvements: The minibar only has water in it. I had trouble getting connected to an international phone number. The breakfast is expensive: about EUR30. A cheaper, lighter breakfast option would be appreciated. It would be useful to have an ATM machine in the hotel (or even the airport) that allowed cash withdrawal from a range of European credit/debit cards. As it is, the best option is to travel with lots of Euros or USD. The bank service (located in the basement) has very helpful staff (they kindly advised on taxi and souvenir costs), but it is time consuming and only open during business hours.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World is not enought
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

It is an experience. Being in this hotel remind me an old James bond movie taking place in Moscow in the 60 or 70's.
They build the hotel and then every thing stopped in the 70's. People, service, quality standard...
If you look for an experience during the cold war age... Why not... Otherwise heads up for return to the future at Hilton, Sofitel, mercury...

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank luc t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Algiers hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

rooms are alright... food is average to bad... not so clean... just for business alright...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _wanderer_2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2009

It was nice hotel, clean with a very nice view on the sea and other view on the mountains, however security is an issue there.

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Excellant 5 star hotel of Algiers, best location in algiers for a hotel , situated in the centre in the business part of city , has an excellant view of Algiers, excellant services ,stylish rooms , big swimming pool, well english speaking stuff.

Stayed June 2006, traveled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank Dmimoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We spent 5 days there and I can fairly value it as an average hotel. The location and the view from the hotel are great, the security is on a high level (important for Algeria) but:
- Needs a renovation
- The staff tries to ripe you on every occasion
- NEVER order from room service. Charge EUR 11.00 only for the waiter and you find out on check out :)
- Only few people speak English (normal for this country).

I wouldn't complain but for EUR 150.00 per night more is expected.

However, I had a great time in Algeria and the hotel didn't matter much

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitipov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Algiers hotels
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
1.5 mi away
Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George
7.8 mi away
Palace Appart Hotel
Palace Appart Hotel
#4 of 27 in Algiers
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Night
Best Night
#3 of 27 in Algiers
55 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel d'Hydra
Hotel d'Hydra
#15 of 27 in Algiers
85 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Alger
Hilton Alger
#16 of 27 in Algiers
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Aurassi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Aurassi Hotel

Property: El Aurassi Hotel
Address: 2, Boulevard Frantz Fanon | Les Tagarins, Algiers 16000, Algeria
Location: Algeria > Algiers Province > Algiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Algiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Aurassi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business Urban Hotel,located in the center of Algiers,20 km from the airport.453 rooms:414 rooms/ 39 suites. 4 restaurants :Self /continental / Italian / Traditionnal . Piano bar ans a coffee shop. Fitness center :gym,sauna,hammam,squash,swimming pool,tennis court. Meeting rooms and conférence rooms. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Aurassi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Aurassi Algiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing