We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Algiers - nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Algiers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

There aren't a lot of good hotels in Algiers, but Sofitel is quite good. It is secure and ideal for business travellers.
It is a good 30 to 45 mins from the airport, is central enough; and has a good selection of restaurants.

Room Tip: executive floor has it's own dedicated reception, for a faster checkout
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank AzDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014
Google Translation

Cher client,

Avant toute chose, je tiens à vous remercier d'avoir partagé votre ressenti après votre passage au Sofitel Alger.

Je suis ravi de lire que votre expérience était à la hauteur de vos exigences.
Tous les ambassadeurs du Sofitel se joignent à moi pour vous souhaiter un très bon retour.

Dans l'attente de vous accueillir encore une fois parmi nous, veuillez accepter cher hôte mes meilleures salutations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 779 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel was once the height of luxury; the lobby is stunning and very well done. There have been some obvious recent upgrades, but the hotel has a long way to go to get back to a normal five-star baseline. The room was a decent size (about 30m2) and had comfortable furniture. The mini-bar has plenty of room for one's own stuff. But s many little things were wrong. The drapes were unhooked in a couple of places; the balcony door fit so poorly the sea breeze was constantly whistling through; the metal inlay in some of the case furniture is pulling out (in this instance, at floor level and as I strode by, managed to knick my ankle --really!); one shelf in the closet collapsed when I put something down as one of the four supporting pins was missing; a light in the bathroom was burned out; caulk/grout around the tub was either missing or badly discolored; one corner of the room has mold in wallpaper all up and down; the bathroom sink would not hold water; the toilet seat and cover did not match the shape of the bowl. The TV is an ancient flat screen affair that for the life of me I could not get to function. It turned out that the remote doesn't turn it on, there is a button you need to push, not visible from the front. There are few channels, and no BBC World. The Wi-Fi was highly variable. It never went down, but at times was impossibly slow.

The breakfast buffet is very pricy, about $35, but adequate. Sadly, there is no al la carte option. That said, I am a brekkie person and paid the price. I especially liked the fresh strawberries, coffee served in a two-cup café presse, eggs-to-order nicely done, and fresh squeezed juice (I had apple juice what was frothy and delicious). Service was good. Even at a buffet I leave a modest tip and was very happy to do so here.

Laundry: man's shirt (DZD600), socks (DZD200), and undershorts (DZD200), or a total of DZD, equal to about US$13/€9.

The hotel is isolated -- it is a long walk to anything. There is a very sterile plaza behind the hotel, mainly empty, and rather forlorn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014
Google Translation

Cher client,

Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre experience au Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden. Je suis heureux de lire que vous avez apprécié notre petit déjeuner et la qualité du service cependant je regrette que vous ayez eu quelques désagréments notamment dans votre chambre, je vous prie de nous en excuser.

J'espère que nous aurons l'occasion de vous faire vivre une meilleure experience lors de votre prochain séjour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel is well located and the accommodation is excellent! We got a small room but even this one was very nice, them we got an upgrade and went to a bigger room which was excellent! Staff at the hotel are very nice and helpful, they made everything they could for us to be comfortable. The Algerian restaurant inside the hotel is delicious but we did not like the French restaurant. The bar offers an excellent service and marvelous choices of drinks and snacks. Madame Benmamsour, chargee de clientele, was absolutely helpful and made everything she could to make us happy and satisfy. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I am in Alger.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LunaS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014
Google Translation

Cher client,

Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre ressenti suite à votre séjour dans notre maison.Je suis heureux de lire que la qualité du service, le restaurant de gastronomie Algerienne et le bar ont été à la hauteur de vos attentes je ne manquerai pas de partager vos élogieux commentaires avec l'ensemble de mon équipe.

J'espère que nous aurons le plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochaine escale Algéroise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

When I was looking for a hotel in Algiers the local hotels appeared to be bad value (poor reviews and high prices). I decided to go for the Sofitel, which was running a promotion and wasn't much more expensive than the local hotels. All round, it was a good choice: comfortable and spacious rooms, excellent service, a large indoor/outdoor pool and free wi-fi. The hotel is an impersonal modern block but the interior is pleasant, set around and atrium. The hotel is not in central Algiers but is much closer than the Hilton and there is a metro stop a ten minute walk away. The hotel is right alongside the very pleasant Jardin d'Essai.


Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Alastair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014
Google Translation

Cher Client,

Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre experience suite à votre séjour au Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden. Je suis heureux de lire que vous avez appréciez le confort et la qualité de service, je ne manquerai pas de faire part de vos commentaires à l'ensemble de mon équipe qui oeuvre au quotidien pour faire de vos séjours une magnifique experience.
J'espère que lors de votre prochaine escale Algéroise, nous aurons le plaisir de vous accueillir dans notre maison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed three nights at Sofitel hotel in March 2014, the hotel reception was very nice and big, There was a band playing quiet tones I really liked.
The room size was adequate with very comfortable bed and LCD tv with many channels.
The room was a little bit old but really clean and nice, and my view was really nice, and I woke up to the sound of birds
The breakfast buffet was wonderful and full of options and good service
If I went again I will stay at this hotel of course

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuhyadinBadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014
Google Translation

Cher Muhyadin Badi,

Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de faire part de votre experience dans notre maison . Je suis heureux de lire que vous avez apprecié notre petit déjeuner et que l'ambiance de notre lobby lounge était à la hauteur de vos attentes. L'ensemble de l'équipe du Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden serait ravie de vous accueillir à nouveau lors de votre prochain séjour à Alger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is by far the best hotel in Algiers, with central location nice pool and gym facilities for the business traveller. To level expectations, It is certainly not comparable to similar Sofitels but good in Algerian business standards. My last experience was in a club room - still compact but with a nice renewed design- facilities of the club lounge with a basic breakfast and reception. It is certainly more tasteful than the outdated breakfast facility at ground floor, and that category seems to be bringing speed and value to business travelers.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Y G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014
Google Translation

Cher Hote,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre experience au Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden et sommes heureux de vous savoir satisfait. Nous ne manquerons pas de transmettre vos commentaires à nos ambassadeurs.
Nous esperons avoir le plaisir de vous acueillir à nouveau lors de votre prochaine visite d'Alger la Blanche.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Tunis, Tunisie
23
Reviewed March 17, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algiers
2.1 mi away
El Aurassi Hotel
El Aurassi Hotel
#2 of 26 in Algiers
423 reviews
6.3 mi away
Palace Appart Hotel
Palace Appart Hotel
#5 of 26 in Algiers
85 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel El-Djazair Ex Saint George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Night
Best Night
#3 of 26 in Algiers
58 reviews
1.2 mi away
New Day
New Day
#8 of 26 in Algiers
7 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ibis Alger Aeroport Hotel
Ibis Alger Aeroport Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bab Ezzouar
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden

Address: 172, rue Hassiba Benbouali, Algiers 16015, Algeria
Location: Algeria > Algiers Province > Algiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Algiers
#2 Best Value Hotel in Algiers
Price Range: $164 - $1,248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for your next business trip, the Sofitel Alger is just 5 minutes from downtown, less than 20 minutes from the airport, right by the Botanical Gardens, the National Library and the Fine Arts Museum. The funicular can take you up the hill overlooking the old souk and the port. The 3 restaurants offer a variety of options: El Mordjane serves fabulous Algerian dishes, Le Continental boasts French gourmet meals, the coffee-shop is a great place to catch a quick bite between meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Prestigia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden Hotel Algiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing